10/08 Chester AMPS 573 - Still bouncing

Status
Not open for further replies.

MaryB & Chester

Member Since 2012
I really don't know what to do. Chester is still bouncing around. Some days he gets good numbers (180-300, good for him). Some days he gets high numbers. And every now and again, he's throwing me a no-shot low.
I'm seeing a new vet. She wants to increase him to 3 units, but I'm stalling because I don't know that a higher dose is what he needs. I did a mini-curve about a week ago, and that showed some nice, nice numbers in the middle of his cycle. But without taking a curve every day, I really have no clue what's going on with him. I suspect he's just a bouncy boy, but I wish he'd quit bouncing and start sailing...
The vet says that fat content of his food can also affect BG numbers. So I need to avoid carbs and fat? As well as keeping an eye on phosphorous content because I'd like to avoid kidney issues if I can. *sigh*

Is it time to consider another insulin? Maybe Lantus just isn't what he needs?
 
Yeah its a little tough to know for sure what is going on with him without a lot of midcycle tests but looking at what you do have I would be scared he would drop too low on a higher dose. He got pretty darn low on the last curve.

Honestly his numbers look a lot like Autumn's before switching her to Levemir so that.might be something to discuss with your vet.

The other thing that jumps out at me is when he does give you a green preshot instead of completely skipping try shooting a reduced dose. So if you see another say 60 at preshot instead of skipping altogether or shooting a full 2.25 shooting a straight 2u or a 1.75 so he doesn't completely drain the shed but isn't a full dose either. Basically shooting low to stay low, with one caveat of only doing so when someone is home to at least monitor behaviour even if they can't physically test with the meter and make sure you have the signs of hypo and how to handle them posted for whoever will be monitoring him that day.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
I like what Mel said to do. Reduction is great for a low PS.

I have an acro cat who is high dose and occasionally she does give me a low number that I wouldn't consider giving a full dose but I do have a scale for when that happens under 125 she gets 75% dose, under 100 she gets 50%, under 80 she gets 25% of the dose- for the main reason that i don't want to completely drain her shed and have to restart it again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top