10/1, Susie, 262 AMPS, 295 @+2

Summer and Susie (GA)

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-30-susie-291-amps-229-2.253653/#post-2860030

Here is my situation and please don't be critical.

The estimate for Susie's endoscopy is from $1,969 to $2,174. I do not have the money.

I think I would try to start with treating IBD. My vet is not helpful. Both vets just say to continue insulin and Mirataz for two weeks and watch her. What am I watching her for? Just to get worse?

I know it has been mentioned ad nauseum but what would I give her for IBD? Can it be compounded? I cannot pill. Would Prednisolone be helpful, possibly, for both diseases?

No vomiting, no diarrhea, urinates normally and is eating. She just acts sick and uncomfortable. Is not active this morning. Yesterday, she seemed better in the morning. Doesn't IBD come with vomiting, diarrhea and not eating?
 
Last edited:
I think Susie went a little low last night and is now bouncing. I set my clock for 1:00 and woke up after 2:00. Looked at the clock and it was set for 1:00 pm. Dumb move.
 
IBD may only manifest as inappetance and weight loss - maybe lethargy. Clearly the ultrasound shows, at the least, IBD. Inflammatory Bowel Disease. She has the inflammation confirmed via ultrasound. They’d better not mess around and make Susie suffer any longer that necessary! It’s outrageous, now that they’ve done the ultrasound. Yes, to the compounded liquid. Specify without sugar. 5 mg Prednisolone daily is what she needs. You’re doing fine! Keep on them and get this done. Yes… wait two weeks for what?? IBD cannot get better on its own! She will just suffer. You have done your part to the extent that your financial resources have allowed. Now it is time for the vets to do their part and get Susie what they KNOW is the first line treatment for IBD (and small cell lymphoma for that matter!). Right, @PerfumedCatMom !!

I certainly would never judge you for not doing the biopsy since I have done that twice already in two different cats. One had the laparotomy- surgical biopsy and had to spend a week in the hospital with a Fentanyl patch on him for pain and cane home with a feeding tube. Poor Inky.
 
Last edited:
Morning Summer,

I would also not like the way you are left with nothing much to do but watch. And wait . .
For now, you have Cerenia, and Mirtz. Try a larger dose of Cerenia? Maybe that could help?

I also cannot really afford another 1500 at least, for another test. But I will see what our doc thinks on Monday. More debt? DH thinks not. But our money is seperate. I still have to respect his wishes too.

Yes, prednisolone (or similar), treats both IBD and lymphoma. Often a chemo drug is added if it is lymphoma. My vet might even try a chemo pill later without more intrusive tests. Our long term plan is basically baby steps, and watching for changes.

There - above in post #4 -Suzanne said what I am thinking very well!!

And some people do not biopsy, even when money is not a concern. A man who owns a health pet store, tells of pets getting worse because of the biopsy spreading the cancer. Oh dear. Goodness.
 
Last edited:
Morning Summer,

I would also not like the way you are left with nothing much to do but watch. And wait . .
For now, you have Cerenia, and Mirtz. Try a larger dose of Cerenia? Maybe that could help?

I also cannot really afford another 1500 at least, for another test. But I will see what our doc thinks on Monday. More debt? DH thinks not. But our money is seperate. I still have to respect his wishes too.

Yes, prednisolone (or similar), treats both IBD and lymphoma. Often a chemo drug is added if it is lymphoma. My vet might even try a chemo pill later without more intrusive tests. Our long term plan is basically baby steps, and watching for changes.

There - above - Suzanne said what I am thinking very well!!
We did chemo on an unbiopsied cat. First pred. Later adding in the chlorambucil as his symptoms were no longer controlled with Prednisolone alone. He did great on the chlorambucil for years. Went into remission for a long time. Happy, healthy, eating cat!
 
Ruby’s internal medicine doctors also made me wait for a few weeks to see if appetite improved before throwing big guns at it. It was hard for me to do but I understood why, as appetite issues can clear up with supportive care and diet management.

Budesonide is what is recommended for diabetic cats because it does not have the same dramatic effect on glucose levels. It is very effective against IBD. Prednisolone is much more effective against the GI problems but it will adversely affect glucose levels.

And I don’t mean to give you a lecture or judge as I am also a former nicotine addict, but there have been studies linking tobacco smoke to GI disorders in cats. The smoke settles on their fur and they ingest it.
 
