10-09 Pretty Girl - AMPS 478 - PMPS 304 - Dosing help please

Pretty Girl ate turkey this morning. Obviously not a complete diet but is what she would eat today. She ate “some” - no way to compare the quantity to the usual amount of wet food she eats. She got a half dose this morning.

She doesn’t seem nauseated- she is enthusiastic for turkey and treats. But seems to not care for any of the half dozen wet food options I offfer. I’ve thrown away an awful lot of food in the last few days that she turns her nose up at. @Bobbie And Bubba i will get the things you suggested in yesterday’s condo. I’m also going to the store to buy more options of LC canned food.

I’m thinking about taking her in for subq fluids today. I don’t want any serious problems to develop because she is eating less and may be getting dehydrated. They sometimes give some liquid B12 towards the end. It’s extremely stressful for both of us but she usually feels much better. She had 150-175 units (?) of fluid 2 weeks ago today. Would this be a good idea?
 
I did not test Pretty Girl during the day today although I’m sure I should have. We are both burned out on it.

She was not good overnight but was much better this morning.

She’s had 2 fur shots, 2 no shots and this morning a half dose which is .75 due to not eating so much. PMPS is 304 which is definitely high but not the 400-600+ we’ve been dealing with.

Also she ate a good bit at +9.5. Since she is free feed I didn’t stop her.

I’m not comfortable giving her the current whole dose of 1.5 tonight. What about a half dose? Can I get some expert help please?

@Bobbie And Bubba @Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
I had to decide because I was about to miss the window for giving a shot tonight. I gave 1/2 dose @ .75. I don't know if that was right but it's what I was comfortable doing.

Pretty Girl and her BFF SweetPea seem to have sworn off wet canned food. For now, turkey is where it's at. This can't go on forever but it is what's now. I've ordered some unique flavors of canned food and we will see. Also I ordered the Fortiflora. I didn't yet find meat only baby food but will keep looking.
 
I'm sorry Jean I just popped back on and saw your tag. Is she still not eating well for you and that's why you stayed with the reduced dose?
 
I had to decide because I was about to miss the window for giving a shot tonight. I gave 1/2 dose @ .75. I don't know if that was right but it's what I was comfortable doing.

Pretty Girl and her BFF SweetPea seem to have sworn off wet canned food. For now, turkey is where it's at. This can't go on forever but it is what's now. I've ordered some unique flavors of canned food and we will see. Also I ordered the Fortiflora. I didn't yet find meat only baby food but will keep looking.
The all meat baby food will be in the small jars, I think they are 3 oz.

ETA: And that answered my question about her appt still being off. It's funny that they both went off their canned food. Cats. Sigh .
 
I had to decide because I was about to miss the window for giving a shot tonight. I gave 1/2 dose @ .75. I don't know if that was right but it's what I was comfortable doing.

Pretty Girl and her BFF SweetPea seem to have sworn off wet canned food. For now, turkey is where it's at. This can't go on forever but it is what's now. I've ordered some unique flavors of canned food and we will see. Also I ordered the Fortiflora. I didn't yet find meat only baby food but will keep looking.

I have looked everywhere for just the meat baby food, and I really believe they have quit making it :( It seems like all they have is stage 2 and that has other things in with it. I do have Fortiflora for my Taco, but, all he did was lick it off the top, and not eat anything else :( I had to put it away,it was like kitty crack to him, in fact he still remembers it from months ago,if he thinks I have some, he quits eating and looks at me,like,whatcha got? and all I have is something in my hand that makes like a crinkly noise. I say sorry buddy,but not crack, it is also constipating, so if you have problems with that, be careful.
I did find a food that got him eating,if your kitty can have fish, It's called Beyond Char and spinach (2 carbs), I just ordered 2 more cases, but, like everything else, he's decided he doesnt want that now, so there goes $50, or the other 2 get to have it. What fun :banghead:
 
I had to decide because I was about to miss the window for giving a shot tonight. I gave 1/2 dose @ .75. I don't know if that was right but it's what I was comfortable doing.

Pretty Girl and her BFF SweetPea seem to have sworn off wet canned food. For now, turkey is where it's at. This can't go on forever but it is what's now. I've ordered some unique flavors of canned food and we will see. Also I ordered the Fortiflora. I didn't yet find meat only baby food but will keep looking.

I've just found this online, if that helps, httw.amazops://wwn.com/Beech-Nut-Stage-Meats-Turkey-Broth/dp/B00PQ5JTEC
 
The all meat baby food will be in the small jars, I think they are 3 oz.

ETA: And that answered my question about her appt still being off. It's funny that they both went off their canned food. Cats. Sigh .
Actually her appetite was good tonight AFTER the shot like right after and only for turkey -lots of turkey- not canned food or much of anything else. And a treat or two.

I know we don’t willy nilly change the Lantus dose but after 5 (? Have to study my sheet again) cycles with so little insulin her high is considerably less high (mostly) than when I was giving the 1.5. What’s up with that? That and the eating less and the eating at +9.5 and only eating turkey are why I stayed with the reduced dose. As I said I don’t know that it was the right thing to do. This is all so very stressful - knowing what to do or not do and worrying about over dosing or under dosing :arghh::arghh::arghh:
 
Last edited:
The all meat baby food will be in the small jars, I think they are 3 oz.

ETA: And that answered my question about her appt still being off. It's funny that they both went off their canned food. Cats. Sigh .
Thanks for the help.:bighug::bighug:

They both went off their canned food because they are the “monkey see monkey do” twins. Not kidding. They watch what the other eats or doesn’t eat and do accordingly.
 
Last edited:
Sorry I missed the tag earlier on yesterday's post about the increase. It's Canadian Thanksgiving weekend, I've been with family.

Unfortunately it's really hard to tell what this dose is doing for Pretty Girl. The depot should have at least six cycles at the same dose for us to say what this dose is doing. But there are a lot of skips and fur shots in there. Not blaming, just saying it makes it hard to suggest what to do because we don't have good data. For now, since you have seen numbers below 150, I would hold the dose as per SLGS.

By the way, you could have shot at least a 1/2 dose tonight, to help preserver the depot a bit. Not all insulin goes to combat the carbs om food. Even kitties who cannot eat because they are getting anesthesia are recommended to get a half dose. Next time Pretty Girl isn't eating what you want, instead of skipping, try a half dose. You probably could have shot the full dose cause she's so high, but work your way up to it.
Thank you. :bighug: This is helpful.
 
Is it BeechNut Turkey and Turkey brith?
 

Attachments

  • 4B8B7CF5-7DCD-446E-A9EF-991C22461EBC.jpeg
    4B8B7CF5-7DCD-446E-A9EF-991C22461EBC.jpeg
    35.2 KB · Views: 72
Back
Top