10/09 Furball, AMPS=266, PMPS=86 Dose Question?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/09 Furball, AMPS=266

Morning Carla ~O) ~O) ~O)

Good luck with the new dose. I hope she likes the new one. Furball - you are one lucky kitty! you got more juice! :-D Keep p the furry and the purry. Us beans like that.

Enjoy your day today.
 
Re: 10/09 Furball, AMPS=266, PMPS=86 Should I Shoot?

Her shot time is in 20 minutes. I just increased her dose this morning. I don't know if I should shoot a lower dose, or stall or ship or what. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.
 
Re: 10/09 Furball, AMPS=266, PMPS=86 Should I Shoot?

Hi Carla, I can't advise you. I think If it was me and I had supplies and kit ready and could monitor closely, I would probably shoot , keep watch ~O) and use food to raise numbers if needed. I dont know how easily Furball responds to feeding to shift her numbers. Thats my 2 cents, the wise ones should be along soon to advise.
 
Re: 10/09 Furball, AMPS=266, PMPS=86 Should I Shoot?

No advice but wanted you to know I was thinking about you. Good luck and have a great night!
 
Re: 10/09 Furball, AMPS=266, PMPS=86 Should I Shoot?

I'm with Leslie.
If you are home, got supplies, I'd do it.
If you feel better stalling until there is experienced help, do that.

I think Marje will be back on shortly. She was running errands but checking on Atticus off and on.

I'll stick around with you.
 
Re: 10/09 Furball, AMPS=266, PMPS=86 Should I Shoot?

It's her shot time now, but I'm going to stall for 15 minutes. I can't do later than that because I have to go to work tomorrow and can't be that far behind. I think I will shoot. I'm just not sure what dose to shoot. I increased to 1.5 this morning, but think I should at least go back to the 1.25 or maybe 1.0.
 
Re: 10/09 Furball, AMPS=266, PMPS=86 Should I Shoot?

My crystal ball tells me you should stick with the new dose. That would be protocol.

You might earn that decrease and you might not. Tonite's shot is more about later in the cycle than those first couple of hours.
You have to do what you feel is right .
You hold the syringe.
And if you aren't going to be home tomorrow at all, that's a factor in my book.
 
Re: 10/09 Furball, AMPS=266, PMPS=86 Should I Shoot?

Rhiannon, I am using the SLGS protocol since I can't come home during the week and test. It calls for a reduction if you get a 90 or below. I wish I worked closer to home so I could at least get a mid day test. Thanks for keeping me company.
 
Re: 10/09 Furball, AMPS=266, PMPS=86 Should I Shoot?

hmmm.
Wake up Rhiannon. It says that right there in the bottom corner.

Then I hope Marje or Sienne pops in soon for you.
If it's 90 for the decrease than you've earned that. And you don't have a bounce to shoot thru.
 
Re: 10/09 Furball, AMPS=266, PMPS=86 Should I Shoot?

I'm going to shoot the 1.25 since I can monitor this evening. I don't want to hinder her progress. I'm just not sure about taking a reduction the same day I increased the dose.
 
Re: 10/09 Furball, AMPS=266, PMPS=86 Should I Shoot?

If shooting the lower dose feels right to you, then do that. It will be like a partial fur shot, except you know how much went in. Good luck and keeping an eye out for your update.
 
Re: 10/09 Furball, AMPS=266, PMPS=86 Should I Shoot?

I gave Furball her shot 15 minutes late. I shot 1.25 units. I still would like to know what advice the wise ones have about giving an increase at AMPS, then going back to the prior dose, because she earned a reduction, at PMPS. That is very confusing. I don't know if you're really supposed to do that. Thanks for all your thoughts and support everyone.
 
Nice shooting Carla! Hope Furball surfs nice high greens for you, will keep an eye out for your next test. I wish I had the knowledge to answer your dosing question. Generically its good to avoid frequent dose changes. That said, measuring errors, fur shots, etc happen and we get over it and move on. In this case you have the benefit of knowing exactly what dose you shot, so your question now is what is the am dose for various scenarios you may see tonight. If you don't get input from the wise ones soon, you may want to send a PM to ask them to respond to your condo.
 
Furball's +1=298. She's bouncing now. I wonder how low she went today. I guess I'll have to see what her AMPS is before I decide what dose to shoot in the morning.
 
Carla,

Hope you get good numbers later and in the morning! Have a great night!

Jo
 
You wanted to bring her numbers down..I understand that very well--What I usually do is wait till I am going to be home, like on the weekend, to do any sort of dose increase, as I want to be there to monitor...
Look, you tried today & you see that the increase Will work--So that is great!
If you want to increase & can utilize the auto feeder, that can work, by leaving mc & hc foods to be available...But that takes BOS...It is hard to go to work after shooting an increase..
So, I suggest you wait till you will be there for Furball & feel confident..Hugs & Love--from Us!
 
Hi Carla...

I'm sorry....we were out longer than we thought we'd be. Let me check her SS and get back to you. It's too late for tonight but I can give you some thoughts, ok?

BRB.
 
I don't think there's one right answer here. The difficulty is that you don't know what was going on during the AM cycle. There's just no way to know. You took the safest route and that's fine. I might have given some thought to shooting a fat 1.25u but let's see how the 1.25u does.
 
Furball's +2=246. She's coming back down some. Marje and Sienne, thanks for the input. Any advice is appreciated. I wish I could get some extra tests in on weekdays. It is very frustrating to not be able to.
 
ok...back.

Look at 8/31. She did the exact same thing in terms of numbers. You were shooting 1.5u and by PMPS, she had dropped down on you and then she went up but not quite as fast as today.

I think she gave you that number at PMPS today because she was clearing a bounce and the little added extra of insulin may have added to it. I know you are doing the absolute best you can with your work schedule, Carla.

If you look at the a.m. cycle of 9/5, you can see what she can do in a cycle; if you hadn't been testing her that day, you would never have known she got into the 60s and went back up. I wonder if there is an in between dose that might work for her....that is, in between, the 1.25u and the 1.5u. Do you think you could draw one like that and see how she does?

I don't know if Rhiannon also PM'd Sienne but if she did...or you did...she might also have some thoughts.
 
Marje thanks for looking at Furball's SS. I don't know if I can draw a dose in between 1.25 and 1.5 with the syringes I use (Relion). I have a hard enough time drawing the 1.25. I'm not sure how consistent the doses are when she is on 1.25 units. I can see what I can do in the morning.
 
Hmmm...I don't use the relions but I did buy some once and the lines were so thick I couldn't deal with it because I'm such a drama queen :lol: :lol:

I know you are probably needing to go to bed soon but if you have time, I'd practice tonight just for a bit and see if you can draw an in between dose. You want to be consistent. If you think you can't, I'd go with the 1.25u until you can be around on a weekend to raise her to 1.5u and see what she does.
 
The lines on the Relions are thick. They drive me crazy, but I'm not sure what other syringes have the half unit markings. Maybe I should try something else.
 
Hang in there Carla. Measuring those fractions is so hard. And I totally understand about the thick lines. I tried to just stay consistent w/ my pulls and prayed for the best. Practiced a lot with water to see how consistent I could get.

Hope your Furball levels out for you. Working fulltime and being away from home is so hard. If it weren't for DH being 5 min from home we would not have been able to get any mid-day tests. You are doing the best you can and you must trust that Furball surfs safely while you are gone.

Karen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top