Try a larger dose of Cerenia? Maybe that could help?
At Susie’s weight she can take half of the 16 mg tablet. Isn’t she 12 lbs? She could even take a little more but splitting tablets gets tricky and messy. Of course, I don’t know what size tablets you have, Summer? Zofran is more effective against nausea. Cerenia does have an anti inflammatory effect though. Problem is Susie cannot be pilled. Cerenia is horribly bitter so the mixing with water is bad news for her.
 
Ruby’s internal medicine doctors also made me wait for a few weeks to see if appetite improved before throwing big guns at it
Was that before or after her biopsy? My concern is that Susie has been described as limp. That’s real suffering. My cat who was in so much pain that he would barely walk and did everything in slow motion like a two-toed sloth (I am not kidding here, that is the best description and if you have ever seen them in the zoo you will know what I mean) had already suffered for weeks and was acting like this and not eating despite Cerenia and other meds. Once they lose a lot of body condition (muscle mass) it is hard to get it back.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-30-susie-291-amps-229-2.253653/#post-2860030

Here is my situation and please don't be critical.

The estimate for Susie's endoscopy is from $1,969 to $2,174. I do not have the money.

I think I would try to start with treating IBD. My vet is not helpful. Both vets just say to continue insulin and Mirataz for two weeks and watch her. What am I watching her for? Just to get worse?

I know it has been mentioned ad nauseum but what would I give her for IBD? Can it be compounded? I cannot pill. Would Prednisolone be helpful, possibly, for both diseases?

No vomiting, no diarrhea, urinates normally and is eating. She just acts sick and uncomfortable. Is not active this morning. Yesterday, she seemed better in the morning. Doesn't IBD come with vomiting, diarrhea and not eating?
Remember Summer I told you we did not Biopsy Funny Face. Along with her many other health conditions she had IBD and possible SCL. I don’t know why her treatment was different but she got first injections of Dexamethasome, reduced to pills every 48 hours. It is a treatment for IBD. Bottom line, Funny Face lived another 18 months with a lot of care. We just knew when it was time to let her go due to quality of life issues. With medication Susie could do well. I am so sorry the vets are not being more proactive in helping you. When I find it I will show you Funny Face’s ultrasound, I believe it was pretty close to what Susie’s results are. (if you want to see it). Funny Face had so many other health issues as well. Susie does not seem to so quality of life for her is much more likely. Prayers for you both.
 
Morning Summer,

I would also not like the way you are left with nothing much to do but watch. And wait . .
For now, you have Cerenia, and Mirtz. Try a larger dose of Cerenia? Maybe that could help?

I also cannot really afford another 1500 at least, for another test. But I will see what our doc thinks on Monday. More debt? DH thinks not. But our money is seperate. I still have to respect his wishes too.

Yes, prednisolone (or similar), treats both IBD and lymphoma. Often a chemo drug is added if it is lymphoma. My vet might even try a chemo pill later without more intrusive tests. Our long term plan is basically baby steps, and watching for changes.

There - above in post #4 -Suzanne said what I am thinking very well!!

And some people do not biopsy, even when money is not a concern. A man who owns a health pet store, tells of pets getting worse because of the biopsy spreading the cancer. Oh dear. Goodness.
I like that the pred can help with both diseases. I hope he will give it to me. A shame about the biopsy spreading cancer. You can't win either way with that.
 
Ruby’s internal medicine doctors also made me wait for a few weeks to see if appetite improved before throwing big guns at it. It was hard for me to do but I understood why, as appetite issues can clear up with supportive care and diet management.

Budesonide is what is recommended for diabetic cats because it does not have the same dramatic effect on glucose levels. It is very effective against IBD. Prednisolone is much more effective against the GI problems but it will adversely affect glucose levels.

And I don’t mean to give you a lecture or judge as I am also a former nicotine addict, but there have been studies linking tobacco smoke to GI disorders in cats. The smoke settles on their fur and they ingest it.
Her appetite has been pretty good. I don't smoke around Susie. She is an indoor cat and I never smoke indoors.
 
At Susie’s weight she can take half of the 16 mg tablet. Isn’t she 12 lbs? She could even take a little more but splitting tablets gets tricky and messy. Of course, I don’t know what size tablets you have, Summer? Zofran is more effective against nausea. Cerenia does have an anti inflammatory effect though. Problem is Susie cannot be pilled. Cerenia is horribly bitter so the mixing with water is bad news for her.
Nope, the water mixing wasn't working either. I'm trying to get my vet to authorize either the compounded cerenia or ondansetron along with the prednisolone. I have already spoken to the pharmacist and he can compound all of these drugs without a sugar additive. Now, I'm just waiting for my vet to get onboard.
 
