10/09 Micky AMPS 84 Dose ?

SierraBreez

Member Since 2026
Micky went to the vet on 10/07/26 for a fructosamine test. Her results were 289. The vet said anything under 300 was very good glucose control.

She was diagnosed with diabetes on 7/08/26, where she was on vetsulin from the 15th at 1 unit 2x daily. Her numbers went from the 400 and 500s BG in the beginning, to 100 to 300 BG before we switched her to Glargine.

On 08/27/26 Micky was switched to Glargine to give her a more steady curve. It did that like he said, and her numbers have not been above 200 since. And in the last month or so her numbers have rarely went above 130.

We use a pet specific meter at home, Pettest meter. She used to eat dry Purina kibble her whole life, switching to a senior version about 2 years ago. After her diagnosis about 2 or 3 weeks later we transitioned her to strictly wet food. She now eats Fancy feast and sometimes nine lives. We attribute the change to strictly wet food to probably being the major cause for her lower numbers now besides the insulin itself.

Initially when we switched her to Glargine 1 unit she dropped low, and wound up missing three shots in a row after her initial dose. She wound up throwing up just liquid that next morning. She seemed fine after we gave her a half a dose for her second shot of Glargine that day. We stuck with half a dose from then on. There was another incident where she wound up missing two shots in a row and she puked liquid again. So we have since always tried to make sure that she never missed two in a row. The vet claims that's unrelated but I'm not so sure. And we did use ketone strips to make sure she wasn't going into ketosis.

Our vet has proven that he does not know much about feline diabetes and he sent an email to my friend showing that he looked up remission procedures through AI!

He instructed us now that her numbers are under good control that, we can go down to one shot a day of the 0.5 units to wean her off insulin and watch what her numbers do. He says do that for about a week. And if her numbers stay consistently below 200 that we can take her off the insulin and then keep monitoring. My friend started the weaning 10/08/26, no p.m. shot. This morning her number was 84 and she wouldn't eat good so she wound up missing a second shot.

Being our vet doesn't know much, it concerns me a little whether this is the proper weaning procedure. I don't want Micky to throw up again from weaning too quickly, and I want her pancreas to have the best chance of being healed. The syringe is hard enough to measure 0.5 units so it would be quite difficult to measure anything lower, but maybe.

I see conflicting stuff all over the internet, so I don't know what the best course of action is. Any advice would be appreciated in helping Micky wean off her insulin. Is this a good way to wean her off the insulin (1x daily 0.5u)?
 
Is it possible for you to get tests somewhere in the middle of the cycle, ie. 4-7 hours after the shot? We determine how to dose Lantus based on how low the dose takes the cat, and that is typically in the middle somewhere between the shots.
 
Is it possible for you to get tests somewhere in the middle of the cycle, ie. 4-7 hours after the shot? We determine how to dose Lantus based on how low the dose takes the cat, and that is typically in the middle somewhere between the shots.
I can ask my friend to do that, but we have been trying to give Micky's ears a break, they are pretty marked up since we aren't always good at getting blood. Her ears have been more sensitive lately.

Will giving those readings help for weaning though? Also she missed her morning shot today, and last night she didn't get the PM shot because of starting weaning. So at this point it won't be 4 to 7 hours it will be 24 plus.
 
Can you get a new bag of syringes with half unit markings? You might not need an entire box. We find it's really helpful to ensure a lasting remission for the cat to gradually reduce the dose, meaning the next step would be a 0.25 unit dose. We usually recommend a 0.1 unit dose after the 0.25 unit one. And no, the once a day of 0.5 units is not how it's done.

Will giving those readings help for weaning though?
Those tests will tell you if the dose is too high and needs to be reduced. It'll help keep the cat safe. You only need to do the test if she's had insulin.
 
So if I'm understanding you correctly, you mean instead of the 0.5 dose once a day, do 0.25u twice a day? And then do that same thing going to .10u twice a day?

It's very tricky to even figure out the half dose cuz there's barely anything there, I tried looking at that one chart thing but it didn't help much so I'm not sure how we would do 0.25 and .10, especially the last one. And what would one do after the .10 dose? Would they go down to once a day after a while of that?
 
You have it correct. If numbers are in normal blood sugar range at 0.1 units, then we try an "off the juice" or OTJ trial to see how she does without insulin.

Lots of good light and magnifiers help. You can get craft head lamps that have both, though I didn't use one I can see how it would be handy. My cat needed larger doses. Some people use digital calipers to measure, but you'd still need to be able to see small amounts.
 
You have it correct. If numbers are in normal blood sugar range at 0.1 units, then we try an "off the juice" or OTJ trial to see how she does without insulin.

Lots of good light and magnifiers help. You can get craft head lamps that have both, though I didn't use one I can see how it would be handy. My cat needed larger doses. Some people use digital calipers to measure, but you'd still need to be able to see small amounts.
How long does one usually go before switching the doses, is it about a week like the vet said?
 
You can read through the Dosing Sticky Note for details, but the answer does depend on what dosing method you are following. We have two dosing methods. A dose is reduced if the cat goes below what we call our reduction point, which is either below 90 or 68, depending on the dosing method. For the Tight Regulation Dosing Method, the dose can also be reduced if they go a week in normal blood sugar values. There are some variations for cats diabetic longer than a year, or those that don't hold reductions well.
 
Back
Top