10/1 Binks pmps 81 +1 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

mybuddybinks

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=53268

Hi, guys.

sorry for the abrupt departure from the forum on thursday, but my aunt passed away quite unexpectedly.
I got his SS caught up this morning...and blank pm cycle last night is not a mistake-
Add stalled shot times
to
late night spot checks (i had it EASY during the first lantus journey)...
top it off with 2 sleepless nights, and you get a Comatose Celi.
I sat down on the back patio steps with Annie on my lap...
and woke up 7 hours later when the sprinkler system kicked on. @-) I-) :shock: :o
Panic about binks unattended cycle...
relief at his +7 bg reading...
anger, betrayal & grudging admiration upon realizing that Lil Annie cuddled with me just long enough to put me under so she could steal my BLT sandwich!
It's been an emotional morning :lol:

SO... Planning for Tomorrow 10/2:
due to recent stalling, we are currently shooting four & a half hours later than his usual time.
He's not adapting well to the change...his already "off" appetite is totally out of whack; his sleep schedule, his LB timing, and his mood are all
suffering.

Thursday night with a pmps of 95 & thinking i might have to leave due to the family upset...
i aggressively (excessively aggressively, youll see) tried to bump his numbers, and his lack of response confuses me.
I really overcarbed him...

9/29 pmps 95 (I think the dose was short a cpl drops 1.25)
+1 73 13% hc and 2 big drops of karo
+2 52 13% hc and 1/4 tsp karo :shock: yes...1/4 tsp
+3 79 13%
+5 75
+7 71
+9 72
+11 130

9/30 amps 138 (dose again may have been a 1.25u)
+2 118
+3 94
+4 89
+5 81
+8 86
+11 126
pmps 110

tomorrow am...we will be leaving an hour before shot time, and will not be back in town until +8 or so.
with his recent lack of interest in food, and no one available to check on him AT ALL, including testing-
rather than BCS...i am inclined to skip his am shot,
then get back to his accustomed timing by shooting the pm shot 4 hrs early when i get back to town

Thoughts & input appreciated.

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- last couple days & plan for tomorrow

Hi Celi,

I'm a relative newbie, so no advice here. Just want to say I'm sorry to hear of your loss. Of course, nothing goes smooth at a time like this. Hang in there!
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- last couple days & plan for tomorrow

Sorry to hear about your aunt. :sad:

Looks like Binks is enjoying the greens - nice surfing yesterday :mrgreen:

Bumping you up for wiser eyes...
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- last couple days & plan for tomorrow

Hi Celi, I am very sorry about your aunt. Was she your mom's sister? Please convey our condolences to her too.

I don't want to give dosing advice either. Definitely one for an expert. Hope you and Binks are doing ok. I was wondering where you were when I didn't see your condo.
Liz & Anne
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- last couple days & plan for tomorrow

((((Celi)))) so sorry to hear about the loss of your aunt and you know Binks cat_pet_icon so I would go with your instincts on how to dose him while you are busy with family issues I am sure you will get him back on track in no time
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- last couple days & plan for tomorrow

Celi, I'm sorry for your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

Whatever is going on w/Binks shot...his bg's look like they aren't suffering to much and he's enjoying surfing those greens for the most part. I think that you can probably skip his am shot tomorrow, especially with those numbers. That way you can get him back on his schedule. If his bg's go higher, that's ok, they will come back down again. I had to skip Spot's shot last week due to me being away in the evening and he was fine.
Again, I'm sorry.


Hey Binksie, whuddup man?? Boy was I surprised when my bean came inda house today wit a enbalope wit my name on it!!! So, now Iz know what she haz been doin' wit her time lately! So, my mumz wanted me to tell ya tanks a lot and good luck?? whadevah dat means! I hearz dat deer is gonna be a big party at Camp Stu at da end of da month, so I'm in! c's you den!!! Lubs, Spot
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- last couple days & plan for tomorrow

I like how you use the word "plan," as though we actually have any ability to get these cats to follow a plan. :lol:

I'm sorry about your aunt. Under the circumstances, I think skipping a shot sounds like a good plan. It will only be about 8 hours late and will get you back on schedule. You need to move your shot time so you can sleep in a bed at night instead of on the steps.
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- last couple days & plan for tomorrow

My condolences, Celi.