Last edited:
Remember Summer I told you we did not Biopsy Funny Face. Along with her many other health conditions she had IBD and possible SCL. I don’t know why her treatment was different but she got first injections of Dexamethasome, reduced to pills every 48 hours. It is a treatment for IBD. Bottom line, Funny Face lived another 18 months with a lot of care. We just knew when it was time to let her go due to quality of life issues. With medication Susie could do well. I am so sorry the vets are not being more proactive in helping you. When I find it I will show you Funny Face’s ultrasound, I believe it was pretty close to what Susie’s results are. (if you want to see it). Funny Face had so many other health issues as well. Susie does not seem to so quality of life for her is much more likely. Prayers for you both.
I can't pill Susie. I'm trying to get everything compounded into liquid form but I think my vet is out of the office for the weekend. How often did Funny Face get the Dexa shots? Were you allowed to give them yourself or did you have to take her to the vet. I was never shown Susie's ultrasound results so I wouldn't know what I was looking at with your Funny Face. By the way you speak about her I can tell her loss was painful. I know she was Rob's girl but I'm sure it hurt you too.
 
I like that the pred can help with both diseases. I hope he will give it to me. A shame about the biopsy spreading cancer. You can't win either way with that.
Yes for both diseases. I starting reading further about biopsy negatives. Lots of disagreement also. Very hard to find easy answers. And finances matter for most of us.

I like Katherine's input on the other drug, Budesonide, similar to Prednisolone, that has a lesser chance of raising BG.
 
Yes for both diseases. I starting reading further about biopsy negatives. Lots of disagreement also. Very hard to find easy answers. And finances matter for most of us.

I like Katherine's input on the other drug, Budesonide, similar to Prednisolone, that has a lesser chance of raising BG.
What specifically is the Budesonide for?
 
I can't pill Susie. I'm trying to get everything compounded into liquid form but I think my vet is out of the office for the weekend. How often did Funny Face get the Dexa shots? Were you allowed to give them yourself or did you have to take her to the vet. I was never shown Susie's ultrasound results so I wouldn't know what I was looking at with your Funny Face. By the way you speak about her I can tell her loss was painful. I know she was Rob's girl but I'm sure it hurt you too.
First I wanted to let you know all Dolly’s meds are compounded into liquids when possible. They can even make chews for some meds but expensive and not a good idea if kitty is nauseous. Funny Faces’s dexamethasome was given by injection at home. It was given subcutaneous, same as insulin. At some point they reduced her dose and she was on pills every 48 hours. I put the pill in cream cheese or velveeta. Funny Face was diabetic and we knew nothing and vet never mentioned that steroids could raise her blood sugar. We did not home test and her diabetes was secondary to her IBD we also had to treat her Hyperthyroidism and blood pressure. I was devastated over the loss of Funny Face. We light a candle every Monday night in memory of Funny Face as part of a tribute along with thousands that have crossed the Rainbow Bridge. For two and a half years we have never missed one candle lighting.
 
First I wanted to let you know all Dolly’s meds are compounded into liquids when possible. They can even make chews for some meds but expensive and not a good idea if kitty is nauseous. Funny Faces’s dexamethasome was given by injection at home. It was given subcutaneous, same as insulin. At some point they reduced her dose and she was on pills every 48 hours. I put the pill in cream cheese or velveeta. Funny Face was diabetic and we knew nothing and vet never mentioned that steroids could raise her blood sugar. We did not home test and her diabetes was secondary to her IBD we also had to treat her Hyperthyroidism and blood pressure. I was devastated over the loss of Funny Face. We light a candle every Monday night in memory of Funny Face as part of a tribute along with thousands that have crossed the Rainbow Bridge. For two and a half years we have never missed one candle lighting.
That is beautiful, Adrienne.
 
I just wanted to say that there’s a whole lotta love and support going on here! All of you are great! ❤️❤️❤️
And a big hug to you for your wealth of information and knowledge on feline diseases. I can’t change what was but I can appreciate you, this forum and all the experience, strength and hope shared by all to help get us through the many challenges of our cat’s health. When we had Funny Face we knew nothing, the vet did their best (cats only vet) but really had little knowledge of feline diabetes.

Sumner, I am so glad you and Susie are here and as Suzanne said ‘a whole lot of love and support going on here”. Sending more prayers for solutions, treatment to make Susie start feeling better again. We’ve all got your back, you are not alone in Susie’s journey to find answers.
 
