10/09 Jake's AMPS 388 PMPS (HI)

Status
Not open for further replies.

breayle and jake

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26983

Test results came back, in fact his pancreas is BETTER than it was two months ago! She said his levels were much lower. Unfortunately his BG level was 635 (read from urinalysis) and now she's worried about his kidneys. Think he might have a UTI or something... not sure. Hopefully she can test him again on Wednesday. I can't take him back in till Wednesday and I hope she doesn't charge me. She said the new x-ray she took didn't show anything because the there was so much food in his belly!

It doesn't look to me like he's lost weight but someone who hadn't seen him in a while said he did look like he had lost weight. I'm glad his pancreas is better but now his poor widdle kidneys cat(2)_steam

The vet called while I was at work so I was not able to speak directly with her, and tomorrow the office is closed and she doesn't work till Tuesday. She also suggested I raise the dose to 6u because of the glucose in his urine, she wants to make that stop. What do you think? Raise to 6? It seems so high.... I thought .5 raise would be better... what do you think?

-Breayle and Jake
 
I read if the Ketones are present, you can raise by .50, so maybe with how high the BG levels are, you can raise that much.
1 unit might be too much all at once.

I am a newbie and just using common sense and my opinion, so do not do anything by my comments.

Wait for more experienced people to advise you.
 
Oh, gosh, I'm so sorry to see that you are getting those "HI's" for Jake still. I really don't have any advise for you as far as dosing is concerned, but I wanted to stop in and give some moral support.
Hopefully you and the vet will be able to figure this out. Sending lower bg vines to your Jake.
 
I don't know why your vet is doing a urine glucose test. The results from urine testing are notoriously unreliable for a variety of reasons. First, it's not a "current" number. It takes hours for urine to collect so the number you're getting doesn't reflect what is going on at the moment. There are other reasons these numbers aren't particularly useful but they apply more to low numbers. You might want to look at this link to the position statement by the International Diabetes Federation on urine glucose testing.

I would not raise the dose by a full unit. You are beginning to see nadirs in the 200s. There is a good chance that if you increase too much you will miss an optimal dose. Depending on your availability to monitor, I would encourage you to consider raising the dose every 3 days per the protocol. With nadirs less than 300, you need to drop back to raising the dose in 0.25u increments.

If Jake hadn't eaten prior to the trip to the vet and given his problems with constipation, I would encourage you to ask your vet about issues related to his GI track motility. It doesn't sound like food is getting pushed through his system in the way it should. This happens via muscle contraction in the stomach and intestines. There are medications that can help with this issue if, indeed, it is an issue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top