10/10 Abby AMPS 268 / +5 75 / +6 77 / PMPS 237

SDAbby

Member Since 2020
Last thread https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-157-5-71-6-78-pmps-163.236598/#post-2653796

Hi - I am confused by what to do with Abby’s numbers today. She was higher last night/this morning after dose drop to .75U but when I did midday test she was at 71. She is acting fine and I gave her some food and retested in 30 and she is up to 75. I will continue to monitor. I’m confused why she is still going so high but dropping. .75U is hard to draw so maybe that’s what I’m seeing, but based on today’s numbers do I drop her down to .5U even though we only had two shots at .75U? That will be easier to dose but we were just at .5 about 2 weeks ago and it wasn’t holding. Any thoughts on this? Thanks in advance!
 
I think what. you're seeing is a light "bounce." If a kitty's numbers drop low, drop fast, or simply drop into a range that the cat isn't used to, the liver and pancreas release a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones that cause numbers to pike upward. The bounce can last up to 3 days but the more time your cat has spent in lower numbers, the more quickly the bounce may clear. That's one scenario to explain the higher pre-shot number.

The other thing that's at play is the depot. Whenever you change a dose (and it doesn't matter if it's an increase or decrease), it takes a while for the depot to adjust to the new dose. If you increase the dose, it may take a few cycles for the depot to fill up to what you're now shooting. The same is true with a reduction -- the depot may be a bit overfull and it can take a couple of cycles for the amount in the depot to drop to the new, lower dose. The drop back into the 70s may be due to the depot being overly full.

If you put these two together, Abby is likely bouncing off of the drop to 71 yesterday. Numbers were rising (aka small bounce) to AMPS and then with another shot coupled with a still bit too full depot, Abby dropped into the 70s again today. Generally, we don't advise taking back-to-back reductions because typically the reduction doesn't hold. It may also be a matter of your confidence. If you opt to reduce again, if it looks like the reduction isn't working and numbers are higher than you'd like, raise the dose back up.
 
One thing you could do if there’s a bounce tonight is shoot the .75 tonight and decide if you want to reduce in the morning. It’s up to you. If there isn’t a bounce you still can choose to shoot the .75 or take the reduction. Do whatever feels right.but can be pretty quiet here tonight should you need help.
 
Thank you @tiffmaxee and @Sienne and Gabby (GA). Abby has stabilized in the mid-70s during her cycle today so that's good. Thanks for the info on bouncing - I was researching that, but didn't know if a "light" bounce was a possibility (since she wasn't going to high extreme numbers for her, just higher than I know I want her to be). I'll see where she lands tonight before her shot, but I'll try to keep it on the light side of .75U (even with 1/2 lines on the syringes at least for me I'm not confident I'm getting exactly .75 so I just mean I'll try to be on the lower side of the 3/4 invisible line:)) since I'm home and can monitor. Thanks for the responses and info.
 
Back
Top