10/1 Zener PMPS 137;+1 159;+3 116;+4 130;+6 113 A Trak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Good Caturday morning LL!
Yesterday
9/30/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 294, 11th cycle @ 1.00u, 0.3oz 5% + 0.45oz 11%
+2 260, 0.85oz 11%
+4 163, 0.75oz 11%, gave 1/4 10mg tablet of pepcid ac
+5.5 159, 0.2oz 5% + 0.45oz 11%
+10 151, FDCK + 3 mg Zobaline
PMPS 166, 12th cycle @ 1.00u, 0.2oz 5% + 1.0oz 11%
+2 188, 0.3oz 5% + 0.4oz 11%
+4 165, 1.0 oz 11%

Today
10/1/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 267, 13th cycle @ 1.00u, 0.8oz 11% + 0.55oz 5%, urine was negative for ketones & glucose
+2 196, 0.1oz 11%, not hungry, small amount of liquid in stool
+3 168, 0.7oz 11%

It's been a crazy start to our Caturday and we're late in getting our condo up! As if last night's skunk thrill wasn't enough, the skunk was back in the yard early this morning and got the kitties in a tizzy! Thank goodness it was too cool for us to have our door open, or we may have had an uninvited visitor! :shock: Our weather is about to change and the skunks, squirrels and birds are very busy preparing for our cold weather forecast to arrive this week. Plants will be coming inside this weekend.

Zener seems to be feeling pretty good this morning, though his back legs are a little wobbly. Not sure it is his BG (though his numbers are looking good) or if he got a little frisky and torqued his knee again. He has all 5Ps in place though maybe not with as much gusto! ;-)

We have a syringe question for the list. We started out using the Walgreen's brand but had trouble reading it and lots of bubble woes. We switched a month or two ago to the Monojet. We like it much better for ease of reading and doing micro-dosing. However, we also seem to have bubble problems with this one too and sometimes have to use 2 or 3 syringes before we get a good measurement. Is this typical? What syringes do you use and what are the advantages and disadvantages you have found. Thanks for any info!

Have a great Caturday!
 
Re: 10/1 Zener AMPS 267;+2 196;+3 168 Syringe? A Trak

I use the WalMart ReliOn brand and don't have too many bubble problems. When I do, and can't get them out the first time, I just squirt the insulin into the sink and use the same syringe to draw another dose. It usually works without bubbles the second time around.

You had a skunk! I love skunks :-D . I wanted one for a pet for he longest time. I live in a condo complex, and was walking my cats one day in the middle of the night and thought I saw another cat laying in the middle of the big lawn,
and I thought it was odd, so I went to investigate. As I got closer, the skunk stood up, and we all walked the other way :lol: I had one sleeping under my porch for about a week last fall. I didn't tell any of my neighbors, so they wouldn't be inclined to call the authorities.
 
Re: 10/1 Zener AMPS 267;+2 196;+3 168+6 136 Syringe? A Trak

Thanks Dyana, we have been trying the relion as a back up meter for our alpha trak and it works pretty well, so we may try the syringes too next time we order.
 
Re: 10/1 Zener AMPS 267;+2 196;+3 168+6 136+7.5 126 Syringe?

Zener is having sort of a punk day, though his cycle is looking good.

Today
10/1/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 267, 13th cycle @ 1.00u, 0.8oz 11% + 0.55oz 5%, urine was negative for ketones & glucose
+2 196, 0.1oz 11%, not hungry, small amount of liquid in stool
+3 168, 0.7oz 11%
+6 136, 0.5oz 11%
+7 126, small amount of FDCK with zobaline but not all 3mg.

Zener seems to be having some trouble with his back legs today being weaker. Doesn't seem to be hurting, just weak. Could be peripheral neuropathy in combo with his CH, but after having several good days, it's hard to see him wobbly and stopping often to rest. His appetite is decreased today today and he had a little bit of liquid poo with his regular poo this morning, so wondering if we should try the pepcid ac again? Any thoughts?
 
Re: 10/1 Zener AMPS 267;+2 196;+3 168+6 136+7.5 126 Syringe?

Hi Ann, sorry to hear Zener is having trouble with his legs and not feeling well with no appetite. For the liquipoo, FortiFlora works well if you happen to have some on hand. He has a nice cycle today. Yes, the pepcid did help Maggie with her tummy problems from her reaction to the beef foods. Just 1/4 of the Pepcid AC, 10 mg.
That sounds exciting with the skunk and squirrel and all the little wildlife running around. I know it can get really cold in Flagstaff. Feel better soon Zener.
 
