10/09 Mai, AMPS 347, +2 389, +6 211, +8 109, PMPS 66, +2 141, +4 166

Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...103-6-115-8-208-9-331-10-523-pmps-542.294737/

Let's see what he does today. With nadirs over, 90 in the last 3 days, you have room to increase.

You could take a break from tests till PMPS. Give his ears a rest.

Thank you for following up on him! Truly appreciate it. I did take a mental break but tested him at +6. It was 211 so pretty happy about it.

I also took a personal break too...had like 100 emails to respond haha
 
Looks like he decided he wants you to test him! That drop is the second half of the cycle is a surprise after that higher +2!
Not the first time a cat has reacted to the threat of an increase!

Did you feed after that 211 and 109? Any more tests after?
(Btw, that 109 in your SS would be coloured blue and not green)
 
Looks like he decided he wants you to test him! That drop is the second half of the cycle is a surprise after that higher +2!
Not the first time a cat has reacted to the threat of an increase!

Did you feed after that 211 and 109? Any more tests after?
(Btw, that 109 in your SS would be coloured blue and not green)

I did give him a bit of his normal LC Tiki food around 4-5pm but not much. Maybe a tablespoon? No more than two.

Since I was trying to give him a break today. I didn't test after 109.

Now I just got his pre-shot number now as 66. This is beyond my comprehension. Do you think I should shoot 5.25u?

@Bandit's Mom thanks! And thank you for the tip on the color. I fixed it just now.
 
Now I just got his pre-shot number now as 66. This is beyond my comprehension. Do you think I should shoot 5.25u?
Yes, please feed and shoot the full dose. With TR, you can shoot any number over 60 (with a human meter) - especially if you can monitor.
 
Since I was trying to give him a break today. I didn't test after 109.

Now I just got his pre-shot number now as 66. This is beyond my comprehension.
In active cycles where numbers are dropping, you do want to test and feed. The dive at +6 was quite unexpected after that higher +2. I had said to take a break from tests assuming that he will continue to bounce based on the +2 number, but he surprised us by dropping later in the cycle!

Nadirs can be later in bounce clearing cycles. Some cats keep dropping till the end of a bounce clearing cycle. Such caregivers get used to shooting lower preshots.
 
Yes, please feed and shoot the full dose. With TR, you can shoot any number over 60 (with a human meter) - especially if you can monitor.

Thank you! I just give him the shot. I also did an accu check and got 75 20 minutes after 60. I will test at +1 and +2 as well.

Do you think it would be enough for me to stay up until his nadir (3:30am)?
 
In active cycles where numbers are dropping, you do want to test and feed. The dive at +6 was quite unexpected after that higher +2. I had said to take a break from tests assuming that he will continue to bounce based on the +2 number, but he surprised us by dropping later in the cycle!

Nadirs can be later in bounce clearing cycles. Some cats keep dropping till the end of a bounce clearing cycle. Such caregivers get used to shooting lower preshots.

Good to know. I really appreciate these tips. I feel like I am still learning about feline diabetes everyday...

I thought you said to take a break because I was getting a bit obsessive haha.
 
I just give him the shot. I also did an accu check and got 75 20 minutes after 60. I will test at +1 and +2 as well.
Congrats on shooting your lowest preshot! :D If you can monitor, just feed and shoot any number over 50! Sometimes, stalling without food can cause numbers to drop further making the shooting decision even more difficult. Good idea to get a +1 and +2. Please feed a tsp of food after each test?


Do you think it would be enough for me to stay up until his nadir (3:30am)?
At wat time was his shot?
 
Congrats on shooting your lowest preshot! :D If you can monitor, just feed and shoot any number over 50!

Sounds good!

Sometimes, stalling without food can cause numbers to drop further making the shooting decision even more difficult. Good idea to get a +1 and +2. Please feed a tsp of food after each test?

Based on the instruction I read, stalling means not giving him food or shot at the normal time and wait for 30~60 minutes and see what happens? I will give him some food after each test. Is this something to always do when he is in the low?


At what time was his shot?

He was shot at 9:55pm CT.

And should I prepare myself for another bounce by AMPS :eek:
 
Based on the instruction I read, stalling means not giving him food or shot at the normal time and wait for 30~60 minutes and see what happens?
Yes, we suggest stalling with food for 20 mins (not 60 mins) to see if the number goes up without food. The downside of this is that numbers can drop rather than go up. The idea is to keep shooting lower and lower till you get comfortable shooting any number over 50 without stalling.
Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers

I will give him some food after each test. Is this something to always do when he is in the low?
Yes. Food helps prevent sharp drops, flatten curves and when in good numbers/greens keep them surfing. That's why we suggest feeding a little food after each test in active cycles.

