10/10 Clyde AMPS 328, +1 276

Status
Not open for further replies.

fun2doimpossible

Member Since 2013
Hi Everyone,
This is my first time posting on the tight regulation board. Clyde was diagnosed almost a month ago, and the last two days I've been struggling to make sense of the numbers I've collected. On 10/5/2013, I dropped his dosage from 1.5U to 1.25U following a glucose curve that had a nadir of 43. The first couple of days, the numbers appeared to be closer to what I'm told to expect if you get the initial dosage correct. Last night and this morning, his PS numbers were in excess of 300.

Due to my work schedule, the soonest I can do a full curve is tomorrow (10/11). Before leaving for work I did managed to get a +1. I am planning on testing more frequently to more closely follow the tight regulation protocol, but current struggle is finding the patient to do the extra testing :smile:

Is anyone able to venture a guess as to what might be going on and if there is anything in particular I should look for when I do the curve tomorrow? I will attempt to get a couple of additional tests in tonight after the PMPS.
 
Hello Will & Clyde,
Welcome to TR.
I find that the later days in the week tend to get slower in the posting.... everyone doing stuff and getting ready for the weekend I guess, so keep posting daily.
Little by little, everyone will come notice.

Right now it's hard to say much on the ss... since you've had to skip a time or two.
Consistency is key, but you also need someone helping you along those first few times when you shoot low.

As for curves, you can do a full curve which is every 2 hours.... or a mini curve, which is every 3.
It's really helpful to do a pm cycle one when you are able too. Many kitties go lower during the night time.


Overall, it looks like you are doing pretty well.... already getting some greens.
And Clyde is liking the blues.
 
Hello Will and a big welcome to you and your sugarkitty Clyde. Please take the time to read all of the starred sticky notes at the top of this forum. I still reread then occasionally. There's a lot there and we don't expect you do get it all the first time. The sticky on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers is a good one to print out, in case you ever need it and the power goes out or the internet/forum is down.

We don't do a lot of curves here. Often times just getting random tests throughout the cycle will tell us how the kitty is doing on a dose. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir and not all cats nadir at +6. And sometimes the nadir can move from cycle to cycle.

It is really important to try to get a second test in the cycle other than at preshot. For those who work, shooting early enough so that you can get a +2 or if that doesn't work, getting a test when you get back in the door at +9 or +10 during the day will provide a lot of information. Some people can make it home for lunch occasionally and do a quick test mid day. Another very important test is the "before bed" test. Many kitties (and mine is a very bad example of it) go lower during the night than during the day. Getting a second test in the night cycle is essential.

As Rhiannon pointed out, Lantus does like consistency in dosing and those skipped shots make it hard to tell how Clyde is doing on this dose. With a few more tests, we might be able to make some recommendations. If you are concerned about shooting low numbers, post your +12 or PS number here and ask for help. Most often there will be someone around to help you through the options. We ask that the first time you see a number below 150, you post and get help before shooting. To get help, go to your first post of the day, click the ? icon, and put a comment there that tells people you need help, such as "should I shoot", "help shooting low" or even "question" will help get eyes on your condo.

And please ask questions, we like questions here. :-D
 
Thank you both for the welcome and advice. I'm working from home today and since I'm here I'm in full data collection mode :smile: I will start a new thread this evening. Based on the patterns I've seen so far, I will probably be shooting low and doing that is what really scares me. Even though I've read everything, I know enough to know that I don't know what questions I should be asking yet. :smile:
 
When you are shooting low, you want to make sure you have all the supplies handy.
plenty of strips
xtra batteries
medium and hi carb foods with gravy
honey or karo syrup
being around to monitor
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top