10/09 Rufus PMPS 107, +1 135

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuBee

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Wild Ride

Weeeeell, this morning is rolling along smoother than yesterday's. Rufus is at 153... I asked him if he called that a bounce and he gave me one of these: dancing_cat . Whatever that means. Purring, eating, pottying, and generally being a good boy.

WHR: Went to bed early last night and STILL didn't want to wake up this morning. But, we went to bed on a nasty note, anyway. With John-Finn sitting behind me on the chair (not Tess), Rufus went up to sniff him. Something rude must have been said, because before I could even realize what was happening I had claws in my arm pushing me out of the way so John-Finn could get at Rufus.

To call them "punctures" would be an understatement. They are three ugly, bruised gouges. Was in tears. The cats did not have any contact, though - so I was the only casualty. Cleaned it up well and took the little boy to his room. Didn't have the heart to go back down so I crashed. We'll have a better day today. I'm hanging out with the dog, lol.

Suppose it's alright to start at Rufus' usual +3 and see where that puts us?
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153

Good morning Bee!

must of been something in the air, cuz last nite civvie Bast turned Luna into Scarface again :lol: well, he asked for it!

+3 sounds ok, but you know a +2 might be good too, I can't decide! How about both? :razz:

Have a good day guys!
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153

Nice AMPS Rufus...sorry about your arm Bee...did you put any neosporin on it or anything to be sure you got it cleaned out real well? How does your arm look this morning? Keep an eye on it, won't you?
Good luck with the dosecrease!
I am a curious person, so I would be looking to see where the numbers are all the time....but whatever you want to do, that's okay I guess. I see Ronnie posted...my sentiments exactly!
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153

Great amps for Rufus wish those boys of yours would call a truce and get along I know how frustrating it is when cats will not like one another take care of that arm and I would make sure to keep antibiotic cream of some kind on it.
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +2 103

... Oh, please, please, Rufus - FLOAT! Two Heavy Testing Days in a row is not nice to do to your Mudder - OR your ears. ohmygod_smile I'll get a +3 and probably a +4 if he holds steady. If he drops significantly by +3... I'll kick pebbles in the driveway for a minute and come back for lots of F-U-N, FUN.

Oh yeah, arm is cleaned up and gooey with bacitracin. Nothing like getting antibiotic jelly all over yourself because you forgot to bring over a paper towel... only to discover that someone used the last bandage and put the box back in the cabinet. Worse - the knowledge that it was probably you. :lol:
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +2 103

these kitties need some peace talks! why is it we all of a sudden qualify as collateral damage?

hope your day goes well...

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +2 103, +3 57

Peace talks may do it - I'm sure this is all just a misunderstanding, BUT... I wonder if LC would have done it (which I didn't do)... because he's close to 50 points down. Gee, I think he hit onset, :lol: .

(I just had to prevent a fight this moment!)

Ok... I was sort of counting on NOT having a hypo again, because I'm clearly not as equipped as I thought I was going into this. Eh, 'don't count your chickens' and all that business. Well... I'd like to get him back up before he even considers the 40s. Any ideas? (We tried dog food about an hour before he started to rise again. That may have been coincidental, as it was also close to his normal PM rise, but maybe a dab of that would help boost him into Normal?)

Going to check again at +3.25
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +2 103, +3 57

Thanks. It looks like he's really protesting insulin now. (And here I thought I was joking when I made the "down with the juice!" post).
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +2 103, +3 57, 47

Good god - We're doing it AGAIN. Does anyone think this may be stress? I know we tend to associate high levels with stress, but Rufus doesn't like it when my mother leaves - he always acts depressed. This is the first time I've been able to see the effect it has on his BGLs, though.

Edit:

Also tried a little karo - oops. He's wised up to that trick and starts biting now. Hard.
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +2 103, +3 57, 47, 44

44 - Gave the gravy dog food - it's got to be higher in carbs than the other one. He's holding steady for now. For some reason the other animals can't behave today like they did yesterday. It's a zoo in here.
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +2 103, +3 57, 47, 44

Very nice #'s for Rufus today. I'm sorry that you're a casualty of "war", Bee. I hope that your arm is looking and feeling better today. :)
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +2 103, +3 57, 47, 44

Any dry takes longer to work Bee...the HC gravy is the best way to get his numbers up.
Do you have at all???
Maybe a drop or two of Karo in the HC gravy would be good.]
Please give him that and retest in 15 minutes, okay?
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +2 103, +3 57, 47, 44

If you don't have HC cat food in the house, use a couple of drop of Karo to bump numbers up. If you look at Gabby's SS, I do this all the time.
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +2 103, +3 57, 47, 44

Looks like a morning for gravy and testing. karo will work too - i too use it for Mannie when I need things to rise. Good luck - and no lower Rufus, that 44 is low enough. Good luck Bee - I hope he comes up soon, and has great surf.
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +2 103, +3 57, 47, 44

I'm not using dry dog food, it's wet with gravy. His latest number is 41. I'll mix some karo in it next.
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +2 103, +3 57, 47, 44, 41

Will do (next time). I'm so harried right now, trying to wrangle (put John-Finn up in his room - he's making a racket now). I don't think I'm really reading. Slowing down now.
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +3 57, 41 +4 43

Try a couple of drops of Karo or corn syrup and mix it up in the wet food. I did that with Blackie yesterday when she got too low, and it worked well as it brought her up, but not quickly up.

Praying that things calm down for you today. *HUGS*
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +3 57, 41 +4 43

is the dog food gravy a wheat gluten (or similar) gloppy gravy like the cat food gravy, or is it more like juice? I have no idea what the carb count is, but it seems like it would be better to go with a known quantity. If you don't have any, then you can make do for now.
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +3 57, 41 +4 43

+4: 43.