Re: 10/1 Zener AMPS 267;+2 196;+3 168+6 136+7.5 126 Syringe?

Nice numbers for Zener today!

I also use the ReliOn syringes. And just like Dyana- I have to waste the first draw, but the bubbles are solved after that. The half markings are easy to read also. Exccpet when buying more yesterday I almost went home with NO 1/2 markings ohmygod_smile thank god I checked. Have a great night!
 
Re: 10/1 Zener AMPS 267;+2 196;+3 168+6 136+7.5 126 Syringe?

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Hi Ann, sorry to hear Zener is having trouble with his legs and not feeling well with no appetite. For the liquipoo, FortiFlora works well if you happen to have some on hand. He has a nice cycle today. Yes, the pepcid did help Maggie with her tummy problems from her reaction to the beef foods. Just 1/4 of the Pepcid AC, 10 mg.
That sounds exciting with the skunk and squirrel and all the little wildlife running around. I know it can get really cold in Flagstaff. Feel better soon Zener.

Thanks for stopping by Ann! We gave the 1/4 of pepcid ac 10mg so we shall see... We use Fortiflora daily, sometimes it is the only way to get Zener eating! That stuff is magic.
He is having a very nice cycle, so it is hard to see him feeling punk. After having some good days, it makes the not so good days seem worse than they probably are.
We are expecting our first below freezing temps this week, so evening backyard time is about over for the season. :cry:
 
Re: 10/1 Zener AMPS 267;+2 196;+3 168+6 136+7.5 126 Syringe?

Could you try to get a ketone test? I always like to rule ketones out if a cat seems to be feeling a bit punk.
 
Re: 10/1 Zener AMPS 267;+2 196;+3 168+6 136+7.5 126 Syringe?

Zener was very cooperative and we were able to get a ketone test last night and again today. No ketones and no glucose in his urine! Thank goodness for that! We dosed him with 1/4 tablet of pepcid ac early this afternoon and now he is on his heating pad getting pets from Liz and purring. We have paws crossed that his appetite will be better tonight when we feed him in an hour at his shot. He's had a good cycle despite being a little punk.

We're thinking about increasing a drop Wednesday. It will give him a day or two to feel better and our Monday and Tuesday schedules are crazy. Of course, if we write in his condo we're considering a dose increase his numbers could go anywhere! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/1 Zener PMPS 137 A Trak

That pepcid ac is amazing stuff. We gave 1/4 of the 10mg pepcid ac @ +9. At PMPS, he ate much better! He had a very long afternoon nap on his heating pad and seems to be feeling better this evening. :-D

Today
10/1/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 267, 13th cycle @ 1.00u, 0.8oz 11% + 0.55oz 5%, urine was negative for ketones & glucose
+2 196, 0.1oz 11%, not hungry, small amount of liquid in stool
+3 168, 0.7oz 11%
+6 136, 0.5oz 11%
+7 126, small amount of FDCK with zobaline but not all 3mg
~+9 1/4 pepcid ac (10mg) + FDCK
+11 150
PMPS 137, 14th cycle @ 1.00u, 1oz 11%

This is not the lowest number we've shot but close. We feel okay about it since he was going up at +11 and he has really been almost flat since his +6. We'll monitor his cycle early and see what happens. If we can get a ketone test again this evening, will do so since he has been kind of punk today.

We're having a very unusual autumn early evening thunderstorm and our lights have blinked a couple of times. :o
 
Re: 10/1 Zener PMPS 137 A Trak

Anne, so glad Zener is feeling better, and what a nice pm pre shot. The pepcid must have helped. They do worry us when they don't eat. Have a good night.
 
Re: 10/1 Zener PMPS 137 A Trak

Ann & Maggie11 said:
Anne, so glad Zener is feeling better, and what a nice pm pre shot. The pepcid must have helped. They do worry us when they don't eat. Have a good night.

We were pretty tickled to see such a good PMPS! We checked at +1 since it was one of our lower shots and it's always good to have data! :-D
We think the pepcid was very helpful. Zener ate a nice amount at his pre-shot and was ready for more at +1. And you are so right about worrying when they don't eat. It's more anxiety producing than high numbers. nailbite_smile

Hope you and Maggie have a drama-free Caturday night!
 
