10/1 Oberon +9 340, AMPS 339/4.3, +3 326, +6 332/2.2, +9 365, PMPS 373/2.5, +3 372, +5.5 369/2.9

Lisa & Oberon

Member Since 2020
yesterday: (not so) patiently waiting for lab results https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-8-9-341-pmps-357-5-0-3-362-5-339-4-4.236148/

Ketones down slightly (4.3 at AMPS). Someone yesterday suggested I check that the meter is functioning. I bobbled things this morning and poked myself by accident. BG 97, ketones 0.1. So I think the meter's fine. He'll be getting an increase to 5.25 U tonight.

Never heard back from the vet yesterday, but I know at least some of the results are in. (The receptionist said "all of them" but I don't know if she actually saw the IGF and IAA results or just the senior panel.) Hopefully I'll get a call this morning.
 
Hope you get results today. The IGF and IAA, might not be in. Depends when MSU received sample. The IGF results are sent to vets on Friday.

Glad to hear you are normal.
 
Now I have to go get candy corn.....SO dangerous!!!
I never pictured Oberon as being one to be a jerk :p.
We need a thread “Do you have a cat this is jerk?”.....LOL! Would love to hear what some of these cats are capable of doing to their housemates :eek::woot::cool:;):nailbiting:!!
 
BG still in the usual zone at +6, but ketones are 2.2. Finally! Fingers crossed they continue to come down. If so I'll have to ask the vet whether it makes sense to continue with fluids right now. I haven't started the new bag yet, so it might be nice to hold off and have it available if I need it later.
 
Now I have to go get candy corn.....SO dangerous!!!
I never pictured Oberon as being one to be a jerk :p.
We need a thread “Do you have a cat this is jerk?”.....LOL! Would love to hear what some of these cats are capable of doing to their housemates :eek::woot::cool:;):nailbiting:!!

Oh yes, he's a complete jerk. He bullies the other cats. Ariel the scaredy cat pretty much lives in the bedroom because she's scared of him. He also shreds cardboard boxes into little postage stamp-sized pieces, so we can't leave Amazon orders sitting around. And although when we adopted him we agreed to keep him indoors, he never signed that form. Sneaks out the door if he gets a chance, and we have to chase him around the outside of the house. Thunder doesn't scare him, nor does having strangers in the house. A friend brought a new puppy over once to see how she would react to cats, and Oberon attacked her. (Sorry... we just taught your dog that cats are evil.) He's like the Chuck Norris of cats. On the flip side, because he's fearless he lets us do just about anything to him (except pills, apparently...). We joke that it's because he knows he could kill us any time he wants. But he's still a Very Good Boy.
 
LOL. "the Chuck Norris of cats" statement juxtaposes with that sweet looking face in your avatar. Your description of Oberon is both hilarious and alarming. But of course a Very Good Boy nonetheless.:D
So happy the ketones are subsiding! And glad he is feeling better.
 
OK... got some partial results from the vet over the phone. The full report will be emailed to me but I think it may not happen until their records office opens in the morning. When I get it I'll add it to his SS.

Everything was normal except:
IAA 83 (normal is 20-something?); she wasn't sure yet how to interpret this because she doesn't usually run it
Glu 462 (no surprise)
cholesterol and triglycerides high but not a concern
Hc 25, mildly anemic- she wondered if it might be from all the blood draws. I can't imagine that the volume I'm taking daily could do that, but maybe? Have to think about that one.

B12 >1000 (good), so no gut absorption issues
IGF isn't back yet; she's out of the office for the weekend but will have someone call with results if they come in tomorrow

She wants to wait for IGF info before considering Humulin R. Also would be more open to it if ketones stay high, but maybe not if they come down on their own.
She's calling in a different antibiotic (Baytril relative but I didn't catch which one) to see if it's more palatable for him.

Current plan: keep following TR (new dose 5.25 U); finish off Pepcid tomorrow; 5 more days of fluids to help clear the ketones. Then reevaluate everything once we have the IGF results.

I'm going to finish dinner and then read up on the IAA test.
 
