10/1 Klinger AMPS 515; plus some blue

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
This is my third attempt to post this message.
AMPS 515 (+11 - shot a reduced dose last night an hour late - at +11 at 515 I didn't feel the need to wait another hour to get the HI before giving his shot)
+4 273
+6.5 173
+ 8 170

Managed to get a ketone test in, which was negative.

I worry about him getting a UTI - especially when bumping up his insulin and he bounces HI. I was just at the pet supply store and saw a "natural homeopathic remedy for pets" specifically for UTIs. It's made by Natural Pet Pharmaceuticals, Urinary Tract Infections for felines. Here is the long list of ingredients:
Apis Mellifica
Argentum Nitricum
Arsenicum Album
Berberis Vulgaris
Cantharis
Causticum
Chimphilia Umbellata
Copaiva Officinalis
Cuprum Arsenicosum
Equisetum Hyemale
Eupatorium Purpurea
Lycopodium Clavatum
Mercurius Corrosivus
Oxalicum Acidum
Pareira Brava
Phosphorus
Plumbum Metallicum
Sabal Serrulata
Sarsaparilla
Staphysagria
Terebinthina
Uva-Ursi
Inactive ingredients: Prue water base, potassium sorbate .1%, citric acid .0075%
I'm wondering if I can give this to Klinger as a "preventative" measure. Has anyone used this and is it helpful? Will it mess with his BG?
 
I know nothing about that product. You could search the board though for it. When you search the board make sure to put a plus symbol in front of every word (like "+Natural +Pet +Pharmaceuticals") that will limit your results to something easily digestible. Also perhaps googling too.
 
wow, you guys saw every color except green today! a rainbow day!

that LIST of botanical ingredients is intimidating :shock: - do some research first. just bc its "natural" doesn't make it safe, but hopefully somebody knows something about it.

-So. today we learned
-that whatever you shot last night isn't gonna cut it from whatever he was when you shot-
and it may hurt him to delay shots much beyond +12 bc pzir is faded , so we lose any carryover
-last night you saw a fast ps rise
-that he is responding to 3.6u, but he isn't near anything risky- he could go lower into blue /green, although he may get uncomfortable until he gets used to it.
-that he probably stayed blue for 4 hours, which is good
-that the more aggressive scale is ok so far-

continue to lean slightly aggressive this weekend while you are home, and testing,
and keep testing-I love it :-D
 
PMPS 431
On the aggresive scale that means I would shoot 3.5u's. I'm inclined to give him 3.6 u's because it's the weekend and I'm home.

Thanks Gator and Nancy!
 
so lovely to see this progress marcy. on the herbal remedy product here's my 2 cents.
no. what can a product like that do to counteract the body's natural way of getting rid of excess sugar. the sugar is there, it has to go somewhere. it come out thru the urine.
the only realistic remedy i can see it more water to help flush. watering down the food, sub'q if necessary as a preventative but that would not be just water i believe. it would have a good electrolyte balance.
try getting as much liquids in him as you can marcy. that is the truly natural way of ridding his body of excess sugar.
 
Thanks for your 2 cents, Lori. It makes sense. ;-)
I love Tom's picture! He's a handsome boy with a great face.
Have a great night everyone!
 
Today's 3.6u created a 345 pt drop.
didn't 3.4u give us that 270 drop?
so maybe your fat 3.5u will be somewhere around a 300pt drop.
415 - 300 = 115 so he should stay safe.

Be sure to get a bedtime check and leave food out tonight, because he will eat if he needs it.

We might see a small bounce tomorrow, but thats OK.... were pushing
 
Hi Marcy
I've been pulling up all of Merlin's old records...sigh.....brings back so many memories for me

here are some that might show you some examples of what we went thru before we knew for sure Merlin was acro - we used PZI idexx - using and shooting every 6 hours for the most part.

8/2 we had more or less just started Dr H's tight regulation program. We had tried everything else prior to this
6am (+6)= 321.....3.5u
9:30am..............fed
12N (+6)= 348.... 3.5u
3P (+3)= 377
6P (+6)= 353.....4u
fed @ 9pm
12M(+6)= 153.....0.5u.... here is where you see a 200 point drop whereas before there was no response to the insulin given that Nancy was questioning

we were still learning so much in the beginning with him - not shooting below 200, waiting for the rise,

8/10
6am (+6) = 326...4units
ate at 9am
12N (+6) = 343...4units
6pm (+6) = 94...gave nothing
8pm (+8) = 126...gave nothing
ate @ 9pm
10pm (+10)=390...gave 4.6u however you can see how quickly Merlin would jump up


Below shows a day of a BIG drop but with doses where he had gotten and had had little response

8/15
3am (+6) = 111...gave nothing
5am (+8]) = 199...2units
11am(+6) = 296...4units
5pm (+6) = 434...5units
11pm(+6) = 64...nothing given


I have numerous examples of the above and gradually we worked up more and more on his scale. 5 months after this he was dx with acro. It took longer back in 2005-2006 as people didn't believe in this dx as much. We were discouraged by alot of people then.

by Jan/07 this was our scale:new scale
95-115 = 4.8
116-139 = 5
140-149 = 5.2
150-170 = 5.4
171-185 = 5.6
186-200 = 6.0
201-220 = 6.5
221-250 = 7.5
251-270 = 9.0
271-290 = 9.4
291-310 = 9.6
311-350 = 9.8
351-410 = 10
411-450 = 12
>451 = 12.5

As you can see - we shot starting at low numbers. It was the only way to "catch" Merlin before he would just jump up high. If we waited too long - he would be in the 300's.

10 months later we had to add REgular insulin in to his regimen to keep numbers in control along with the PZI.

This was often a typical day of how we could keep Merlin then:3/27
5am (+6) = 141
6am (+7) = 153...8.5units
fed 2 oz FP @ 9am
12N (+6) = 201...9.5units + 2.25units R
fed 2 oz FP @ 1pm
fed 2 oz FP @ 5pm
6pm (+6) = 163...8.5units
fed 2 oz FP @ 9pm
12MN (+6) = 287...12.5units + 2.5units R
24 hour totals = 39units PZI + 4.75units R

I don't know if any of this helps you. I have other examples if that would explain any questions you may have. I was very lucky as my DH helped me alot and we work different shifts so we could shoot around the clock. Also Merlin was able to travel with us. He was our camping cat!

I hope I haven't bored you either. He was our most special guy and I know I often go on and on too much about him. We still miss him so. cat_pet_icon
I do hope in some small way showing his numbers helps you and Nancy a little.

As far as the holistic stuff for UTI's - the only thing I might stand by is some cranberry powder if you can get your kitty to eat it. It's been shown in humans that cranberry juice helps with uti's. You can buy the powder and then you could put some even in a gelcap and pill Klinger too with it. That may help some.

I'll check back again later and as always sending the biggest and warmest of hugs for you and Klinger! :thumbup :YMHUG:
 
Hi Marcy

I dont post every day here either because I don't have anything to contribute and don't want to interfere but I check in every day.

Take care.
Robin
 
Patti,
Thank you so much for providing those examples and opening yourself to all of those old memories. I'm sorry.
I need to study this information when I'm a little more awake. I'll likely have a few questions for you.

Thanks for the links on cranberries, Gator.
 
N/P. I'm not completely 1000% sold on the no cranberry thing [just based on what I couple Internet options say] but I think if I were going to do the cranberry thing I would do more research on the benzoic acid issue. Maybe, proceed with caution. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top