10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500, +2 360, +8 368, PMPS 402, +7 499

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500

Here's your post from yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26356

We usually copy and paste the link to yesterday's post into our first condo for the day, so that people helping you and easily click on the "yesterday's" links to scroll back to a certain day, rather than searching through the board to look for it.

Do you work Monday through Friday, and get the weekends off? I'm not saying it's so, but Maybe, you'll be advised to increase Ginger's insulin sooner than Monday. Hang in there Ginger's Mommy.
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500

Good luck! We had those depressing numbers not long ago and there's nothing fun about them...but hopefully they will pass and with it some of the stress on you. It's never fun to see a 500 pop up on the meter!
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500

I am not working at all, but we are not home on Friday and Saturday evenings.

Has anyone ever increased the first time by 1/2 unit rather than 1/4 unit?
My syringes are the 1 unit increments.
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500

I buy ReliOn Insulin Syringes ($12.58 for 100) at WalMart with half unit marks. You should buy some syringes with 1/2 unit marks on them. They are also available on Hocks.com.
The dose question will need to be anwered by those with more dose experience.
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500

While you're at WalMart, if you go there; you should also pick up some Ketone Test Strips, if you don't already have them.
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500

Great suggestions from Dyana. If there's not a Walmart in your area, Hocks (see the button at the top of the Board) has their house brand of syringes (GNP) that are in 1/2 unit increments and cost $15.50.

You can increase prior to Monday if you want. Generally, for the initial dose of Lantus, you hold the dose for 5 - 7 days.

You asked in Shadow's condo:
Ginger's Mom said:
Ok, I am confused about the insulin too. I thought it only lasted 28-30 days...and then you have to open a new vial or pen. is that not true? (I am only on day 5 of lantus and very new to all this)

Yes and no. If you read the formal version of the dosing protocol (Tilly Protocol), the members of the German FD forum note that many people have been able to use their Lantus for up to 6 mos. I don't think I recall many people here who's Lantus has lasted that long. However, people do get longer than the 28 days that the manufacturer recommends. That said, many of us do swap out pens after 28 days. I very rarely go beyond the 28 day point since for whatever reason, Gabby seems very sensitive to the age of the insulin.
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500

sorry to see such high numbers for ginger ... I hope she comes down for you today ... and we also swap out pens at 28 days .. mocha can rarely make it to 28 days before her numbers get crazy but we try to keep it a consistent 28 days before we change pens.
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500

Since I'm slightly less new here than you are (welcome by the way, the people on here are BRILLIANT!) - you may not realize that when referring to the Lantus Pens, folks buy them instead of the vial, (each pen holds a lot less than one vial so the others can be stored unopened, kwim?) but they still use a regular syringe with them to inject the insulin (the pens have a rubber port just like the vial does, that you can pierce with a syringe needle). Making sense?
(Edit : I see you've been here longer than I thought so forgive me if I was being presumptuous!)
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500, +2 360

You can do this yourself and not pay the vet for a urinalysis. Ketone strips are inexpensive. All you need to do is stalk Ginger to the litterbox, get a bit of her urine on the strip, wait 15 seconds, and match the color on the strip to the key on the container and you have your results!
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500, +2 360

Morning Ginger and Mommy

I am on my third vial since Shadow and I started this adventure. This first two vials pooped out rather dramatically and her numbers shot sky high around day 28 and with no other changes to our routine, I figured it had to be the Lantus. This time however, I'm not seeing a change in her numbers at all yet so I'm gonna ride this out. She has been in the greens so much that when she begins to stay in the blues I'm going to figure my vial of Lantus is old and change to my next supply. I bought the cartridges this next time and they are waiting in the frig for whenever that day comes.

nice drop for Ginger from the 500. C'mon Ginger, come on down from there. Pink is not your color.
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500, +2 360

In January, Ginger was diagnosed as Diabetic, after one shot of insulin - the vet changed the diagnosis. Said she was not diabetic.
I even took her to the Vet Specialists for extensive blood work and ultra sounds, and they also said she was not diabetic and could find nothing else wrong.

As of Sept 6, she was re-diagnosed from a different vet as Diabetic.
She went on Humulin N, with erratic numbers (up and down drastically) She felt just awful.

This is her 5th day on Lantus, so I am new to Lantus.
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500, +2 360

Do you know if the original vet or the specialty practice vet ran a serum fructosamine level? The fructosamine test gives an average of BG levels over a 2 - 3 week period and is considered a good diagnostic test for diabetes. It's certainly possible that Ginger had elevated BG levels at the vet. Vet stress is not an uncommon cause for high numbers that then come down at home. It's why it's best to not have your cat get a curve at the vet's office -- numbers can be inflated sue to stress.
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500, +2 360

Nice drop for Ginger! Tinkles sat in the 500-600+ range for most of the first couple of weeks after diagnosis, I know it's hard to see those high numbers! We all hate them. I hope you will see some nicer numbers very soon. Hang in there, it will happen!

With those high numbers though, it really is important to keep an eye out for ketones, so I would go get the ketostix and try to test daily until Gingers numbers start staying in the lower ranges, below 300 or so. Ketones can become a very expensive, possibly fatal, medical emergency very quickly, so it's important to know if she starts to throw them so you can avoid that situation. If you catch it early, you can treat at home, so consider it a small insurance policy. ;-)
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500, +2 360

Sienne and Gabby said:
Do you know if the original vet or the specialty practice vet ran a serum fructosamine level? The fructosamine test gives an average of BG levels over a 2 - 3 week period and is considered a good diagnostic test for diabetes. It's certainly possible that Ginger had elevated BG levels at the vet. Vet stress is not an uncommon cause for high numbers that then come down at home. It's why it's best to not have your cat get a curve at the vet's office -- numbers can be inflated sue to stress.


No, neither the regular vet or the Specialty clinic ran the serum fructosamine level test.
You'd think paying $1600, that would have been done.

After I was told she was not diabetic, I tested her at home 3 times in the next few weeks and her levels were about 95.
She was eating very little at the time tho and was lethargic.
 
Re: 10/1/10 Ginger AMPS 500, +2 360

Kim 'n Shadow said:
Morning Ginger and Mommy


nice drop for Ginger from the 500. C'mon Ginger, come on down from there. Pink is not your color.


Maybe I should remove her PINK collar and get her a BLUE one (with flowers of course) lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top