10/1 Racci AMPS-167, +4-131, PMPS-141, Vet Update!

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=80176
9/30 Racci AMPS-90! Yes!,+3.5-83,+6-127,PMPS-167F

Hi LL,

We are fine today. Racci has exhibited all p's, & is taking her nap now. Poor baby doesn't know that she will have to go to the vet today. I feel so guilty ruining her day. :-| She's going for her senior panel and to have her butt checked and shaved. She's getting hard to clean again.

Wish me luck that the senior panel doesn't show anything. I hate going for well patient visits. I always feel like I'm borrowing trouble even though I know it can head off really big trouble. I just always have mixed feelings about it since she's sick so much and goes so much anyway.

I probably won't get back on till later this evening when I get back. See you later, hopefully with a good report.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 10/1 Racci AMPS-167, Vet today!

Sending good vetty vines for Racci. Somehow, I always feel worse about taking them to the vet when they already don't feel well, but I can understand if she's sick alot, it doesn't seem fair to make her go again and spoil a good day. Hope she gets a good report!
 
Re: 10/1 Racci AMPS-167, Vet today!

Sending good vetty vines. I know your feeling, Tess needs to go in soon too.
 
Re: 10/1 Racci AMPS-167, Vet today!

And more good vetty vines being sent long distance from Rebuen, Zack and me!! :razz: You'll be home soon sweet little Racci, hang in there!!
 
Re: 10/1 Racci AMPS-167, +4-131, Vet Update!

We're back! We are so happy to see all of you stopped by to wish us luck with the visit. :razz: So far it looks good but naturally we have to wait for the results of all the tests. We'll have everything back probably by Wednesday and the vet will call and they'll mail me a copy.

The vet said that Racci looked great. She doesn't have her butt infection & her skin looked great, her anal glands were pretty clean-they expressed a little bit, her vitals were great and she was very happy with her bg, especially considering that she cried the entire ride over there & was upset about being there. She was 131 at the vet's office.

Racci also had her little butt shaved for cleanliness and her back legs shaved since she hasn't been letting me brush those legs because they hurt and she's going to order Adequan for Racci. Her teeth still look good! Yaay! I guess that brushing pays off! The vet also said that Racci looked better than she has in a long time & this is one of her best exams. :-D

Now we have to wait for the test results and I have to read up on giving the Adequan shots. I'll be nervous till I get them. I hope the Adequan helps her to walk better and jump again.

Thanks again for all the vetty vines and support!
 
Re: 10/1 Racci AMPS-167, +4-131, Vet Update!

What a great vetty report!

My civvie, Mario, is on Adequan (he's been on it for over a year now) and it has helped him tremendously. I'm sure you've probably seen that you can give Adequan as a subQ injection, even though it was initially believed to be effective only as an IM injection. I found that Drs Foster and Smith have the best price on it, if you want to check out their website.

Have a great evening!!
 
Re: 10/1 Racci AMPS-167, +4-131, Vet Update!

Happy to hear the vet went fine - and Racci's best visit is a while - great news! Really cool that Racci's +4 at the vet was right in line with the AMPS!
 
Re: 10/1 Racci AMPS-167, +4-131, Vet Update!

I was watching for you to come back today.
Glad they didn't find anything today and paws crossed for a good report on Wednesday.
That's pretty good number for being at the vets.
Our vet visits always involve barber style cuts too. Sure helps to have less hair to deal with.
 
Re: 10/1 Racci AMPS-167, +4-131, Vet Update!

MelanieAndRacci said:
Thanks Amy. What dose do you give?

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci

He gets 0.25ml. We followed a "loading dose" protocol: 2 shots a week for 4 weeks; one shot a week for 4 weeks; every other week for 4 weeks. After that, we were supposed to go to once every 4 weeks, but Mario wasn't ready for that, so we went to once every 3 weeks for quite a while, and slowly we were able to stretch him out to once every 4 weeks, which is where we are now.

We started seeing small results pretty quickly, but it did take a couple months to see it REALLY kick in. I can always tell when he needs a boost, because his posture starts looking not-so-great, and he starts bunny-hopping down the stairs. He feels much better within just a few hours of his shot now. It's amazing.
 
Re: 10/1 Racci AMPS-167, +4-131, Vet Update!

Thanks! My vet was trying to remember the protocol and said she would look it up but I'd like to see what everyone here did to compare and give her feedback. I'm sure she'll charge me more for it since she's getting it this time but in the future I'll ask for prescriptions. I'm really glad it helps Trixie so much. I've heard wonderful things about it and hope it does the same for Racci. She has so much trouble with her back legs and hips.

Thanks again, I have to go test and give meds and food now. bbs.
 
Re: 10/1 Racci AMPS-167, +4-131, Vet Update!

That's the best news! So glad to know Racci got a good vetty report!
 
Happy to hear Racci is better--Moonie gets 0.8 mls of Adequan now once a month, or vet said as needed..
It seems to help them..I am giving Moonie a shot tomorrow, a few days late from her monthly..as we were seeing how the hyp.T meds were working first. Yes we see Moonie not walking as well & know when she needs the shot..Try it, Racci may do much better with it--Hugs & love from us!
 
Thanks Dale & Helen. I just hope all her tests come back good also now. Then I can breathe easy for a while. nailbite_smile

She's really exhausted and cranky about having her legs touched tonight since they were shaved. Every night I brush her after her meds and tonight she was fine until I got too close to her legs. I got them partially brushed but not completely. I'll wait till tomorrow when she's calmer. I'm giving her a break on testing too unless it's an important one. She did come over for cuddling though. Poor baby. She hates going to the vet so much.

Thanks again. Have a good night!
 
Hi Roni,

Did you start out the same way - the same dose as Amy and time period between, etc? It's great that it builds up and lasts so well that you only have to give one a month after a while. I hope Moonie continues to do well with it.

Have a great night!
Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Thanks Jane! I was really happy about it. I could tell she felt pretty good except for the recent food horror show though. That's why I was so sure it was the food or maybe insulin. What I'm really worried about is the senior panel. Things there could be going wrong without her exhibiting changes I could see yet. Know what I mean?

I'm sure finally getting the last of the knots from before her haircut was a relief for her too yesterday. She had these tiny knots on her back legs that were very close to the skin and couldn't be brushed out and every time she's gone in for a haircut instead of getting them first they saved them for last and by then she was too stressed! This time I insisted they start with her legs, & told them exactly where the problem was instead of being general. I've been working on those knots with a little curved very sharp sewing scissor, 1 knot at a time & made progress but it's too long a process and she hates it. Now it's shave off! She looks silly with shaved spots but that's ok. I can tell already that her legs feel better. She let me feel them last night!

I'm hoping the Adequan does as good a job for her as it has for the other cats. I never gave a shot of that type though so I'm a little nervous. I think it's intramuscular?
 
Awesome verry report on all counts! I'm glad her butt issues have cleared up and it sounds like she is doing really well over all. Congratulations on keeping her toothies sparkling clean...that's a huge job in itself! Hope the blood work comes back with good results.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top