Nope, the water mixing wasn't working either. I'm trying to get my vet to authorize either the compounded cerenia or ondansetron along with the prednisolone. I have already spoken to the pharmacist and he can compound all of these drugs without a sugar additive. Now, I'm just waiting for my vet to get onboard.
Summer your Vet is bordering on ANIMAL ABUSE!! Sorry I am very upset for you and Susie now!! Time for a NEW VET!!!:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It is a different steroid that may be better for diabetics. But possibly not as effective if cancer.
Just what I understand so far. If you search the word, you will find quite a few threads talking about it working for IBS. I hope you get vet help!!
Still waiting on the vet help. I think because the ER Intern told me to wait two weeks my regular vet will not want to do anything else.
 
First I wanted to let you know all Dolly’s meds are compounded into liquids when possible. They can even make chews for some meds but expensive and not a good idea if kitty is nauseous. Funny Faces’s dexamethasome was given by injection at home. It was given subcutaneous, same as insulin. At some point they reduced her dose and she was on pills every 48 hours. I put the pill in cream cheese or velveeta. Funny Face was diabetic and we knew nothing and vet never mentioned that steroids could raise her blood sugar. We did not home test and her diabetes was secondary to her IBD we also had to treat her Hyperthyroidism and blood pressure. I was devastated over the loss of Funny Face. We light a candle every Monday night in memory of Funny Face as part of a tribute along with thousands that have crossed the Rainbow Bridge. For two and a half years we have never missed one candle lighting.
Your story is heartbreaking, Adrienne. Your lighting a candle for your girl, and all those that have crossed the bridge, every Monday is so touching to me. You, and your husband, obviously have huge hearts that miss this girl. You will see her again - God willing.

I like that you were able to give the shots at home because I also cannot pill. Thank you for all your support and advice. You, and others, have been a God send to me. I am happy to say that I think I got a cerenia into Susie today. My order of pill pockets came in and she really liked them. I put the pill in the pocket and into her food bowl. She ate all her food and there was no sign of the pocket or the pill. Thank you, again, my friend. By the way, if you have a picture of your Funny Face I would love to see it.
 
I just wanted to say that there’s a whole lotta love and support going on here! All of you are great! ❤️❤️❤️
I totally agree. I came her for support on the diabetes and I have made so many invaluable friends with all the other issues.

Thank you to each and every one of you. I'm looking forward to the day when all I can complain about is another bounce.
 
Your story is heartbreaking, Adrienne. Your lighting a candle for your girl, and all those that have crossed the bridge, every Monday is so touching to me. You, and your husband, obviously have huge hearts that miss this girl. You will see her again - God willing.

I like that you were able to give the shots at home because I also cannot pill. Thank you for all your support and advice. You, and others, have been a God send to me. I am happy to say that I think I got a cerenia into Susie today. My order of pill pockets came in and she really liked them. I put the pill in the pocket and into her food bowl. She ate all her food and there was no sign of the pocket or the pill. Thank you, again, my friend. By the way, if you have a picture of your Funny Face I would love to see it.
upload_2021-10-1_12-55-7.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-10-1_12-55-7.jpeg
    upload_2021-10-1_12-55-7.jpeg
    39.2 KB · Views: 352
Just got a call from my vet. They said "no" to prednisolone but will give me a pain reliever by the name of Bupanorphine (I don't know about my spelling). I am going in tomorrow at 9:00 to also get a refresher on the sub-q fluids which I can give her. I don' t know how I feel about this Bup but between that and the sub-q's it should be better than nothing.
 
What a stunningly beautiful Funny Face. Thanks for sending her picture, Adrienne.
Thanks for wanting to see her. Do you have any updates from the vet? I know I saw something mentioned about your vet being out of the office today. Do you have to go in to discuss a plan for Susie or can you speak with them over the phone? I know you have lots of messages to respond to so get back to me when you can. I hope she continues to feel better and eat. I know this has been a big shock, as you said, things can change in a moment. How well I know that. Sending healing prayers for Susie.
 
Summer - Buprenorphine is a very strong (good) pain med. God bless you and Susie.

