10/09 larry amps 376 +5 404 pmps 363

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/09 larry amps 376 +5 404

Hey Pam

Hope Larry's new dose gets him closer to where you want him to be. I have no advice to give as I am a newbie but just wanted to say hi

Sarah
 
hi pam
i see larry is making you crazy just like tibbs is doing to me.
ughhhh. i hope he settles down soon
 
Pam

You are still doing it, when you back off the dose because of a too low preshot you are backing it off TOO FAR! Which is causing you to lose way too much ground with him.

If his normal dose is 1.75 then a reduction for a Big Chicken Shot it's 1.50 NOT .5u If you keep cutting it as much as you are he's going to be in an endless cycle of playing catch up. When you cut it that far back he loses most of his shed and has to spend time rebuilding it. If you want him to stay in good numbers you have got to put on the big girl panties and shoot when he's low so he can stay low. Backing the dose some is fine but you are taking way too far back when you do it.

You have to get over this fear of shooting low, especially if you are considering moving him to Levemir, it has a much later onset and thus a much later nadir. A good 95% of the time with Autumn I am shooting her nadir because she is a Levemir cat, I can do it because I know she will keep going up for at least 4-5 more hours. Even right now on Lantus he is going to keep going up once you shoot that low preshot for at least another 2-3 hours.

I want you to do me a favor and actually I think it will help you understand as well..this weekend run a full curve on him which means you are going to test him at amps, +2, +4, +6, +8, +10, and pmps. I want you to physically see how far he goes up before he starts coming down again. With every cat that I have walked off insulin including now Autumn I will shoot a full dose on anything above 50, but I can get up to check on them, in your case I would shoot a full dose on anything above 80 because of the rise before onset so that should get him up safely into the high 100s or low 200s.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
that makes me sad i did wrong for him. the reason was that his other 2 tests were 57 and 68 or so. posted those. anyway, i hv to figure out how to gt food and put out fires around here today, then im gna read all these instrutions and try to omprehend it. im sooooooooo exhausted and hurting i can barely focus or do anything but im doing my best. ty for ur help mel! it was terrifying the other night. i hvnt slept and i needed sleep whih i didnt get but he was too low to give more i thot? i had to sleep which i nvr could. anway its too much to tpe. i jst ant do aedequate typing to explain all this. im really trying to hold onto my sanity which is slipping, b im not able to do wht i need. ty again! we will get thre if i live long enuf. i hv huge issues tyring to resolve so we dnt wind up homeless or anything.
 
Another answer might be instead of moving him to Levemir is to move him to Prozinc or BCP PZI which are "in and Out" insulins so you would be shooting a sliding scale and basing the dose off what you see at preshots. Then you wouldn't have to worry about depleting the shed of a depot insulin. I'm going to ask Sue & Oliver to take a look at Larry's spreadsheet and explain to her the difficulties you have with sleep and personal health and see what she thinks. She is a pro with the P-insulins. Maybe we can all put our heads together and find a solution that works for not only Larry but you as well. Because you have to be able to take care of yourself as well as take care of him. Lantus and Levemir are great insulins but if you can't stay with the cat when they are low to shoot low then neither maybe the answer for Larry.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
ty mel! u dont know what that means to me. :) almost brought tears to my eyes. ty for ur kindness and help. bless u.
 
Here's another thought...Do you think instead of shooting every 12 hours you could shoot 3 times a day, every 8 hours? So for example using Autumn's normal shot time as a starting point you would shoot at 7am, 3pm and then again at 11pm? Because if you could that would give you a full 8 hours of sleep a night but you would be back to shooting the N. As N is only good for about 8 hours per dose in their system so we would be moving you to T.I.D. dosing instead of B.I.D. dosing. Larry did pretty well on the N before but it wasn't lasting long enough in his system for shooting on a 12/12 schedule. With shooting 3 times a day we could extend that duration and you could still use a sliding scale based off preshot numbers and be able to get a reading after at least 2 of those doses around the +4 mark which is when he should be about at his lowest point.

Yeah not the norm for around here, but Hey that is what Relaxed Lantus is for, thinking outside the box and trying to find a solution that works for both the cat and the caregiver. If that means being a little unconventional then so be it. The real goal has always been making sure the kitty is happy and healthy by whatever means that takes and while yes, N is a harder insulin to regulate and get them into remission on, it can and does happen. It just takes a little more testing and an extra shot per day.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
its a good idea, we discussed in the beginning for us, but not possible for me personaly. every 8 hrs just wont work. i struggle to do every 12. its very stressful, and taxing on me physically and mentally. maybe the pzi is still possible. my plate will prob. be evn fuller soon, whn i can figure out how to look for a place, ill be doing that, and then moving, unless something unforseen happens. im sure something will work out. no idea how im going to find a plae for 7 pets tho so its a huge challenge.
 
Pam

Larry's looks so cute. Great name too. I love it when animals have human names.

How about this. You and me try to both put on our big girl pants and keep shooting as near to the normal dose as possible unless our cats go under 80.

I got scared the last remi went lower than I was used to and so I shot a lower dose. I can see in hindsight that this wasn't technically the right thing to do but at the time Of his shot it was just me alone to make that decision and I was paralysed with the fear or a hypo. But as mel has explained you have to make that leap of faith. Like you I am not able to always be there to test my cat so my plan is to try to test as much as possible when I can to learn how he reacts to the lantus, get my mum to pop in when she can and to leave food down so remi can eat. No doubt like you I want my cat to get the best chance for remission and shooting low on lantus seems to be necessary.

Best wishes

Sarah
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top