10/1 Ozy AMPS-259,+2-272

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105487&p=1120993#p1120993

Ozy felt pretty good yesterday, though he seemed tired out. Last night he went into the hot pinks again. Today he is starting out sleeping, curled in his box next to the radiator (yup, we turned on the heat).

People told me I was doing such a good job when his numbers were low but I am doing the same things and now his numbers are high... I want to get off this roller coaster.

And, Carl, I look at SS all the time and mostly it discourages me, one way or another. And you said:

And that requires a good bit of experimentation and testing to see what "an idea" will do for you. Whether it's stalling, changing feeding routines, adjusting a dose, whatever. You try it, you gather data, and then you evaluate the results. If it fails once, don't assume it will fail a 2nd time. If it succeeds, still no assumption it's going to work every time. Every day is a new adventure. And every day you learn something new.

That sounds like how it is... and it is frustrating and feels like a maze with many a dead end. And I am not learning much except I HATE THIS. And what I take from what you say, is that it is random. There is nothing to learn.
 
Au contrair. There is much to learn. I learn something new every day.

In your prior condo, Julie mentioned "shed" AKA "the depot".
Here's some good info -
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150

Do NOT let this disease kick your ass, Donaleen. Yes, it's frustrating, and seemingly random, and requires more patience than people should need to possess. I only had to deal with it for about ten weeks. I'm blessed and damned fortunate. Two years later, my biggest sense of accomplishment is when I can help somebody else deal with it.

Sometimes I HATE THIS too. I hate seeing somebody feel overwhelmed by it. I hate that the disease is so freaking random as far as which cats do and don't get it. I didn't do anything differently with Bob than I'd done with two dozen or more other cats and yet he became a sugarcat. No clue "why". But it's the "best thing" that ever happened to him, to me, and to every other cat that comes into my life in the future.
 
You are wonderful Carl. I am not a patient person. It doesn't work for me. I am going away from the board for a while because it is stressing me out.

donaleen
 
Then do me a favor? Keep your spreadsheet up to date so we know how things are going?

Hugs Donaleen,

Carl
 
Donaleen, I think I know how you're feeling, because I feel something pretty similar.
I'm wishing you a restorative break.
And nothing beats being missed, hm? And you'll be missed, so pop on back when you're ready.
 
Donaleen, I'm sorry it's so frustrating. Don't go away for too long! You've been great support for me and I'm sure others!

Debbie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top