And should I prepare myself for another bounce by AMPS :eek:
Let's see...paws crossed for a long stretch of lower numbers.
 
Yes. Food helps prevent sharp drops, flatten curves and when in good numbers/greens keep them surfing. That's why we suggest feeding a little food after each test in active cycles.

I guess that means I should give him a tsp of LC food every now and then when no testing as well? What about workdays? Using auto feeder maybe?

Let's see...paws crossed for a long stretch of lower numbers.

Paws crossed! +1 is 141 by the way! Seems pretty close to his 10/08 AM cycle so far.
 
I guess that means I should give him a tsp of LC food every now and then when no testing as well?
Most people feed smalls snacks every hour or two in the first part of the cycle - based on the data they have collected from tests. Some cats dive at onset and benefit from a snack at +1 itself. Over the next few days you will get an idea of Mai's patterns and be able to tailor snack times accordingly. You might have to feed more often in some cycles if he is dropping.

What about workdays? Using auto feeder maybe?
Yes, a timed auto-feeder.


+1 is 141 by the way! Seems pretty close to his 10/08 AM cycle so far.
Quite a bump! Let's see the +2.
 
Most people feed smalls snacks every hour or two in the first part of the cycle - based on the data they have collected from tests. Some cats dive at onset and benefit from a snack at +1 itself. Over the next few days you will get an idea of Mai's patterns and be able to tailor snack times accordingly. You might have to feed more often in some cycles if he is dropping.

Got it. I will start setting that up for him. And I can start with his LC food, 1 tsp per hour? What happens when he is bouncing up? Do I still provide snacks to him?


Quite a bump! Let's see the +2.

+2 was 132. Should I proceed to test +4 and +6?
 
And I can start with his LC food, 1 tsp per hour?
Why not start with a snack at +2 and +4 and you can adjust as you go along.


What happens when he is bouncing up? Do I still provide snacks to him?
You could stick with the +2 and +4 in all cycles. You might have to feed more snacks in other cycles but need not in bounce cycles.


+2 was 132. Should I proceed to test +4 and +6?
Yes. Please feed some LC now and let's see the +4. Based on that we can determine if you need to stay up any later or whether you can call it a night.
 
Why not start with a snack at +2 and +4 and you can adjust as you go along.



You could stick with the +2 and +4 in all cycles. You might have to feed more snacks in other cycles but need not in bounce cycles.



Yes. Please feed some LC now and let's see the +4. Based on that we can determine if you need to stay up any later or whether you can call it a night.

Sounds good! Thank you!
 
Why not start with a snack at +2 and +4 and you can adjust as you go along.



You could stick with the +2 and +4 in all cycles. You might have to feed more snacks in other cycles but need not in bounce cycles.



Yes. Please feed some LC now and let's see the +4. Based on that we can determine if you need to stay up any later or whether you can call it a night.

Hello, sorry to ping you again. I just got his +4 @166. What do you think? Is him good for tonight? Though I kinda now expect to see a higher AMPS number...I am just hoping it's gonna be sub 500 this time..

One more question:
I am still obsessed with trying to figure out what disrupted his previous "calm period". He didn't have Free Libre / other test for about two months (August and September). During this time, he showed minimal sign of excessive drinking / nauseous. Do you think it could provide some insight on how to manage him going forward? Or should I just let it go and go from here?

As always, really really appreciate your help.
 
Hello, sorry to ping you again. I just got his +4 @166. What do you think? Is him good for tonight? Though I kinda now expect to see a higher AMPS number...I am just hoping it's gonna be sub 500 this time..
Please don't apologize. I am around to help members at night when other folks in the US are asleep. I am in India :-)
Yes, please call it a night. He will probably continue to head up from here till AMPS. Catch up on some much needed sleep and give his ears a break!


I am still obsessed with trying to figure out what disrupted his previous "calm period". He didn't have Free Libre / other test for about two months (August and September). During this time, he showed minimal sign of excessive drinking / nauseous. Do you think it could provide some insight on how to manage him going forward? Or should I just let it go and go from here?
Going by the numbers in the SS for August, he doesn't seem very different.
 
Please don't apologize. I am around to help members at night when other folks in the US are asleep. I am in India :)
Yes, please call it a night. He will probably continue to head up from here till AMPS. Catch up on some much needed sleep and give his ears a break!



Going by the numbers in the SS for August, he doesn't seem very different.

Thank you. I do need that sleep. Have a great day!
 
Back
Top