10/1 Guppy AMPS 436 +1 436 +10.75 318 PMPS 340 +3.75 335

I feel like I'm losing my mind. He did so good for his shot tonight, I feel like we're getting a good routine that's working, but of course I poked through and gave a fur shot. I'm really trying to help him get regulated so he can feel normal and gain weight, but feel like I'm messing up at every turn. I know it happens, but it sucks SO bad
 
What length syringe needle do you have?

We've all given furshots. Annoying, yes, but it happens. Don't be too hard on yourself. You're doing your best!
 
What length syringe needle do you have?

We've all given furshots. Annoying, yes, but it happens. Don't be too hard on yourself. You're doing your best!
I'm using 8mm 31g needles, short and thin. I started trying the rolling method for shooting bc he seems to tolerate side shots better that way, but I guess I'm not used to shooting that way yet. Thank you for your kind words, it's just frustrating
 
I'm using 8mm 31g needles, short and thin. I started trying the rolling method for shooting bc he seems to tolerate side shots better that way, but I guess I'm not used to shooting that way yet. Thank you for your kind words, it's just frustrating
I used to use the rolling method, but I've since opted for a firm, taut tent (and I rotate around in the scruff area). I was worried I was getting too close to muscle with the rolling method, and I just want to be sure I'm getting his shot sub-q. I know a lot of folks use it, though.
 
I used to use the rolling method, but I've since opted for a firm, taut tent (and I rotate around in the scruff area). I was worried I was getting too close to muscle with the rolling method, and I just want to be sure I'm getting his shot sub-q. I know a lot of folks use it, though.
I was getting concerned with absorption/scar tissue around the scruff and wanted to have another shooting option to rotate to, I actually feel like it's a little easier for me to make sure I'm just grabbing skin on the side. Unfortunately he doesn't take kindly to the tent method in that area, but rolling is a-okay, I just need to get better at shooting it
 
Hi, for whatever its worth, here is video of injecting Minner in her hip. She’s a big girl so she is fleshy back there, but i think absorption is better for her there than on her scruff or behind shoulder blades. I also shave little areas so I can see the needle piercing her skin and a good view of the angle of needle. I’ve tried parting the fur to see skin but shaving is way better. She’s not planning to enter any beauty contests so these little patches of bald and semi bald spots just add character. :)

Minner - shooting in her hip.mov
 
Hi, for whatever its worth, here is video of injecting Minner in her hip. She’s a big girl so she is fleshy back there, but i think absorption is better for her there than on her scruff or behind shoulder blades. I also shave little areas so I can see the needle piercing her skin and a good view of the angle of needle. I’ve tried parting the fur to see skin but shaving is way better. She’s not planning to enter any beauty contests so these little patches of bald and semi bald spots just add character. :)

Minner - shooting in her hip.mov
Thank you for this:) Guppy is very thin right now and unfortunately only has a few spots I can pull the skin up to shoot (anywhere near the back end is a no-go either because he won't tolerate it or I can't lift the skin), shaving is a useful tip though. I've shaved a patch on his scruff before, but with all the new info I've received shaving completely left my brain. Luckily this morning was a success on his shot, he let me take my time to get it right
 
Back
Top