10/10 Basic amps 248 +1.50 334

Basic's Mom

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-9-back-from-the-vet.282392/#post-3112838

One person answered me yesterday. I like to have more than one opinion though (it is nothing personal). Should I move him back to 1 U. He has 6 cycles. Was going great and then vet appt, feeding tube placed, and more vwt appts, so his BG have been really high.

The k-pec is helping a little to make his bowel movement a tiny bit more solid. I had to bath him in the sink last night.

I know there is mixed opinions about probiotics, but I am going to try them. He is miserable and I've already ordered them. They will be delivered today.

He lost his cap to his feeding tube, so I placed a syringe lid on it.

Improvise. Adapt. Overcome.

He is sleeping soundly now after his food and meds. I have a heating pad set up for him to lay on.

What type of shampoo can I get? If I have to bath him after each bowel movement, so be it. I have no experience in bathing my cats. I've only used Dawn on them when they were newborns and covered in fleas.

Thanks in advance to everyone helping me.
 
When following SLGS, you hold the dose for 7 days/14 cycles between increases, unless ketones are in the picture. Thankfully they aren't. Today is cycle 14. And you hold the dose at that time if the nadirs are generally in the 90-149 range. Which you did see last night again.

A question, are you still on the original Libre? They typically are good for a max of two weeks.

Remind me, is there a reason you are following SLGS for dosing?

I've seen pet shampoos in the pet stores, but I've just used a plain gentle soap like Ivory. No perfumes. Maybe baby shampoo?
 
When following SLGS, you hold the dose for 7 days/14 cycles between increases, unless ketones are in the picture. Thankfully they aren't. Today is cycle 14. And you hold the dose at that time if the nadirs are generally in the 90-149 range. Which you did see last night again.

A question, are you still on the original Libre? They typically are good for a max of two weeks.

Remind me, is there a reason you are following SLGS for dosing?

I've seen pet shampoos in the pet stores, but I've just used a plain gentle soap like Ivory. No perfumes. Maybe baby shampoo?
I was told 6 full cycles a day ago. This is incredibly exhausting in it of itself. Different information just makes it worse.

No, his new libre was installed yesterday.

I'm doing SLGS because someone suggested it do so. Is this incorrect too?

Thanks for responding.
 
Take a look at the Sticky Note: Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) In there it says to hold the dose for at least a week when following SLGS, unless he goes under 90.

What dosing method you choose should be up to you, not what someone thinks you should do. People have different goals for their cat, and each person lives a different life that may impact how much they can test, how much they can monitor if lower numbers, and just generally level of comfort with feline diabetes. Tight Regulation allows you to increase sooner, but comes with a stronger requirement to monitor/test. And it lets the cat get into lower numbers before earning dose reductions. There are trade offs to each dosing method, but it has to meet your what you can do.

Good hear it's a new Libre. Maybe note that in the Remarks column for yesterday. Some Libres have gone a little wonky at the end of their 2 weeks, so knowing how old it is can provide a clue if numbers seem off.
 
Take a look at the Sticky Note: Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR) In there it says to hold the dose for at least a week when following SLGS, unless he goes under 90.

What dosing method you choose should be up to you, not what someone thinks you should do. People have different goals for their cat, and each person lives a different life that may impact how much they can test, how much they can monitor if lower numbers, and just generally level of comfort with feline diabetes. Tight Regulation allows you to increase sooner, but comes with a stronger requirement to monitor/test. And it lets the cat get into lower numbers before earning dose reductions. There are trade offs to each dosing method, but it has to meet your what you can do.

Good hear it's a new Libre. Maybe note that in the Remarks column for yesterday. Some Libres have gone a little wonky at the end of their 2 weeks, so knowing how old it is can provide a clue if numbers seem off.

I have reviewed both methods. I didn't mean someone chose for me. I want to use the SLGS after discussing it with others. Is there a reason you asked why I was using that method. I'll keep reviewing the information when I have free time, which isn't common these days.

Not sure how my note field was cleared. New libre info was documented. I also have a summary on my profile, which I read to use instead of all your notes section.

Thanks for linking the post and your time.
 
On the rare occasion that I have to bathe a cat, I use unscented mild baby type shampoo (or even have used fragrance free seventh generation dish soap which is mild).
 
I was told 6 full cycles a day ago.
This is probably because the person suggesting an increase thought you were following the Tight Regulation protocol. TR allows you to move faster with dose adjustments, but (as Wendy pointed out) there is a requirement to test more (which for you would not be a problem as you are using a Libre sensor -- as long as you keep one on him) or you could switch to testing with a handheld meter if the Libre gives out or in between Libres... whatever works for you. So for now, since you are following SLGS, you hold the dose per Wendy's comment above.
 
Is there a reason you asked why I was using that method.
You were asking about how long to hold the dose and if you should increase. You hold the dose at least 7 days, then only increase if his nadirs are 150 and above, which they aren't. If you want to increase sooner, you can only do that if following Tight Regulation for dosing.
 
You were asking about how long to hold the dose and if you should increase. You hold the dose at least 7 days, then only increase if his nadirs are 150 and above, which they aren't. If you want to increase sooner, you can only do that if following Tight Regulation for dosing.
I just read about TR in depth. Because his BG is what it has been all day, I may switch to this method in the a.m.

I am very concerned about ketones.

I made a new post for the day, but I wanted to reply to you too.

Thanks for all the information you provided.
 
Back
Top