10/09 - Gizmo PMPS 69 (with AT), + 20 min=202, +1=312, +2=264, +3=279, +4=333, +5=354

Status
Not open for further replies.
There are members who are on Pacific time (e.g., Tricia) and are night owls so there is usually someone around. We also have members on the board from all over the world. Gill, for example is in Spain and is on the Board in the early AM.

I do tend to think the K/D is fueling the high numbers. When you're ready to transition to a lower carb food, it will be important to keep an eye on Gizmo's numbers.

 
Hang in there - I hope you've gotten the message that no one is trying to give you a hard time. What they are seeing is a potentially dangerous situation and trying to help you get ready to deal with it.

Now that we can see the following tests this evening, it looks like Gizmo might be starting a new bounce. Bounces are lovely things because they do what they were meant to do - they raise a cat's blood sugar and prevent a hypo. Looking at the spreadsheet for today, the first question in my mind is whether or not the 69 was at the bottom of his curve, or if that number was on the way up. I'd be wondering about the second possibility, mainly because he jumped so high by the next test you did within a half hour after his shot.

As far as the fact that you're giving a higher carb canned food, the dose that you're giving reflects that he's eating higher carbs. It doesn't mean that the dose still can't be too high or that he couldn't go into low numbers with it.

I agree with you about significantly reducing Gizmo's dose tomorrow. Will he have access to food while you are at work?
 
Hang in there - I hope you've gotten the message that no one is trying to give you a hard time. What they are seeing is a potentially dangerous situation and trying to help you get ready to deal with it.

Now that we can see the following tests this evening, it looks like Gizmo might be starting a new bounce. Bounces are lovely things because they do what they were meant to do - they raise a cat's blood sugar and prevent a hypo. Looking at the spreadsheet for today, the first question in my mind is whether or not the 69 was at the bottom of his curve, or if that number was on the way up. I'd be wondering about the second possibility, mainly because he jumped so high by the next test you did within a half hour after his shot.

As far as the fact that you're giving a higher carb canned food, the dose that you're giving reflects that he's eating higher carbs. It doesn't mean that the dose still can't be too high or that he couldn't go into low numbers with it.

I agree with you about significantly reducing Gizmo's dose tomorrow. Will he have access to food while you are at work?
No. He will not have access to food. He will eat it, all of it as soon as I put it down.
 
One trick that you can try is to mix cat food with a little water (not too much) and freeze it in either ice cube trays or muffin pans. Then you can leave out one or the other size, or a combination, depending on your situation. In theory, as the frozen puck thaws the kitty will eat it. Might be too late to do this for tomorrow morning because it would be good to try it out so you know that he won't just gnaw on the frozen food and eat it immediately.

Another good strategy for delivering food when you're gone - what I did - was to buy a timed feeder and set it to open when I was gone. There are some good suggestions about this in this sticky. I posted a link in there to the timed feeder that we used. Being able to rely on food getting to your kitty when you're gone is a little bit of insurance and security for you, knowing that the food will be available. Having a kitty that reliably eats is an asset - Punkin also was a hoover so I knew that if the timed feeder opened, he would eat the food in it.
 
Hmm, just relooked at that sticky and there is no longer a link there. We used the PetSafe 5 compartment timed feeder. You can buy it from Chewy.com or Amazon for less than $40. As long as the feeding tray was fully seated in the base unit, it always opened correctly. I loved that feeder! It gave me some peace of mind when I was off at work knowing that the tray would rotate and open and Punkin would get food on the schedule that I chose. Some feeders have preset times that open, which is definitely less helpful than being able to decide when you want it to open.
 
Some Petsmart stores carry that feeder. I have two. They are great for while you're at work, or away for any reason, or at night. It's easier on the pancreas for kitties to get several smaller meals through the day, and it can keep them safe if they're dropping.
 
Did you feed the whole can at +3, Lizzie? Did he eat it all? The reason I'm asking is it might be useful to get a test that isn't heavily influenced by food, to know if he's safe from dropping this cycle. If he's eaten it all and you can test at +5, which I think you said you could, don't give him anything else to eat and we'll see if he's still going up or if he's going to drop as the food wears off.
 
Did you feed the whole can at +3, Lizzie? Did he eat it all? The reason I'm asking is it might be useful to get a test that isn't heavily influenced by food, to know if he's safe from dropping this cycle. If he's eaten it all and you can test at +5, which I think you said you could, don't give him anything else to eat and we'll see if he's still going up or if he's going to drop as the food wears off.

Tested prior to 1 can @ +3. He ate it all. I can test @ +5. No more food (at least until then if someone thinks it may be needed).
 
Last edited:
Yes. There's a compartment under the food tray where you can put a small ice pack, so it helps keep the food safe. You can set it to turn at whatever intervals you want - every hour, every two hours, etc. There is an ice pack available on Amazon and Walmart that fits it perfectly (even though it's intended for another feeder). Some people also put an ice cube on the meals that are for later in the day, as it keeps it fresh and when it melts it keeps the food from drying out.
 
+5 354

I will take my tablet with me to bed and check right before I turn out the lights.

I didn't realize I only have two strips left. I will test before feeding/shooting in the a.m.
 
I think you can only get them online, or possibly from a vet - I would call yours in the morning. That's another disadvantage of using an AT. The most common meters here are Relion brand, and you can get the strips at Walmart. They are much less expensive and easy to get.

I think he's going to be fine tonight. You did great!
 
I agree - with only 2 strips left, I wouldn't test any more tonight. He's gone high so there is nothing to be learned. Bounces can last as long as 3 days, although Gizmo has been clearing them quickly and getting back into green numbers every day- at least what we can see on the spreadsheet. So it would be expected for him to clear it by tomorrow, although cats don't always do what is expected.

I think if you have any doubt about what to do in the morning, err on the conservative side. Try to get a timed feeder tomorrow so you have a way to get food to him while you are at work and definitely get some strips. Most of us are huge fans of the human glucometers - the ATs being more expensive, the strips being more difficult to get, and not having their numbers on our dosing documents can all be a problem.
 
Gizmo is fed three cans/day 0, +12, +15.
I'm going to translate into '12/12' since we think in terms of 12 hour cycles around here:
AMPS (0) with AM shot
PMPS. (+12) with PM shot
PM+3 (+15) 3 hours after PM shot
Would that be correct?

I too recommend a programable feeder. It was a lifesaver for us.

We also used a human glucometer. Strips available at rite aid cvs or anywhere diabetic supplies are sold. However I generally purchased strips on eBay for much less than the cost at the rite aid.

Hang in there and hang in here. It will soon all be second nature to you :cool:
 
So you don't feed anything between the morning and evening shots? I think a timed feeder would be a great idea, allowing you to break that up in to several feedings through the morning.
 
It's never a bad idea to have a backup meter.

Just be sure you leave him plenty of food. Sorry, I'm not trying to scare or criticize you. I'm just concerned.
Thank you. I am just not sure what to do. He has to eat. He has to have insulin. Vet wants him on k/d diet. I know I don't have a lot of historical data but I do now he rises quickly after eating.

Oh, and I HAVE to work so I can afford to take care of him. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top