I agree with Libby. Skipping sounds like the most reasonable solution.
Celi & binks said:
Lil Annie cuddled with me just long enough to put me under so she could steal my BLT sandwich!
I love your kitties!
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- last couple days & plan for tomorrow

Celi, so sorry to hear about your aunt and wishing you safe travels tomorrow.

I recently had to skip Simon's shot when I went out of town and he bounced right back to his usual self when I got back home. Definitely go with what your instincts are telling you to do. You know the Binkster best!
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- last couple days & plan for tomorrow

I think skipping the shot is a sensible plan as well! So sorry about your aunt... keeping you and your family in my thoughts and prayers.

And yes, your furbabies are HOOT!!
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- last couple days & plan for tomorrow

Morning Celi - I am so sorry to hear abut the loss of your aunt.

I am with the others - I think skipping the shot is in the best interest of you, and Binks. It will also let you get back into the time slot you want. Binks numbers are so great that I don't think it will affect him much.

Hugs to all!
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- amps 79 food question

Question: does Annie prefer her BLT sammich with mayo, or Miracle Whip? :lol:
No..actual question...
the ONLY food he will touch this am is a 10% elegant medleys.
long ago, a wise one shared with me her tactic of sprinkling kibble dust she made w/coffee grinder over the wet food to entice a reluctant eater.
said that the ingredient added to fortiflora that attracts kitties is the same that makes kibble so deadly addictive.
Wouldn't kibble dust in small amount sprinkled over 3% canned still be lower than 10%?
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- amps 79 food question

1. Definitely mayo.
2. Depends on how much dust. :-D Do you happen to use freeze dried treats? I've been enticing Willie to eat his BG with a sprinkle of purebites dust. :)

Heck, give it a try. If he spikes, well, then you know...
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- amps 79 food question

I had to skip Champ's shot last night because he's such a scaredy-cat with thunder and his numbers don't seem to be affected yet at all...go figure. I, like Christie, sprinkled a crushed piece of freeze-dried chicken breast on the foods Champ doesn't seem to want to eat...he always scarfs it right up!! Might be worth a try. If it doesn't work, I would think a light dusting of crushed kibble would be less than 10% wet food.
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- amps 79 food question

(((Celi)))) We are so very sorry to hear about your aunt and send you our deepest condolences and also to your mom. Pls let us know anything we can do for you. You have been there for us so many times.

Questions:

1. definitely mayo
2. agreed on the freeze dried chicken dust....miracle bribery in our household.

Sending hugs and many caring thoughts.
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- amps 79 food question

Celi, I am so sorry to hear about your Aunt; my condolences to you and the family. I guess freeze dried chicken is the right answer, but I bet kibble dust, just a little, would work, too. Have a safe trip.
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- amps 79 food question

I'd vote for mayo, too.

I'd experiment. Try FortiFlora, ground up kibble, parmesean cheese, bonito flakes, freeze dried chicken or salmon or whatever will work. I would think a bit of kibble dust over LC would be less than 10% carb.
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- amps 79 food question

So sorry to hear about your aunt Celi, will be keeping you and your family in my thoughts.

I don't have much advice in regard to sprinkling stuff on food. As I'm sure you remember, Muffin will NOT be fooled OR persuaded by such mundane tricks. Her brothers Kibby and Shnookie, on the other hand, will eat anything with Fortiflora on it. I no longer keep any dry food in the house, so haven't tried that. I had to even switch the drooler to canned food because Muffin WILL find it, shred the bag, and have a feast. :roll: :lol:

Good luck with skipping the shot tomorrow, I'm sure Binks will be happy to eating on time again :lol:
 
Re: 10/1 Binks- amps 79 food question

I totally agree! Mayo beats MW anyday (my favorite mayo is Trader Joe's Wasabi mayo, but it might be too spicy for Annie).