SubQ fluids help so many different situations. I was crushed almost 2 years ago when I started giving Tina SubQs. I'll never forget me going in for cataract surgery, and a nurse saying it sounded like it was time to let my cat go. That's when Tina was still on insulin. I had mentioned I'd just started giving Tina fluids. Ended up getting all emotional, my BG was high, and I was so upset, even delayed my stupid surgery. Then felt silly. Got the surgery and two years later, Tina is actually much better, and I see great color and white again;)
 
Just got a call from my vet. They said "no" to prednisolone but will give me a pain reliever by the name of Bupanorphine (I don't know about my spelling). I am going in tomorrow at 9:00 to also get a refresher on the sub-q fluids which I can give her. I don' t know how I feel about this Bup but between that and the sub-q's it should be better than nothing.
Just saw this when I finished my message. Dolly gets Buprenex every day for her little legs and walking. Buprenex is what they are giving Susie just has a different name. They get it usually in a syringe that you are supposed to put in their cheek pouch. That never happens with Dolly, I just shoot it in her mouth, she hates having anything put in her mouth :mad: She has learned how to hiss at 12 years old and sometimes i get hissed at :stop::p I hope they are planning on giving her meds for the IBD or SCL. The pain meds will make her feel better but she needs something to make her get better. Don’t want to say something I don’t really know. Wishing good things for Susie’s health.
 
Thanks for wanting to see her. Do you have any updates from the vet? I know I saw something mentioned about your vet being out of the office today. Do you have to go in to discuss a plan for Susie or can you speak with them over the phone? I know you have lots of messages to respond to so get back to me when you can. I hope she continues to feel better and eat. I know this has been a big shock, as you said, things can change in a moment. How well I know that. Sending healing prayers for Susie.
My regular vet is out until Monday. My second vet, who is familiar, somewhat, with Susie's issues said "no" to the prednisolone. He wants to give her Bupanorphine. I don't know how I feel about a pain reliever that is not going to do anything to help with IBD of lymphoma. I have an appt. tomorrow to go in but I may cancel. I'm not sure I am comfortable with this. She actually ate some PureBite treats tonight for the first time in many day. I wonder if the cerenia she got helped her to feel better today.
 
Summer - Buprenorphine is a very strong (good) pain med. God bless you and Susie.

SubQ fluids help so many different situations. I was crushed almost 2 years ago when I started giving Tina SubQs. I'll never forget me going in for cataract surgery, and a nurse saying it sounded like it was time to let my cat go. That's when Tina was still on insulin. I had mentioned I'd just started giving Tina fluids. Ended up getting all emotional, my BG was high, and I was so upset, even delayed my stupid surgery. Then felt silly. Got the surgery and two years later, Tina is actually much better, and I see great color and white again;)
You poor thing. I can't imagine a nurse telling me that it was probably time to let my kitty go. Do they think we are so insensitive to our kitties that we don't know when it is time. I'm so glad you got through that situation and your girl is still with you.

I, also, need cataract surgery but I guess you already saw that somewhere. I can't wait to have it done. So miserable not being able to see clearly out of one eye. Yes, the Sub-qs helped with my poor Simon who had CKD but nothing could save him at that point. You kind of scared me with your comment about the Bup and "God bless me and Susie". Is it something given in end stage diseases? I think the cerenia she got helped today. She actually ate some PureBite treats for the first time in many days. I can't figure her out. At times, she seems like she is doing pretty well. Other times I actually have to consider the worst case scenario.
 
Just saw this when I finished my message. Dolly gets Buprenex every day for her little legs and walking. Buprenex is what they are giving Susie just has a different name. They get it usually in a syringe that you are supposed to put in their cheek pouch. That never happens with Dolly, I just shoot it in her mouth, she hates having anything put in her mouth :mad: She has learned how to hiss at 12 years old and sometimes i get hissed at :stop::p I hope they are planning on giving her meds for the IBD or SCL. The pain meds will make her feel better but she needs something to make her get better. Don’t want to say something I don’t really know. Wishing good things for Susie’s health.
I totally agree with you, Adrienne. Why are they giving pain meds when they should be giving something for IBD - at least. I might cancel this appt. I don't want to just dope her up.
 
Oh Summer, I just meant, God - take Summer's worries away for a while, and make Susie feel better too. Let there be a clear path forward. I wanted something more than just pain meds, but they are "something" at least, for comfort.
I get how you could have taken it - I even had second thoughts about my words.

Please sleep well.
 
