10/1 Pumbaa AMPS/295 and a question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Last night, Pumbaa went from 257 at his PMPS to 199 at +2, then up to 224 at +4.

Didn't I read somewhere that if they drop 2 hours after eating, that's a sign that the pancreas is working?

I should have stayed up and gotten at least a +6 last night, to see if Pumbaa's numbers dropped again after his +4. I'm praying with all my might that 295 is as high as he goes today for his "bounce" off of last night's numbers. That 295 is what is making me think he dropped again after his +4 last night, and his nighttime nadir might be later than his daytime nadir. I'm going to have to spend a night napping on the sofa to test him and see where his nighttime nadir falls (not that it's always going to be at the same time, as we all know *LOL*).

Suze
 
I wouldn't read too much into a drop after eating right now because there isn't enough data to show that always happens. It does look like he dips a little early (before +6) which probably means that is where the dose overlap is for him.

He has been in very even numbers with little variation, just starting to come down slowly. Remember to think in terms of meter variance as well - +/- 20% makes the 199 and 224 the "same" value.

He could have dropped again later in the cycle, but the 295 is probably that new dose wonkiness that is always talked about. He is sensitive to dose changes, that may go hand in hand with the tendency to dive and bounce, as you put it. Makes small dose changes and 'enough' settle time important with him. You just haven't identified what his optimal settle time is yet, but that will come in time.
 
Thank you, Sheila!

I need to do more +2 tests, as that test time has never, in the past, produced any significant number, that I could tell.

That dose overlap is something I am going to have to start paying attention to, but it totally makes sense now when Pumbaa dips like that before +6. I really didn't see that on Lantus...but that could have been due to the diving/bouncing routine Pumbaa was doing, regularly.

The 295 this morning? Well, I don't care much whether it was a bounce or NDW, since Pumbaa stayed in the yellows! That to me is worth celebrating, all on it's own! :) No magenta, no red, no black numbers since he started on Levemir one week ago tonight. I am very, very, very thankful for that!

Suze
 
Suze- I do the +2's in the AM as it is my out the door test. I usually expect a 40pt rise from the AMPS. Anything over that and I know I did something wrong- food or otherwise.

Yes- staying in the yellows is always a great thing to celbrate :-D
 
Heather, it's good to see Sneaker's is doing good with a lower dose. I still can't believe she was up to 33 Units! You're a wonderful cat mom to that little girl! (((HUGS)))

Suze
 
Heather, so sorry to hear about the new ride on the roller coaster. (((HUGS)))

You are simply awesome dealing with Sneakers!

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top