Re: 10/1 Zener PMPS 137;+1 159 A Trak

I'm sorry to hear Zener was feeling a little punk today but glad no ketones or glucose!!!

You all are doing so great...I can remember when this PS would have panicked you and now you are old pros....calm as can be!! Great shooting tonight.

I use the MJs and love them. I've tried BDs, Relions, Walgreens.....the MJs are the only ones I haven't gotten bubbles in. Do you slowly twist the plunger as you dial in your dose?

I think it all comes down to personal preference.

Have a great night and thank you both so much for all your wonderful, incredible support. We really appreciate it.
 
Re: 10/1 Zener PMPS 137;+1 159 A Trak

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I'm sorry to hear Zener was feeling a little punk today but glad no ketones or glucose!!!

Zener was very cooperative in the peeing department so we were able to get a urine test last night and today. Sienne advised us to check because ketones can make a kitty punk. We were relieved to see those come out okay. Based on how he is eating this cycle post pepcid ac, we'd guess it was his tummy. We've been thinking back to all the times we couldn't get him to eat and gave him cypro and we feel pretty bad that we may have used the appetite stimulant when it could have been nausea. Thank goodness for FDMB where we read about pepcid and about caution with appetite stimulants in the case of nausea.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
You all are doing so great...I can remember when this PS would have panicked you and now you are old pros....calm as can be!! Great shooting tonight.
We sure appreciate your confidence in us! :-D
And you are absolutely correct, we would have panicked and stalled or not shot. So, we do feel like we are making progress! ;-)
We are maintaining calm even though he has 116 @ +3. it helps to stay calm when he is eating! :-D

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I use the MJs and love them. I've tried BDs, Relions, Walgreens.....the MJs are the only ones I haven't gotten bubbles in. Do you slowly twist the plunger as you dial in your dose?
Thanks for this Marje. It really helps to read what others use and the advantages and disadvantages of each. We started with the Walgreens syringes and I read about the MJs on LL so we ordered some. We gave our extra Walgreens syringes to our next door neighbor, who has a diabetic dog! We find the MJs so much easier to read but still struggle with bubbles. Yes, we are slowly twisting the plunger to dial in the dose, after we read that here too! That really helped especially when we are are doing fat or skinny doses. We got some good tips today on bubble control and will give those a try too. How could we have ever gotten this far without everyone in LL?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Have a great night and thank you both so much for all your wonderful, incredible support. We really appreciate it.
You are oh so very welcome. We wish there was more we could do to help! We're glad you had a nice evening and a little break with friends.

Today
10/1/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 267, 13th cycle @ 1.00u, 0.8oz 11% + 0.55oz 5%, urine was negative for ketones & glucose
+2 196, 0.1oz 11%, not hungry, small amount of liquid in stool
+3 168, 0.7oz 11%
+6 136, 0.5oz 11%
+7 126, small amount of FDCK with zobaline but not all 3mg
~+9 1/4 pepcid ac (10mg) + FDCK
+11 150
PMPS 137, 14th cycle @ 1.00u, 1oz 11%
+1 159, 0.6oz 11%
+3 116, 1.0oz 11%

We're checking Zener again shortly and it may be a PJ party on Caturday night for us! We took a lovely nap this afternoon, cloudy and cool, very autumn-like, so we are prepared! :razz:
 
Re: 10/1 Zener PMPS 137;+1 159;+3 116;+4 130 A Trak

Zener has had an almost all blue day despite not feeling great in his AM cycle! :thumbup
Today
10/1/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 267, 13th cycle @ 1.00u, 0.8oz 11% + 0.55oz 5%, urine was negative for ketones & glucose
+2 196, 0.1oz 11%, not hungry, small amount of liquid in stool
+3 168, 0.7oz 11%
+6 136, 0.5oz 11%
+7 126, small amount of FDCK with zobaline but not all 3mg
~+9 1/4 pepcid ac (10mg) + FDCK
+11 150
PMPS 137, 14th cycle @ 1.00u, 1oz 11%
+1 159, 0.6oz 11%
+3 116, 1.0oz 11%
+4 130, 0.4 oz 11%, urine negative for ketones & glucose

Edited to add +6
+6 113, 1.0oz 11%

Zener is feeling much better tonight, eating well and gave us a lovely sample in the litter box to check for ketones. :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top