I totally agree with you, Adrienne. Why are they giving pain meds when they should be giving something for IBD - at least. I might cancel this appt. I don't want to just dope her up.
Summer, pain meds are needed when they are in pain. You need meds to make her get better but the pain meds will make her feel better. Dolly never acts doped up, she walks better with pain meds. At least until you get meds for the IBD or SCL, making her more comfortable is not a bad thing. This is just my opinion of course. Sleep well I hope. I know there is a lot on your mind. Prayers to you both. :):cat:
 
Last edited:
I would encourage you to take a look at the webpage, Raw Feeding for IBD Cats. Regardless of whether you opt for a raw diet, there is excellent information about supplements especially with respect to managing diarrhea, vomiting, inappetence, etc. If, in fact, your cat has IBD, she needs to be fed novel proteins. Otherwise, what she's eating will continue to be a cause for inflammation. I'd also suggest that you be attentive to whether the foods you're purchasing contain gums (e.g., guar gum) or carrageenan. They can contribute to GI issues.

I would be very clear with your vet. If the vet is prescribing a medication, what is the medication supposed to be treating and why does the vet feel it's warranted. Buprenorphine is very good for treating pain. It would be very appropriate if the vet thinks the issues you've noted are related to. pancreatitis. When Gizmo was first diagnosed with IBD, his meds were prednisolone, mirtazepine, and Cerenia. He was prescribed buprenorphine but it was because he'd had a surgical biopsy. The value of the biopsy is to know whether the problem is IBD or lymphoma since the treatments are different.
 
Summer, pain meds are needed when they are in pain. You need meds to make her get better but the pain meds will make her feel better. Dolly never acts doped up, she walks better with pain meds. At least until you get meds for the IBD or SCL, making her more comfortable is not a bad thing. This is just my opinion of course. Sleep well I hope. I know there is a lot on your mind. Prayers to you both. :):cat:
IBD can be very painful and so can SCL. Buprenorphine is part of the initial treatment although Prednisolone will take the inflammation down rapidly and, in my experience, reduces and then eliminates the need for pain meds as the inflammation is controlled.
 
I would encourage you to take a look at the webpage, Raw Feeding for IBD Cats. Regardless of whether you opt for a raw diet, there is excellent information about supplements especially with respect to managing diarrhea, vomiting, inappetence, etc. If, in fact, your cat has IBD, she needs to be fed novel proteins. Otherwise, what she's eating will continue to be a cause for inflammation. I'd also suggest that you be attentive to whether the foods you're purchasing contain gums (e.g., guar gum) or carrageenan. They can contribute to GI issues.

I would be very clear with your vet. If the vet is prescribing a medication, what is the medication supposed to be treating and why does the vet feel it's warranted. Buprenorphine is very good for treating pain. It would be very appropriate if the vet thinks the issues you've noted are related to. pancreatitis. When Gizmo was first diagnosed with IBD, his meds were prednisolone, mirtazepine, and Cerenia. He was prescribed buprenorphine but it was because he'd had a surgical biopsy. The value of the biopsy is to know whether the problem is IBD or lymphoma since the treatments are different.
Thank you for the information and the link. I do not have the money for the endoscopy. It is as simple as that. I would like to look into treating both the potential IBD and lymphoma if possible. I do not think Susie will eat a raw/partially cooked special diet. I tried ground beef, with the EZ complete, and she just walked away from it. I will look more at your link and I asked to join the Facebook site. Ideally, for me, maybe I could find an "already made" diet food for the IBD but will have to look around. Thanks, again.
 
I would look at novel proteins. ZiwiPeak has venison, lamb, and rabbit and lamb varieties and does not contain gums or carrageenan. Basically, you want to avoid giving Susie the same proteins that you've been feeding her. There are some other brands that have novel proteins, and low carb as well.

I realized from an earlier note that you weren't in a position to get a biopsy done. I wasn't suggesting that you do so. I don't know, though, if it's feasible to treat both IBD and lymphoma. The medications are different and what you would use to treat one is not ideal for the other.
 
I would look at novel proteins. ZiwiPeak has venison, lamb, and rabbit and lamb varieties and does not contain gums or carrageenan. Basically, you want to avoid giving Susie the same proteins that you've been feeding her. There are some other brands that have novel proteins, and low carb as well.

I realized from an earlier note that you weren't in a position to get a biopsy done. I wasn't suggesting that you do so. I don't know, though, if it's feasible to treat both IBD and lymphoma. The medications are different and what you would use to treat one is not ideal for the other.
It seems what vets like to do in the situation when a biopsy is not a possibility is to do a diet change to raw, freeze-dried, hydrolyzed or novel proteins, and see how the cat does. If that does not work, they start the steroid and only when the cat does not improve even after all of that, to add the chlorambucil.
 
Back
Top