10/1 Sarge AMPS 262 +1.25 230 +4.5 188

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alison & Sarge

Member Since 2014
9/30
PMPS 296
+4.75 287
+6 226

10/1
AMPS 262

Sarge's PS this morning is lower than his usual, which I love but I am unsure what to do. I know that ultimately his numbers need to come down across the board except that he can go low at +5 when he starts out over 300. So, I am curious. Do I give the usual dose and check him at before I leave (+1.5) and at 6 hours or do I shave down the dose a hair this morning since he is about 100 pt. lower than usual? It's funny, last night I was testing to see if he needed more insulin. Knowing his PS this morning I wish I could have seen more of what he did after his +6 but that was nearly 2am. Oh, I also had to chase him around to eat his breakfast. He ate his chicken treat just fine (was about to wake me up for it too) but then he wandered off and I had to go get him. Then I had to put the bowl in front of him twice. It's a little weird but he does free feed so occasionally he isn't really hungry but this morning of course I wonder if it means something. (Update: an hour later and just before his shot HE decides it's time for breakfast. So we're good)

Looking back over his SS I have seen this before. I think I am ok to go with his regular dose with monitoring. He usually has a nice cycle on these days and sometimes a few days later he earns a reduction. I think this is the next thing I am going to have to learn to master, what to do when the "system" works and he reaches new lower PS's. He can't be in the yellow all day everyday we need to get some green :)

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126210&p=1305132#p1305132
 
Hi Allison!

Sorry no one caught your question about shooting this morning. It's good to put a question in the subject line when you need help - even something like "help now!" or "should i shoot now?" so it doesn't get missed. Looks like all went well. In general, for new people we suggest you post and ask for help deciding what to do if you're faced with a preshot less than 150. Above that, most of the time if all is normal, ie Sarge is eating normally, you're probably ok to go with your regular dose.

Here's a post I wrote recently for Darin/Charlie about Shooting Low. Shooting low means you are shooting the full dose into normal numbers (50-120) - you aren't quite ready to do it yet, but the sooner you get to that point, the better for Sarge!

Take a look at it, read the links i've included, especially on "becoming Data Ready." You want to move as quickly as possible to the point where you can shoot lower numbers.

I can't remember if you have a timed feeder? Do you have one available for Sarge for while you're at work? They can be incredibly helpful in the case where you anticipate lower numbers and you're going to be out.

Hope you've had a perfect day!
 
Thanks for the info Julie! I did post a question on the thread and then went to do some more research in his SS. When I came back I didn't see any messages but I had a plan in mind. So, I had stalled for about an hour when I took down my question and went with what I had decided to keep the day on track. I really appreciate all the guidance I get from this group but I realize everyone else is running around getting their day started too. No sweat. I planned to sneak home for an afternoon test just to be sure I made the right call. When I did he was a happy boy and in the blue. So I guess no increase for now. Sarge does have a timed feeder and it has been a lifesaver. All three cat took to it quickly. I am hoping that shooting low is in our future :) I better start doing my homework.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top