10/1: Tigger AMPS: 325; +2 439; +4 315; +6 423; +8 473; +10 440; PMPS @+12 509; +14 376

Status
Not open for further replies.
@Bobbie And Bubba, @Kris & Teasel, @Chris & China this is Tigger's first condo. I discussed with Carmen yesterday that she would follow SLGS since there is dry food in the mix. Should she wait to increase since he hasn't been a full week at this dose or is it ok to increase sooner due to the high BG numbers?

I'm still new at dosing advise Carmen so I want to get more experienced eyes on you to help. Please do add to your signature type of food, type of meter you use, and SLGS. That way others can see this info and give you advise.

And welcome to the LL land :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Bobbie And Bubba, @Kris & Teasel, @Chris & China this is Tigger's first condo. I discussed with Carmen yesterday that she would follow SLGS since there is dry food in the mix. Should she wait to increase since he hasn't been a full week at this dose or is it ok to increase sooner due to the high BG numbers?

I'm still new at dosing advise Carmen so I want to get more experienced eyes on you to help. Please do add to your signature type of food, type of meter you use, and SLGS. That way others can see this info and give you advise.

And welcome to the LL land :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Beenie. I added his food information at the top of the sheet, do you not see it? It should have updated by now.
 
Thanks Beenie. I added his food information at the top of the sheet, do you not see it? It should have updated by now.
I do see it there but for even quicker reference add to your signature line ----Male, age 12 1/2, diagnosed in Oct 2016 with diabetes. Currently on 2 units Lantus 2x/day, glucose is always checked before being given insulin.
 
Hi. Usually, you do a week on a dose before doing the curve before doing a dose adjustment. With those numbers, I think it would be safe to increase, but HOLD the dose for a week THEN do a curve. If you do a curve on Sundays, then you wouldn't change the dose until Sunday night or Monday morning. Let's see what the others think.
 
@Mandy & Rex Ok, so I'm going to keep him at 2.25U until Saturday or Sunday (10/7 or 10/8) when I can be home to do a full curve again. Depending on those results I will increase another .25U if nadir is still above 150, correct?
 
I would have really liked to see another test last night and the night of 9/28 too

Anytime you see that quick of a drop from PS to +2/+3, that's like an early warning that they might drop lower later in the cycle. As fast and as much as Tigger dropped last night is more than enough to cause a bounce so only being pink this morning isn't bad

The +2 (in some cats the +3 is better) is a good indicator of where the cycle is going. Usually we'd expect the +2 to be about the same as the Pre-shot

I think she could increase to 2.5, but I'd really like to see at least 1 test at +2 to +4 on every PM cycle....and if those tests indicate further testing might be necessary, get those tests in too
 
I would have really liked to see another test last night and the night of 9/28 too

Anytime you see that quick of a drop from PS to +2/+3, that's like an early warning that they might drop lower later in the cycle. As fast and as much as Tigger dropped last night is more than enough to cause a bounce so only being pink this morning isn't bad

The +2 (in some cats the +3 is better) is a good indicator of where the cycle is going. Usually we'd expect the +2 to be about the same as the Pre-shot

I think she could increase to 2.5, but I'd really like to see at least 1 test at +2 to +4 on every PM cycle....and if those tests indicate further testing might be necessary, get those tests in too
Thanks @Chris & China. I am going to try to get a +2/+4 in tonight's cycle. Here's my confusion as well - my vet has told me in the past that I should feed Tigger whenever he is hungry. I have now started using an automatic feeder when I'm working during the day and at some point during the night. I always try and wait at least 2 hours after he last ate to test but his numbers still seem rather high even after 3 hours of him having eaten. Is this why his readings seem so high? Because of the food? He is eating low carb food, high protein so I'm just anxious about that beating my brain trying to figure out what else is going on.
 
You do not need to worry about tests being influenced if Tigger has eaten as long as you make sure Tigger does not eat within 2 hours of the pre-shot times. That's the only times you need to withdraw food.
 
On 9/23 and 9/29, there is no dose in the PM units cell. Did Tigger get insulin those nights? If not, could you put something like NS for no shot, or Skip in there, so we know you deliberately missed the shotminst at of forgetting to enter the data. A missed shot makes a big difference in determine dosing with a depot insulin.
 
On 9/23 and 9/29, there is no dose in the PM units cell. Did Tigger get insulin those nights? If not, could you put something like NS for no shot, or Skip in there, so we know you deliberately missed the shotminst at of forgetting to enter the data. A missed shot makes a big difference in determine dosing with a depot insulin.
I somehow missed putting those in there. I will update the spreadsheet when I get home, I have to look at the meter. Thanks for catching!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top