10/1 Angie pmps=355 +3=245 +4.5=337

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL,

Little cat is still stinky pink. I'll get a +3 and +5 this morning to see if she's staying flat. This is our 6th cycle on 0.5 U. If I get that +3 and +5 and don't get any big I been testing enough to go to 0.75? There wont be anyone on the board by the time I need to shoot this evening (5 am in New York).

It seems like 0.5 hasn't worked as well as 0.25. I hope that's not because she's going low and I'm not catching it.

Yesterday's condo.

Thanks for your help once again.

Grace
 
Re: 10/1 Angie amps=328 time for another increase?

I agree on the increase if you don't see green today. Sometimes kitties have an initial reaction to insulin that doesn't sustain itself. Good luck on the increase.
 
Re: 10/1 Angie amps=328 time for another increase?

Thanks Wendy,

That makes sense. Our vet said that because this is her third time on insulin we should expect to need a higher dose. I was just scared of Angie's past cliff diving and emergency-vet-hypo-dash and wanted to start low and increase to be on the safe side. I'm looking forward to seeing green. :-D

Grace
 
Re: 10/1 Angie amps=328 time for another increase?

Sorry about the pink. It sounds like a dosecrease if a good idea if you don't catch some lower numbers. You don't want to wait too long to increase. I hope you find a good dose for her soon.
 
Re: 10/1 Angie amps=328 time for another increase?

What dose was Angie at when she was on insulin before? My understanding is that it's common for cats to need more than what they used in previous rounds on insulin. I agree that it's ok to try a 0.25u increase for her.
 
Re: 10/1 Angie amps=328 time for another increase?

Hi Grace ~O) ~O) ~O) I too would think that an increase is in order, and should be OK. I have read too that she may need more this go around. Good luck with the increase!
 
Re: 10/1 Angie pmps=355 +3=245

Thanks Wendy, Carla, Julie, and Michelle. I increased her dose to 0.75 U this evening. Fingers crossed I find the right dose for her soon. I'd really like to see more blues and I'll have a little party for her first green. :)

Julie - the first time Angie was on insulin we weren't home testing. The second time round, after a month on 1U, I was not happy with her symptoms (I felt like she was going low - I have hypoglycaemia too so I recognised the symptoms). I found FDMB and it took less than 3 weeks for her to go OTJ, starting out on 1 U and reducing every 2 days till she got to 0.1 units! Last time she started on 0.25 U, held that for 3 weeks and then was on 0.1 units for 3 weeks. Prior to this time around, we had never increased a dose and since starting home testing she had only had two yellow readings and never a pink one. It's clearly a different game this time. I just need to learn how to play it! Hopefully I'll have a blue-green kitty again soon.
 
Re: 10/1 Angie pmps=355 +3=245

Hi Grace ~O) ~O) ~O)

Good luck with the new dose. I hope Angie will like it. Think down Angie, the blues are much better!

Have a great day today. I hope all goes well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top