Celi, I am so sorry to hear of your aunt's passing. Please convey our sympathy to your family. Aunts can be so very special. My Auntie Elsie was always my favorite aunt and it turned out that she was the last link with my parent's generation (she died at age 99; I was her principal caregiver).

I think that Binks will start eating normally again once you get him back on his usual schedule. So skip the shot, get some sleep, and start over tomorrow. Put out the food that he likes. You can get back on track when you return. (But experiment tonight to see if he'll eat the kibble dust on the low-carb food.)

We'll be thinking of you and your family tomorrow. Have a safe trip.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/1 Binks amps 79 + 1 99 +2.5 92 +5 58 +6 60 +7 54 +9 9

celi, i'm so sorry about your aunt. i hope your time with your family is good and healing for all of you.

for binks - i had punkin 4.5 hrs off schedule and we made it a few of days with him howling for his food on schedule before i abandoned all effort at moving him back and just skipped a shot. you can't violate the Feed Me Contract without expecting repercussions! :lol:
 
Re: 10/1 Binks amps 79 + 1 99 +2.5 92 +5 58 +6 60 +7 54 +9 9

Oh lord...i'm gonna tell binks the laptop is broken!
This condo would provide dangerous ammo for his "Carb-age...Schmarb-age" speech... :? :lol:

I did put my foot down at his +9 snack, and reminded him of the "Hard Times in Lantus Land"-
when we found out that the +9 was NOT a fundamental, inherent Sugarcat Right-
but a privilege...and could be revoked!
Actually...with a lot of mixing, adding, pleading, coaxing, and some interpretive dance thrown in-
he ate the 3%.

AND...if he's still being a picky pants tomorrow...i'll play the "mom-guilt" card and tell him the reason I'm leaving
is his refusal to eat the right foods... ;-)

love all the suggestions and input, guys. i've been unable to get to the store today...but will go in the am
before we all head north.

Anne!!! this is so funny!! we were laughing about capturing hilarious cat behavior on video,
and the "Muffin Throws Her Food Dish " video made the TOP 10!
good to see you :-D

And heartfelt thanks for all the kind thoughts.
haven't had a chance to visit any condos...
I feel like I'm behind on the important day to day.

Well...we have relatives staying here overnight, so I best get back to hostessing
rather than doing what I want to and hanging out here.. :cry:

restful and healthy night to you all...


Das rite, idle beans..U dizcuz ma foodiez all u wantz..
De B knoez whut De B wantz!!
 
I am so sorry to hear about your Aunt.

Also, get your rest. You must be terribly tired to fall asleep and stay asleep until sprinklers wake you...what a shocker!
 
{{{{{{{{{{CELI}}}}}}}}}} I'm so very sorry to hear about your aunt. Please accept my condolences. {{{{{{{{{{EXTREMEHUGS}}}}}}}}}}

On another note... VERY NICE :mrgreen: :mrgreen:s this morning!!! WTG!!!!! :-D I hope that he surfs for you NICELY (got it, Mr. Binks?) for you today.

Please try and get some rest, too. Your health is just as important. {{{{{HUGS}}}}}
 
Celi we are so sorry to hear about your aunt. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: to you and your family. By now you have skipped and are maybe even headed back. We did the same w/ Tess yesterday and she is right back on track already! Binks will get right back to business too, especially when the fuds start coming on time again!
 
Hi Celi,

So sorry to hear about your Aunt. Sounds like you've had a tough last few days. Hope my Buddy gets back on track soon for you. You'll be in my thoughts.

(((Celi and family)))
 
Celi- I'm also very sorry to hear about the passing of your Aunt. It sounds like you've got a lot on your plate right now with family and travel. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

I'm glad that Mr. Binks seems to be cooperating on the BG front. But Binksy, you gosta eat the LC Fuds- it's good for you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top