10/1 Minky AMPS: 446, 215@+5; PMPS: 431

I’m wondering why injections are hurting Minky. That should not be. I worry also about skipping shots when ketones are registering and previous DKA. I see that you skipped because she vomited. If you wait and feed a small amount again in 30-60 minutes does the food stay down?
 
I’m wondering why injections are hurting Minky. That should not be. I worry also about skipping shots when ketones are registering and previous DKA. I see that you skipped because she vomited. If you wait and feed a small amount again in 30-60 minutes does the food stay down?
Later on in the day she ate and it stayed down, but then the schedule was off. When I work, I can only do insulin for sure in the morning and evening. I try to come home for lunch but I only have 15 minutes to go to the bathroom, test her, and feed all of them--they eat different things :(

She is very lean and I have a hard time with the needle; I hit a couple of places where I hit something (muscle?). On Saturday I somehow went through the other side of where I inserted. i am trying to do it like the video that was shared with me, but I seem to be very inept. Plus I absolutely hate needles. She is now very wary of me which I would be too.

Are ketones not supposed to be measuring at all? Are they supposed to be 0? I am just at a loss. Between working and trying to take care of her, I am just overwhelmed. I cannot always test whenever because I am not always here and since I am not home all day, it is hard if the insulin schedule is off.
 
Ideally you don’t want to see ketones but if low not a cause for concern. That being said ketones can become too high if not enough food and insulin is given and Minky was DKA in the past. Any idea why she vomited? Sometimes a cat will eat if offered a small amount of food after vomiting. I think one of mine vomited her food right after she ate but I feed move separately as well so by the tone I opened the door she had eaten what she vomited if I am right. Yuck. It did stay down. If the BG is over 200 I would try giving even a reduced dose is she will eat anything after vomiting. Did she vomit both mornings you skipped? . I don’t want to stress you out so if you don’t think it’s safe ignore this suggestion.
 
I am not sure why she vomited. My thought was maybe she was constipated. I put some mineral oil on her paw and I think within 36 hours she had a bowel movement. She vomited the 28th night and 29th morning. I will try to feed her a little bit after if it happens again. I truly appreciate you responding; I have been kind of quiet because I don't want to keep asking the same questions. I just want her to feel better.
 
@Sheila and Minky Please ask questions and if necessary over and over again until you are satisfied with the answers and feel it helps you. Don’t sit back and be quiet ever. Feel free to disagree if you do. The only unnecessary question is the one you don’t ask. This is complicated and so much so that you will see those of answering not always agreeing. We stay here and volunteer our time because we understand what’s it’s like to be new to fd.
 
Last edited:
@Sheila and Minky Please ask questions and if necessary over amped over again until you are satisfied with the answers and feel it helps you. Don’t sit back and be quiet ever. Feel free to disagree if you do. The only unnecessary question is the one you don’t ask. This is complicated and so much so that you will see those of answering not always agreeing. We stay here and volunteer our time because we understand what’s it’s like to be new to fd.
This really means a lot to me <3 This is one of the best groups I have ever been in with people being so willing to help and allowing us to genuinely discuss and disagree if we are struggling with the answer(s). Thank you for all you do @tiffmaxee **hugs**
 
Back
Top