10/1 Tucker was 85 at +6!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am in shock! The first result was 90 and I thought it was an error. On recheck it was 85!

Of course I didn't get any other tests since his AMPS of 287 and have no real idea where he actually dropped from. PLUS I screwed up his pred dosing schedule after I forgot to give his pm 5mg dose until +3. To adjust, b/c this is not the first time I have blipped a dose, I gave the am 2.5mg dose at +2 and will give tonights dose at +1. Tomorrow we will be back on schedule.

So... I am guessing I should expect a bounce? I am obviously not going to change the dose (fat 4) until we see what happens next. Not knowing if this is due to the pred doses being given at a different time makes this even more complicated. I do know if we go back to flat numbers during a cycle I may try and change his dosing schedule again- on purpose though! Maybe the pred suppresses the insulin enough that we need to leave time between the two to let the insulin start working first?
 
Hurrah! ! I know nothing about pred but you might specifically ask on Health about when people give it and how it impacts the bg levels. Maybe there are patterns, but maybe you will just need to figure out Tucker's patterns. Wonder how much that number is pred and how much it is him getting used to the insulin and dropping on his own.

Yes, I would expect a bounce but if he is in the 300-400s I'd give 4 units as long as you can monitor at least the first part of the cycle. If he is below 300, I might lower the dose a smidge. It is hard to figure dosing when the pred is such a factor and we don't know when it will be or how much it will impact things.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top