10/10 JETTA PMPS 400 +25 353

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacspets

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's LONG condo Jetta 10/9

Good Monday morning everyone.

What a difference a night makes. I'm happier than I can tell you that Jetta made amazing strides overnight. She's eating on her own, drinking, and she's up and walking, talking, and purring

Here's a recap
PMPS 205- syringe fed , shot reduced dose, .25u.
+1 syringe fed (passed bloody mucous)
+1.5 216 Got steriod
+2 Got Bupe
+3 246 syringe fed
+5 syringe fed-drank water on her own
+7 261 ATE on her own and drank water
+8 drank water
+9 ate on her own
AMPS 295 Shot full dose, syringe fed, and then afterwards she ate and drank on her own.

When I went to syringe feed her at +7 she sniffed the bowl I had mixed her i/d in. I could tell she wanted to eat, but didn't seem jazzed by the i/d. So I mixed up some of her favorite FF flavor, and she ate happily. This morning she didn't want to eat with her shot, so I syringed her some i/d then about 15 minutes later she went to the i/d bowl and polished it off (maybe 2 tsp). I haven't tested ketones yet, she urinated once at +10.5 or so and by the time I came out of my sleep fog, opened the tube of strips, she was done. But since she's drinking now, I'm certain I'll have more chances today.

I'm going to go ahead and give her Bupe now just to ensure she's not in pain. Thanks to all of your wonderful support and advice, it seems like she's on the right road. I can't thank you enough. It's so wonderful to see Jetta up and walking and rubbing this morning! dancing_cat I should probably disclaimer that I know it's early in her recovery and I do not intend to become at all complacent. I will do all I can to continue her forward momentum. And as I type this last sentence, she's back in the i/d.. GO Jetta!
 
Re: 10/10 JETTA AMPS 295

I'm so glad to hear your good report on Jetta. I was following your condo yesterday, and I can't get over the excellent help from everyone. You are really an awesome Bean, too, the way you handled everything. There was so much going on with Jetta. I'm sending continued healing vines for her. I hope today you can get some rest. Hugs to you and scritches to Jetta.
 
Re: 10/10 JETTA AMPS 295

fantabulous!!! that awesome, jaclyn! goooooooooooo jetta!!!

very, very happy to hear you went back to her normal dose and she's eating. i can't stress the importance enough in jetta receiving an adequate supply of insulin as well as food. getting enough food, water, and insulin into her will help to keep ketones and HL at bay.

keep on, keepin' on. jetta will be well on the road to recovery in no time.
nice work! hope you have a chance to take a nap today. you must be tired...
 
Re: 10/10 JETTA AMPS 295

Oh Jacklyn...that's such great news! Some of the inflammation and pain must be easing. The fact that she's eating on her own and up and about is confirmation. As such, I am equally as glad you went with the full dose this morning.

Just a few things to think about.
Last night, when she was so sick, we prioritized getting low residual in her (avoiding hi residue carbs at all costs) and getting the pain under control so that acute inflammation could "have a rest". For last night, this was key.
Today's a new day. The inflammation has lessened and she's feeling better so you can shift your priorities a bit. I would still steer clear of carbs if you can to continue the "rest", while maintaining enough calories as the priority. If she gets a few extra carbs to do that....no problem, because food moves up on the totem pole. Same thing with the insulin. If she drops too low on the full dose, not as big of a deal today because It think she could handle a bit of HC if necessary.

Hopefully today will be balanced for you and you can continue to get her to eat low residual without compromising calories. The longer we can let her intestine and pancrease rest (low carb/residue), the better and better she'll be feeling.

Great job!!!

Edit to Add: Oh yes....and don't forget more bg checks as she gets better. As mentioned last night, some of the higher numbers you've been seeing over the last week or so could very well be related to pain and inflammation. As this subsides, you may see a natural, un-insulin related drop.
 
Re: 10/10 JETTA AMPS 295

So happy Jetta is feeling better dancing_cat dancing_cat flip_cat flip_cat sending her more vines and snowflakes for today :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/10 JETTA AMPS 295 +2 314

Thanks Trix, Jill, Ann, Jessica, and Lisa for sharing my enthusiasm at Jetta's recovery!

I have a doubly full day of work today, so I don't see any rest in my future, but I have plenty of coffe, so I'll get through!

