10/10 Doodle AMPS 109 no shot +18/93

Status
Not open for further replies.

JenniferF

Member Since 2014
Not sure what to do. I "assuming" since he appears to be feeling "somewhat" better (diarrhea is gone but still sneez, not hiding, coming out to eat) his BG is better? But now not sure about what dose to give or to give at all?
 
Re: 10/10 Doodle AMPS 109 WHAT TO DO???

Hi Jennifer ~O)

I'm definitely no advisor, but do know I'd be holding the dose, at least for 5 days. if it were me would have stuck with the .5, maybe even just the .1 for those days. Lantus needs time to build, especially after not having insulin for a while, and to give Doodle a chance to regroup after being ill, and having no insulin. Take the dose back up gradually over several days. Imho. I would not shot .75 today, for sure. again, imho.

as far as the sneezing, the AB's need time to work, With my kitties, the sneezing part was the last to stop. See how that goes over the course of the next few days. It's great that Doodle seems to be feeling better,

have a great day today.
 
Re: 10/10 Doodle AMPS 109 WHAT TO DO???

His improved BG definitely could be linked to his feeling better. Michelle is right; we usually do like to hold a dose for several days to allow the depot to rebuild. So at the very least, I would not give Doodle any more increases for at least 6 cycles, even if you see some higher numbers.

As for today....are you around to monitor closely if you do shoot? Do you have lots of test strips and high carb food and/or karo syrup on-hand in case he drops? Shooting a 109 is a good opportunity to keep him surfing healthy numbers, but you need to be prepared, just in case, especially given Doodle's recent history.
 
Re: 10/10 Doodle AMPS 109 WHAT TO DO???

yup, not shooting the .75u.

Since prior to this "incident" he was not even on insulin for 6 days I'm not sure how much it contributed to his elevated BG's the past 3 days. With being FIV+ I know some people say they (he) will be prone to these "flare ups". Since I've only had him since Feb. I am still getting to know him and things that effect him (positively or negatively)

Hoping to be in the blues (or greens) today!
 
Re: 10/10 Doodle AMPS 109 WHAT TO DO???

glad you got some answers, jenn. looks like Doodle just isn't going to need as much insulin as he was getting before!

what did you end up shooting?
 
Re: 10/10 Doodle AMPS 109 WHAT TO DO???

I didn't shoot. His appetite is ok, in that if I NEEDED to give him insulin twice a day I could probably get him to eat BUT if I had to feed him during the day to get his BG's up that won't happen. He slept all day. He ate this morning and just now got up (6 hours later) I've fed the others twice in between and he didn't even budge at the sound of the can or smell of the food. I just tested him AFTER he ate and he was 93. That's +18. Not sure what to make of this???
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top