10/1 Reuben PMPS 177 +.75/187 +1.75/181 +2.5/121 +3.25/116

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
Yesterday

Reuben Rey is toughing out a little pancreatitis flare-up. His health unravels a bit when we go into high numbers after docresases... He rejected his normal food yesterday, which is how we discovered that there *is* a canned food I can give him (friskies turkey and giblet pate) YEAY! so I`ll be running out the door to stock up on that as soon as I get this posted. I only had the one can last night and saved enough for morning breakfast from it (and civviezack needed some too - sibling rivalry and all that haha) SO that left us using whiskas mc for the curve - which could only have raised up his numbers. All in a day's work, and today we won't have that variable. :razz:

I need to get the bupe consistent so that he can become pain-free once again. He won`t let me hold him so it`s hard to administer and I do not want to inject; he hates the shots and adding more won`t make giving the insulin any easier.


Ongoing Medications:
Potencil 50mg bid (need to switch to clavamox)
pepcid 2.5mgbid
bupe - 0.05 yesterday - need to get more
miralax - sprinkling a few granules on
 
Re: 10/1 Reuben AMPS 343

Here is the Weekly Review Jane did for us last night: Thaaaaaank Youuuuu Jaaaane!!! :razz:

Jane said:
Okay, here we go :-D

I've looked at numbers and condos of the past few days (starting on the 24th September). So: On the 24th, a couple of days after starting a new vial (on the 22nd), Reuben was on his 8th day of 1.75u - which overall hadn't seemed to be doing that much for him up to that day, at least once the shed had drained from the 2.0u before.
That makes me think that there may well have been a slight pooping-out effect happening with the previous vial of Lantus.

Either way, from the 23rd/24th, Reuben stared seeing lovely runs of greens. It looks to me that his shed may have taken a bit longer to refill up to that point (or, again, the shed may have been okay but the insulin may not have been up to par anymore). When things were balanced out (shed re-filled and functioning, insulin perfect, Reuben ready and raring to go), you got your first green PS, also on the 24th, in the evening! A wonderful progress milestone! and you shot it - another major rite of passage :mrgreen: - and reaped the rich reward the very next day (the 25th September), when Reuben dipped into the 30s, his shed being full enough to overflow and psh the numbers down. So he earned his reduction to 1.5u that evening cycle.

The 25th was when I personally learned the difference between a true dropping number and a second dip late in the cycle :smile: Marje explained that what you shot the morning of the 25th (he dipped from the previous +11 of 186 to an AMPS of 147) was just a second dip, not a true dropping number. This is where the factor of meter variance can come in, too.

(Recap from the 24th: I posted how "meter variance" covers about 20% in either direction of whatever number one has had from a test. This can be confusing, of course: For a BG of 60, 20% variance would be 12 points, so it could be between 72 and 48. For a tested 48, you'd react differently than for a tested 72. It's good to remember that the number you're getting off the meter may not be *exactly* accurate. But it's a little distracting to get too caught up in meter variance, I always find. Still, for defining a surf, the issue of variance comes up. If you tested every hour one day, and got a 60, then a 69, then a 56, then a 64... That would be a surf. If the range was higher up, the meter variance would allow for greater fluctuation, meaning if you had a 240, then a 261, then 232, then a 256, that would still essentially be a surf. The higher the surf, the wider the fluctuation window based on 20% meter variance.)

True dropping numbers warrant *very* close monitoring - even getting a (+0.5) already can be a good idea. For a second dip, one doesn't have to quite as wary - though if that dip is a big one, again, attention should be paid. It's something one needs to develop a gut feel for, I find.

On the evening of the 25th, Reuben bounced a bit off those low low greens. Normal, and not a problem at all :smile: Textbook TR-protocol progress so far! And Textbook Lantus-Behaviour, too: Though you had reduced to 1.5u that evening, Reuben's shed was still busy spilling the overflow into his system, which is why you did have to work a bit at getting him and then keeping him above 50. Makes sense, yes?

One the 26th September, you started out a bit put off by Reuben's pink AMPS - I think that was still just the bounce from spending all that time in the lox greens the day before. Normal, again. He came down nicely, but fairly quickly (from the higher 300s to the 60s in 4 hours), which is why you got what I would call another little bounce. These few days look to me like Reuben's liver still just being a tad on edge about the repeated (beautiful) strings of green BGs.

Happily, by the 27th September, after a bit of hanging out in the yellows/blues for the AM cycle, he was ready to flex his drama muscles again: In the PM cycle, he dipped again into the 30s, earning his next reduction (to 1.25u) within 3 days of the last one. This is also something we see fairly frequently: when a cat hits that one "key dose", s/he can often "unlock" (accelerated) progress. That doesn't mean s/he will race down the rest of the dosing ladder (though it can), but I think it *does* mean that things are looking promising.

One good mental note to take away from the 27th is that an HC bump in BG can wear off really, really quickly: it did, for Reuben (he went from +3.5 of 38 to +4 of 61, and you were already hoping for sleepus, but luckily reconsidered and got a +4.5, which was 44 :lol:), and it demonstrates why we recommend not becoming complacent after on HC-boosted number. Another useful LL-option that came up on the 27th: Opening the next condo at (+11) already, giving people the option of chiming on on any dosing queries *on the run-up to AMPS* rather than *at* AMPS (which can delay the shot). You chose to shoot through the bounce Reuben did off those low greens.