Jessica- one thing confuses me. The i/d is HC. It's 24% per the charts. I'm wondering if that's partly why her +2 BG was higher this morning since she ate more than she did last night. So should I steer her off the i/d due to carbs or keep with it for the Low residue aspect? Since yesterday at 4 pm, she has eatn about 2/3s of a can of i/d plus a few tsp of FF.
 
Re: 10/10 JETTA AMPS 295 +2 314

Yippee! Great news. I am so glad that Jetta is doing so well this morning. You've done an awesome job. And super advice from LL! Wow, I feel so fortunate to be able to share in that. The greatest place you never wanted to be. Hope today goes well too. Keeping you and Jetta in my thoughts.
Liz
 
Re: 10/10 JETTA AMPS 295 +2 314

It's the low residue that is key for her flare, because it helps to slow down the digestive tract (thus less stimulation and less inflammation). I've been throwing carbs and residue interchangeably so I've probably added to your confusion. Low residue does have carbs, they're just easily digestible carbs (not always hi-value carbs, but easily digested).....that's the key right now and that's the thing you know you're getting in the food labeled "low residue" (is the best....probably not, but in a pinch, it's what you needed). Your cat would benefit long term from a low residual diet that didn't carry the carbs - there's many raw and homemade diets that fit this bill to the tee.

ETA
PS: Keep in mind...you are dancing through multiple conditions right now. Yesterday, low residue was very important....today its somewhat important, and tomorrow it may not be important at all. We just have to keep thinking about how all of these conditions affect each other, how each one is showing itself that day and how to be flexible in altering the approach based on how Jetta responds.
 
Re: 10/10 JETTA AMPS 295 +2 314

Hi guys .. oh yay, I'm so happy to hear that jetta is on the road to recovery! I know how awful and scary it is when our kitties aren't feeling good, so reading this makes me :-D have a great day!
 
Re: 10/10 JETTA AMPS 295 +2 314

What a great report to wake up to!!! You did a super job Jaclyn. I'm sure you are exhausted.

Sending more healing vines to Jetta. And I hope you get to catch a wee nap somewhere in the day!
 
Re: 10/10 JETTA AMPS 295 +2 314

So happy to see Jetta doing better.....made my morning! I hear sleep is over rated......have a good day, Jaclyn and continued healing vines for Ms. Jetta.
 
Re: 10/10 JETTA AMPS 295 +2 314

On my way to work Jaclyn, and wanting to wish you continued success. If she continues to improve, you can slowly transition her back over to her normal diet.

Here is a great LINK to low residual and low carb homemade food recipe from Dr. Lisa for the long term.

She offers this as a couple of commercially available alternatives that may fit better for this incident and may give you peace as you have to leave on Thursday:
Another option before purchasing the grinder and supplements is to try a commercially prepared raw food diet. Feline's Pride uses a recipe very close to the one on this page and several of my cats gave it a 'two dew-claws up' vote when it was offered. This diet is free of any grains, vegetables and fruits. However, when shipping is considered, it is very expensive.

Another choice for a commercial raw diet is Nature's Variety raw Medallions. This diet is comprised of 95% meat and bones and 5% fruits and vegetables. It is also grain-free. It is cheaper and easier to find than Feline's Pride but I find that more cats will eat Feline's Pride when compared to Nature's Variety Medallions.

A third option is to purchase TCfeline raw diet premix from the Raw Meat Cat Food Company (formerly, Feline Future). Note that there are different pre-mixes depending on whether you want to add fresh liver along with the fresh meat (preferable) or, if you don't want to handle fresh liver, then you can use the TCfeline Plus which has liver powered added.

The TCfeline pre-mix powder is to be mixed with water, ground meat and skin (no bones), and liver. Please be aware, however, that I am not advising to use pre-ground meat, in the raw form, that has been sitting in a supermarket case so you will still have to find a way to grind up whole, boneless cuts of meat. Food processors work well for meat but not bones.

Have a great day you two!
 
Re: 10/10 JETTA PMPS 400

Jetta napped most of the day with some wandering and head butts for purrs and scritches. She really seems to be feeling good. She's not been thrilled with food, so I'm syringing her again after the break from that this morning. She did deliver a BM this afternoon. Puddinpoo, with a little mucous, but nothing like yesterday and I didn't see any blood. I'm a little disappointed with her PMPS, but I thinkt he 24% i/d is partly to blame for that, or that's my excuse anyway. :lol: I'm tired, a 10 hour work day on top of almost no sleep is not fun. I'm heading for a nap before my night watch starts...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top