10/1 Fur Ball AMPS 98 PMPS 96, +1/86, +3/54

Status
Not open for further replies.

GregFurBall

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo

Good morning LL-
Its a cooler rainy morning. So refreshing. Got a bit more sleep last night. What a long couple days.

Hope everyone has a great day in cat land.
Karen
 
Re: 10/1 Fur Ball AMPS 98

Fantastic preshot again :smile: Good job on making catfoodsicles!

Have a good day, you three!
Jane

EDITED to add:
I would stick with the 0.1u until we can be sure that his depot has adjusted to this new, tiny dose. Keep in mind that the reduction from 0.25u to 0.1u is a pretty big one in terms of percentage (0.25u would be 100%, and 0.1u would only be 40% of that) - the depot can take a couple of days to settle back into normalcy. During those "settling cycles," low numbers can most often be attributed to the draining depot rather than a clear need for another reduction/shave. I doubt very much that you will have to wait long for that though. The reason we try to take it so slowly when weaning a cat off insulin (since that, as it seems, is what FB is heading towards with great determination) is that the strongest, most stable remission comes out of keeping the cat on insulin as long as it is safe to do so. We're most likely only talking about a number of days here, so you guys really are in the zone. Hang in there a little bit longer :smile:
 
Re: 10/1 Fur Ball AMPS 98

It will be very soon, I think before he's on 1 drop or less :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/1 Fur Ball AMPS 98

Hi guys, haven't visited your condo in a few days, it's nice to see fur ball doing so well, you guys must be really excited! Have a great day!
 
Re: 10/1 Fur Ball AMPS 98

Karen

Are you working today or are you at home with Mr. FB? Reason I ask is I wouldn't be surprised if he tries to earn that reduction today. :-D

ETA: just read through yesterday's condo. Hoping you or Greg can take a break from work and get a few checks in today. Have a great day!

You all are doing fantastic.
 
Re: 10/1 Fur Ball AMPS 98

UPDATE:

Fur Ball's SS says (+5) was a 48. Woohoo! Post if and when you want input on this cycle. Fabulous catch!

Congratulations on the reduction to what is basically the last possible dose for you guy!! Tonight's shot should be 1 drop :mrgreen: Had a quick chat with Sienne, Marje and Dyana. Four votes for the dose-shave to 1 drop.

This is AWESOME!!

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/1 Fur Ball AMPS 98

Thanks for the dosecrease note and posting! I'm at work and getting ready to go into a meeting but wanted to reply quickly.

My goodness. This has been quite the journey. Greg was able to go home at +5 and check him. Fur Ball had already eaten through all his food so Greg gave him MC during lunch and checked again at +6. BG was 69. Set more MC out for him. Hopefully he is close enough to nadir and will not drop much more over the afternoon. He won't be checked again until closer to +11. Darn jobs get in the way.

I think he's only getting a drop the way it is. Measuring such low doses is so hard. I totally understand trying to keep him on the juice as long as possible. Its probably harder on his beans, esp now that we are back to work. Fur Ball has been such a trooper. I think his ears are ready for a break though. :smile:

Thanks for the support and encouragement. I hope you are all doing well. I've not had much time to read up on posts the past couple days. Funny how quickly you get acquainted w/ people on this forum!

Later, Karen
 
Re: 10/1 Fur Ball AMPS 98

You're very welcome, guys, it's a pleasure.

Oh my, yes, this must be totally and utterly exhausting for you three! I can't say this often enough: You guys are rockstars for hanging in there like this!!! FurBall too, great little trooper kitty!

I'm so excited about your progress and where it's headed, and so, so swiftly you got here. Gruelling, absolutely, but it's just so amazing too :smile:

Watching in awe :mrgreen:
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/1 Fur Ball AMPS 98

After some back channel discussion, we figured we'd post our dilemma to you and let you decide. I think there's equal merit to keeping Fur Ball on "some" insulin (see image below) vs. starting an OTJ trial.
someinsulin-1.jpg

The pros of starting a trial is that Fur Ball is newly diagnosed. He is clearly communicating his thoughts about being on insulin. I interpret his intent as, "No more juice!"

The cons of a trial are that he's not been in green numbers like this for very long. It's been a matter of days not a week or two.

All of that said, I don't think there's a bad choice here. However, you know Fur Ball best. I think you need to go with what your gut tells you.
 
Re: 10/1 Fur Ball AMPS 98

Fantastic news! All three of you are doing so well!

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT KEEP IT UP FUR BALL!! GO! GO! GO! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 10/1 Fur Ball AMPS 98

More lovely green numbers for Fur Ball, :mrgreen: :mrgreen: you are all doing great! Fantastic job working in testing around work and its definitely paying off, you are already at the decision gate to finish the last step or jump to trial. I can't advise you but I will share my recent experience in case it helps. Jasper is impatient and he was clearly tired of insulin, and we beans were eager to get on with things too :roll: . The wise ones here encouraged me to not give him his last reducie when he earned it but instead to hold out a week on the itty bitty dose. I am no expert on this but I have studied almost all the active and OTJ spreadsheets here to get more understanding of how things go and ECID. Not scientific analysis, it appears to me that the cats who are able to hang in for a week on the last dose seem to have more success with their OTJ trial and beyond, more of those who step down in shorter increments or start trial with less time at dose seem to relapse. So, I took the advice to keep him on the tiny dose for the full week. Needed some BOS to shoot a 48 but things worked out, Jasper is OTJ and so far so good. ECID, you have to decide what is best for Fur Ball and yourselves. Just want to encourage you to consider going the full last lap if you can. Have a great evening!
Leslie
 
Re: 10/1 Fur Ball AMPS 98

Wow, how exciting that you are getting down to the last little bit. Good luck with the decision to hold on for a small dose or try an OTJ trial. I'm glad you got some sleep.
 
Thanks everyone. It was nice to see everyone's words of encouragement as well as input.

This has been quite the exciting adventure, and Fur Ball has definitely consumed us this past week. :smile: Of course, if it is to his benefit then its all worth it. We did the drop tonight. Time will tell where this takes us.

As long as it is still safe, we want to give him the best chance of remission. But, when does it become unsafe. Right now we do not have much flexibility in being able to check on him from shot until +5. And yet, he drops so much during that time period. My fear is he will go too low and we will not be home to catch it in time.

Guess we will be trying to test him as much as possible. But the sleep loss has caught up.

Chat later...Karen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top