10/10 Cooper AMPS 188 +1.25 189 PMPS 149 +2 176

He doesn't want to eat. I noticed that last night he was feeling much better a few hours before I went to bed compared to this morning. At least for now, this seems to be mostly a morning issue.

@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom Good morning to you both! I just gave Cooper 3U since he won't eat, and I figured I could give him more if need be? I just wasn't sure what would be the best amount.
 
He doesn't want to eat. I noticed that last night he was feeling much better a few hours before I went to bed compared to this morning. At least for now, this seems to be mostly a morning issue.

@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom Good morning to you both! I just gave Cooper 3U since he won't eat, and I figured I could give him more if need be? I just wasn't sure what would be the best amount.
What is causing the drooling. Could it be his teeth?
That is OK you gave 3 units if he is not eating. See how he goes during the day. Try and get the Ondansetron today if you can.
While he is on that low dose, I would test for ketones each day.
 
Try and get the Ondansetron today if you can.

I called the vet to ask for this...the doctor was not in today, so I believe it was a tech that I spoke to. She said that Odansetron the same as Zofran and is not FDA approved for pets. o_O They said all they have is Cerenia. :( She said to try plain chicken and rice to get him to eat, but I tried to tell her that if he's nauseous, I doubt he will eat that either. Plus won't the rice make his numbers go up significantly? I could be wrong about that. She also said not to give the shot at all until he's eaten, which of course, I won't be following. I will stick with the reduced dose for now.

I'm just at a loss. She is going to call the doctor and call me back.
 
I called the vet to ask for this...the doctor was not in today, so I believe it was a tech that I spoke to. She said that Odansetron the same as Zofran and is not FDA approved for pets. o_O They said all they have is Cerenia.
How many ways is this wrong? :rolleyes: First, you were talking to a vet tech who clearly isn't up to speed on drugs. Second, I can point you to many articles showing ondansetron being used in cats and the dosing suggested. This is not brand new information! Here is a good 2013 article, specifically on it's use in cats. This next 2016 article on the management of CKD in cats, table 9 mentions dosage of ondansetron.

Ondansetron is the generic drug name for Zofran, and typically a lot cheaper. The vet clinic will likely not have ondansetron in stock, that part she got right. It is a human med, you just need them to write you a prescription for 4mg pills so you can take it to your local pharmacy to get filled. Side note, oral Cerenia hasn't been FDA approved for cats either (just the injectable) and it's been used for years for cats.

I hope the vet calls back soon. :bighug:
 
I hope the vet calls back soon. :bighug:

Yes, she clearly was not up to speed, unfortunately for me lol. I'm hoping the vet will set her straight, if she happens to mention ondansetron to him. Thank you for the articles! I can perhaps use those if need be, hah. Funny about the Cerenia since they indeed gave me the pills for the one.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top