Dog food gravy greatly resembles the thick, semi-opaque variety of gravy that we use at Thanksgiving (and that turns my stomach). I'll try to MacGyver myself some HC with the LC + Karo and see what it does for us. How much karo to how much food would be best? I've always fed in teaspoon increments, but I could up that.

(Thank you, Angela (and everyone else), this is wild, but he's awfully stubborn about 40. I think it's his favorite number, or something. I'll keep at it, anyway. We're not TOO far away from his nadir.)
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +3 57, 41 +4 43

Try a teaspoon of gravy, and 2 drops of karo for now, then test in about 20-30 minutes. If #'s don't go up by then, do another tsp and 2 drops. Not sure if you want a fast rise, or a slow rise in #'s. IMHO, I prefer the slow rise as I think it's easier on our kitties.

We look forward to the next updates. You'll do fine. :) *HUGS*

(And you're most welcome. :) )
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +3 57, 41 +4 43

I tend to think a teaspoon of Karo would be a lot. I'd use about 3 drops -- Karo can come out of the bottle in big drops.
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +3 57, 41 +4 43, 57

57 :shock: Maybe three drops in... I don't know how much dog food (I spooned it in - couldn't find any of my tsp measuring spoons) were too many. Or maybe my drops were too big. I hope this turns into a trend for the day. Maybe that dog food will be able to hold him, like it usually does. *crossfingers*

(Oh! I wouldn't use a teaspoon of the karo, lol. Rufus is sensitive to anything that goes in his mouth. A nibble here, a drop there, and it's ALL over his SS.)
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +3 57, 41 +4 43, 57, 76

Ok... 76. Now he's rising so fast, I think I know to cool off on the karo a little bit. Maybe two drops, and keep 'em little. But this is a double whammy, right? He's being hit by both the karo and the dog food. The karo will wear off fairly shortly and leave the dog food to do its work, right?

In the meantime, he'll take a nap in the sunshine, thank you very much.

Giving him (...and myself) a break, testing next at +5.
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +3 57, 41 +4 43, 57, 76

Can you stock up on a gravy-based HC cat food? Over the longer term, dog food really isn't good for kitties. It's ok in an emergency if you don't have cat food. I order Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers by the case from PetFood Direct.
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus AMPS 153, +3 57, 41 +4 43, 57, 76

I sure will. What we did was stock up on the wrong food! Well, at least we could improvise. His +5 reading is 102. I would have loved for him to surf lower today, but I'm much more comfortable with him in the blue, as opposed to falling like a rock. I'll get a +9 & +11 for good measure.

Did this earn him another decrease? Because I am definitely not comfortable shooting 1.00... not right now, anyway. That he did both of these immediately after my mother left, I believe, is no coincidence. I'd bet he'll be back to normal once she returns on Monday - unless he just really wants to go lower with his dose. Who knows. For now, I'll be drawing insulin with a light hand, I think.
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus PMBG #1: 97

That may look nice, but I think he's proven that his instinct today says "Let's Play Hypo!", and I've already reached my daily quota of that. He'd have to be in the 200s at PMPS for me to give his full dose. If he stays in this range I'm BCSing this. If he's 300+ when I wake up, you won't hear any whining from me, but I'm exhausted and I have no one here to tag-team with me, so taking a risk isn't a good idea, for his sake. (I can't go to sleep for an hour at a time and wake up to an alarm. The medication I'm on just doesn't work that way. Once I'm out, I'm out for the night :sad: ).

That being said, we had a pretty good afternoon. No fights, no aggressive behavior. I put my jacket on the window seat, where Rufus likes to bird watch. That seemed to make him happy - he would always give John-Finn nasty looks when he was sleeping on it. He's got his chubby little rear perched on it right now, actually.

Taking a cue from the boys and sitting down to rest until PMPS time. Whew. What a day. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus PMBG #1: 97

What a day you have had today. Nice job on handling the low numbers.

And sorry to hear that you got in the middle of a cat fight yesterday...Ouchie...

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 10/09 Rufus PMPS 107

107 PMPS. Giving 0.75u. BIIIIIG CS dose. Checking at +1.
 
Technically that was his new dose though Bee...not a BCS dose. That is 2 reductions in as many days. He is really on a mission, eh? Just watch him with this new .75u dose to see that he is holding the reduction. If he starts going up and a few days, you can go back to the 1.0u. Never know till you try to lowered dose, right? :mrgreen:
Wishing you all the best with this. Good job today!
 
I hope 135 is a good-enough food spike for tonight. We'll see how he's doing at +2.

It was difficult getting that PMPS, though - My neighbor and her daughter came over to check on me, lol. We had a nice long chat about medical conditions in pets (she works in a veterinary office) and when it came time for dinner, Rufus was hiding oh-so-cleverly on a dining room chair that was tucked under the table. I searched the whole house before I found him there.

The PMPS post was so short because we were still chatting.

As of now, Rufus is calmed down and checking the house out to make sure nothing changed while he was hiding. Granmudder is still missing. Everyone is fed, and now we're winding down. I am praying for a steady night for my big boy. Unless he's wildly high tomorrow morning, I think I'll keep the dose at .75 for the time being. I know - it'll cause all sorts of "AHH!" in Rufus' little system, but I think we need to avoid the Hypopotamus. Maybe Rufus will go back to normal when Granmudder gets home and we can resume the 1.00u, maybe he'll like the .75 and we'll stay there.

Hypopotamus = :cry:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top