OK, for the IAA test anything below 20 is normal. 83 is way outside of that, so it looks like that's one of the things we're dealing with. I'm gathering more info now, but so far I'm not finding all that much. Sounds like the basic strategy is to just keep increasing insulin as needed, and eventually the antibodies may clear out on their own. Hoping @Wendy&Neko may have some ideas later. Is R helpful in this situation?
 
From what I recall, when the IAA breaks, it can be a wild ride. Check out some of Sandy and Black Kitty's posts relating to her experience with IAA, and I'd have a look at Black Kitty's SS when it broke, I think she said around February 2009. I haven't seen her on the forum recently, but you can still search for some of her posts on the topic. Here's one. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...amps-358-299-3-ss-and-ir.225484/#post-2524447
 
From what I recall, when the IAA breaks, it can be a wild ride. Check out some of Sandy and Black Kitty's posts relating to her experience with IAA, and I'd have a look at Black Kitty's SS when it broke, I think she said around February 2009. I haven't seen her on the forum recently, but you can still search for some of her posts on the topic. Here's one. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...amps-358-299-3-ss-and-ir.225484/#post-2524447

Holy cow, that looks wild. Guess I picked the right year to be teaching from home.
 
Funnily enough, just finished posting to a caregiver in Feline Health who just got the IAA diagnosis. A little light reading here. ;) Making a post on IAA has been on my long to-do list. Sigh - so that link will have to do for now.

83 is considered extreme IAA. Neko's "score" was 52. A characteristic of IAA is initially getting a good reaction on a dose, then just high, high, high. Sound familiar?
Is R helpful in this situation?
Absolutely! The really nice thing about using R on a regular basis, is that you can get more insulin into the cat, without a corresponding sized depot. Very important in higher doses. Especially if insulin resistance breaks. You can effectively lower the dose quickly without having to worry about the larger depot as much. All you do is stop giving the R.
 
Funnily enough, just finished posting to a caregiver in Feline Health who just got the IAA diagnosis. A little light reading here. ;) Making a post on IAA has been on my long to-do list. Sigh - so that link will have to do for now.

83 is considered extreme IAA. Neko's "score" was 52. A characteristic of IAA is initially getting a good reaction on a dose, then just high, high, high. Sound familiar? Absolutely! The really nice thing about using R on a regular basis, is that you can get more insulin into the cat, without a corresponding sized depot. Very important in higher doses. Especially if insulin resistance breaks. You can effectively lower the dose quickly without having to worry about the larger depot as much. All you do is stop giving the R.

Thanks for the link! I'll definitely talk to the vet about R again on Monday. I don't get the impression that she has any experience with IAA; she said she doesn't usually test for it. Sounds like I may also want to consider switching to Levemir?
 
Sorry for the IAA. Now you know partially what your dealing with and why the high BGs. It is limited so eventually it will break. As Wendy says, it can be wild, so tighten up the seatbelts. Hope you get IGF today. If not it will be next Friday. If it's + you might want to think about switching to levemir insulin. Lantus tends to sting at higher doses, you will probably be increasing for awhile. Ollie got aggressive @ 6 units.

Depending where you live, you might want to get more insulin now before winter hits. When Ollie was in the 6-6.5 unit range, one pen only lasted 3 1/2 weeks. My first order I got 2 boxes (she was 9 units then). Then when I finished one box, I would order another box. That way I always had one and cost was spread out. Another thing is to watch the supply closet for people offering it up, usually for low cost or cost of shipping.

All in time though. Just putting a few tips out there to think about.

ETA: my vet didn't test for IAA. Even though I requested it, he said there is no treatment except raising dose as I had been. He had no experience with acro.
 
Thanks, Paula! I've got a box of Lantus pens on the way from Mark's in Canada. Weather is fine for shipping right now, so I may take your advice and stock up more now that I know he's likely to be at high doses for quite a while.
 
Thanks, Paula! I've got a box of Lantus pens on the way from Mark's in Canada. Weather is fine for shipping right now, so I may take your advice and stock up more now that I know he's likely to be at high doses for quite a while.

Before you stock up, maybe wait for IGF. If positive then maybe Levemir and stock up on that.
 
Back
Top