10/1 Champ PMPS 307 - DS is fine!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/1 Champ AMPS 328, +2.5 215, +4 183 - taking DS to ER

I think Danielle got bitten by a spider last night. She has a big blister surrounded by red on her thigh. She went to work today, but it's getting worse so I think we need to get this checked out. I hope this isn't too bad because we have no health insurance!!
 
Re: 10/1 Champ AMPS 328, +2.5 215, +4 183 - taking DS to ER

I hope all is OK. Those spider bites can be really nasty - so red and swollen. Best to check it out. Good luck.

Champ sure is looking good, clearing the bounce nicely.
 
Re: 10/1 Champ AMPS 328, +2.5 215, +4 183 - taking DS to ER

Oh no! Good luck with Danielle! I'll be watching for an update Hope it goes ok.
 
Re: 10/1 Champ AMPS 328, +2.5 215, +4 183 - taking DS to ER

I'm copying your questions from my condo.

I never knew an acro cat could be on as low a dose as Jazzy. Is this a usual thing? I just saw a video over in health of an FDMB member who's acro cat made her local news. In the video, which was the newscast, she was talking about how big her cat's head and feet were, yet Champ's look bigger than that. I just never thought of it as being abnormal in a cat who's so big all over. I've never even considered getting Champ tested because his insulin needs are much lower than I would think would indicate acromegaly. Now I'm not so sure!! I'd love to hear your opinion.
I don't really know if this is a usual thing! Because the amount of growth hormone being put out by the tumor can wax and wane dramatically, acro cats are known to go through major fluctuations in dose. Occasionally they can even go on and off the juice. I wouldn't say I've seen many do this, though, unless they have had the SRT treatment. Jazzy got up to 14 units on Lantus, and her breakthrough dose on Lev was 13 units. Most of the time I've had her she was on 9-12 units, but once she started living in good numbers all the time, her dose really dropped. That is actually something we see all the time in LL with non-acro cats, so I don't know if this is due to a change in the growth hormone, or the pancreas healing, or something else. I also know that if it is due to the tumor, I could wake up tomorrow and see her insulin needs suddenly increase again and then I'll have to play catchup again.

About Champ, I wouldn't worry. In an ideal world, I would love to see EVERY diabetic cat tested for acromegaly. I would love to know if some of our lower dose cats have it too, and maybe it presents differently in them. In the real world, it's money that I wouldn't spend unless I had a reason to suspect acromegaly. The size of the cat is not reason enough to worry unless there are other things pointing that direction too.
 
Re: 10/1 Champ AMPS 328, +2.5 215, +4 183 - taking DS to ER

(((Patty and Danielle)))

Sending many prayers and healing vines that it's just a minor allergic rxn. Pls let us know when you get home.
 
Re: 10/1 Champ AMPS 328, +2.5 215, +4 183 - taking DS to ER

Patty, I hope that Danielle is OK. I get spider bites from being out in the garden, but they're small and not angy looking. Interesting what you asked about size and acromegaly. Champ seems to be doing well. Gus, not so much this week. I'll visit again tomorrow to see how your daughter (and you) are doing. Kisses to big ol' Champers.
 
We went to an Urgent Care. The doc didn't seem particularly concerned. Said if it gets worse to take the antibiotics she was going to give Danielle, but not to take them if things stayed the same. It sure looks ugly to not be nothing, though!!!
 
good thing you got it checked out - you never know about these kinds of things! i got stung by a scorpion once in guatemala and it swelled up for days afterwards, slowly but surely, before it finally peaked and started down. keep an eye on her, although she's no doubt going to be keeping an eye on it herself!
 
Sorry to hear about Danielle's bite, I hope it is all going well. You got me interested, since we have tones of spiders around here. This is a really interesting article. The antibiotic should only be necessary if the wound becomes infected, not for the bite itself.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top