10/1 Noogi - AMPS 171, +2 158, +5 135, PMPS 115 | X-ray day | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/1 Noogi - AMPS 171, +2 158, +5 135, PMPS 115 | X-ray day

Helen + Noogi

Active Member
Yesterday

Noogi went off to the vet first thing for the x-ray of his spine to check for arthritis.

I gave him a slightly reduced dose of insulin this morning just to be on the safe side. Glad I did as he didn't eat much in the day. He just had a sedative not full sedation for the procedure and it made him a bit loopy.

The x-ray confirmed what we suspected: he definitely has arthritis. The x-ray showed four areas of spondylosis on his spine, with the worst one at the base of his tail. Poor boy. He is now going to take the NSAID he has had previously - Petcam (meloxicam) - on an ongoing basis. It will be at a reduced dose that is meant to be 'renal-safe'. We will check in a couple months how his kidneys are handling it.

Here is the old man when I brought him home and got him settled on my bed mid-morning, still high as a kite and not very happy with me:
20251001_104428.jpg
 
Last edited:
Aw, precious Noogi. I'm so sorry you've got some 'arthur' in your spine. I know that ish hurts!
Helen, we're sending vines and hopes that the NSAID will help with the inflammation and pain. Please give Noogi some gentle scritches and head rubs from me and Jude.
 
Awww, sweet Noogi. I’m sorry to hear your suspicions about the arthritis were accurate 😢
Hoping the meds will help him feel much better.

Sending lots of good wishes for feeling better and gentle pets for your boy, too 💖🥰❤️‍🩹
 
Any chance you have vets nearby who know how to do acupuncture? Neko had spondylosis of the spine, and acupuncture really helped her pain. The vet also showed me how to do acupressure, so I supplemented her daily with that. But I also gave bupe daily, she needed both. Good luck, I hope he feels better soon.
 
Back
Top