So, the morning of the 28th September, you shot through the bounce. That worked out nicely, and brought him back into the blues at pace. With the shed still draining from the previous dose, you saw beautiful greens again that PM cycle. Poor Meeeeezer was having some tummy trouble again and threw up a couple of times. And again, all those pretty healing greens made Reuben's liver a tad edgy, so he spent some time bouncing - the entirety of the 29th September, in fact :smile: He started to come down out of the bounce in today's AM cycle, though, which again is great progress: NOT a prolonged bounce, very nice! You accidentally shot an hour early on the 29th in the morning - but he was bouncing, undeterred, and it didn't have any adverse effects.

Another good thing to note: This morning, you *did* shoot a dropping number - Reuben was steadily dropping due to his bounce clearing, from the tailend of yesterday's AM-cycle right up until this morning's AMPS. But, as you've seen, this time there were no dramatic side-effects from shooting a steady drop: he dipped into the blues and then decided to try the pinks one more time, before going back to the pretty greens in tonight's PM cycle. Tonight's greens arose, I believe, out of the shed having re-filled, in combination with the bounce clearing. (Today's AM cycle also looks like a demonstration something we sometimes see in bounces - the bounce starts to clear, and then the kitty seems to decide it wasn't quite done, so the bounce goes up a bit again, before clearing properly. Sort of a "second dip in reverse".)

Overall, I think you're seeing phenomenal progress with Reuben. If my crystal ball is working, I suspect the now-refilled shed will provide you with some more lovely greens over the next few days. If Reuben's liver doesn't overreact and send him into a bounce, I'd say you may be heading for your next reduction fairly soon. If he does bounce of just-above-50 greens - it's no big deal, it's normal. Even though he's had that persistent tummy trouble and some food issues, he's doing beautifully and earning reductions in perfect TR-protocol manner,

You can be VERY proud of your Meeeeezer boy, and of yourself :mrgreen:
So that's what I'm seeing over the past week.
Wattaya think? :lol:

Hugs,
Jane
 
Re: 10/1 Reuben AMPS 343

In Jane's original post there are links to the condos being discussed. I don`t know why they disappeared when I copied the post into this condo, or how to do it so that they don`t.

Edited to add: Thank you Jane and Rhiannon for explaining how to correctly post with links and Everything!!! :razz: :razz:
 
Re: 10/1 Reuben AMPS 343

I think you had to use the quote box when you copied and pasted it in your own post.

So good you found a canned food for easy access and it's poultry ! :-D ( dr lisa's favorite choice )
Today is shop for cat food day apparently. We are all doing it.... :-D
 
Re: 10/1 Reuben AMPS 343

Hey there Alexa!

Here's how you get the links and colour coding to show up (by "quoting" in the forum-method):

--- Open yesterday's condo in a separate tab.
--- Go to the summary post and select the "Quote" button.
--- Go to the window where the quoted section appears. Select EVERYTHING in there (including the brackets at start and finish). Hit "Ctrl" (Control Key) plus the "C" key on your keyboard.
--- Go to the post in this condo where you re-posted the summary. Select the "Edit" button.
--- Go into the window where your post appears to be edited (at the very bottom of the page). Delete the re-posted summary. Then hit "Ctrl" plus the "V" key on your keyboard.
--- Click Submit :smile:

HUGS :mrgreen:
Jane
 
Re: 10/1 Reuben AMPS 343

Thanks Jane and Rhiannon! :razz: It's up correctly now - yeay!

I^m going to get the +1.5, and then dash out for cat food and bupe.. It`s cat food shopping day and I`m doing it toooo, yeayyyy!!

We are in such a good mood over here after Jane's review, and the great news about the canned food. The dosecreases are taken in true drama queen style over here, and we alllllways feel terrrrible, so it came at the perfect time! And with the grinder broken (repair parts on the way) making the food is so labor intestive that finding the canned food is absolutely brilliant!

Thanks so much again, Jane! :razz:
 
Re: 10/1 Reuben AMPS 343

Jane said:
You got it :mrgreen:

Good luck with the bupe! Poor Meeeeezer! Feel better soon, Reuben my dear!

Hugs
Jane

Thanks Jane! I`ll tell him you said so cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/1 Reuben AMPS 343 +2/246 +3/162 +4/101 +5/65

Hi Alexa, I see Reuben glided right down into lovely green for you :mrgreen: Good boy! Its great that you found a good canned food you can serve Reuben and Zack. Now that you dont have to always prepare cat cuisine from scratch, what will you do with all your free time? :lol: Jane's Weekly Review is great, very understandable, remember how complicated things seemed when we arrived at LL not so long ago ? :-D Have a great evening!
-Leslie
 
Re: 10/1 Reuben AMPS 343 +2/246 +3/162 +4/101 +5/65

Leslie and Jasper said:
Hi Alexa, I see Reuben glided right down into lovely green for you :mrgreen: Good boy! Its great that you found a good canned food you can serve Reuben and Zack. Now that you dont have to always prepare cat cuisine from scratch, what will you do with all your free time? :lol: Jane's Weekly Review is great, very understandable, remember how complicated things seemed when we arrived at LL not so long ago ? :-D Have a great evening!
-Leslie

Hi Leslie! I know! Jane made it all so clear - I feel like a great weight has been lifted! And yes, So much free time now, I don`t know what to do first!! :lol: Well, the first thing I did do was go condo visiting, but you don`t have one so I can't visit you, so thank you for visiting us!! Scritches to Jasper cat_pet_icon Have a great day evening at the Falls!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top