Mai & Dad
Member Since 2024
Hello everyone,
I want to first quickly introduce myself as Mai's dad. Mai is a 11 year old male Siamese, who had been with me since I moved to the US for college. Long story short, he was the only one who is always there for me through the last decade, when I first came to a foreign country alone and when I fought through my PhD program. It is an understatement to say he is a significant part of my life.
We are new to the LBL family so I thank you in advance for reading this long post.
A bit more relevant background: we had a rough year in 2023.
Any help would be truly, and greatly appreciated! Thank you!
Hao
I want to first quickly introduce myself as Mai's dad. Mai is a 11 year old male Siamese, who had been with me since I moved to the US for college. Long story short, he was the only one who is always there for me through the last decade, when I first came to a foreign country alone and when I fought through my PhD program. It is an understatement to say he is a significant part of my life.
We are new to the LBL family so I thank you in advance for reading this long post.
A bit more relevant background: we had a rough year in 2023.
- He was officially diagnosed late September / early October.
- He spent 4 days in the ED and 17 days in the ICU and had two DKAs in the hospital.
- Repeated visits to curve at different vets led to little results. He was never really well regulated.
- I started using Free Libre II but still struggled to get him under control.
- He had been on 4.5 units Lantus for a few months.
- He is now on 5.25 units for 4 days. Planning on trying the TR method going forward.
- The last change I did was switching him to LC food. He was on Glycobalance Rx, which has 14% carb DMB. His new food is either 0% or 4% depending on flavor.
- I put a Free Libre on him on 09/26, two weeks after he was 100% on his new LC food.
- We observed high flat curves for 3-4 days in a row. My vet asked me to change his dosage from 4.5u to 6u. After reading on this forum for a year, I was worried that would be too much. So I switched to 5u first for 2-3 days (with nadir in ~350 and only 1 nadir per 24 hour cycle)
- I then switched him to 5.25u, which is his current dosage. He has been on this dosage for about 4 to 5 days.
- I am now testing him at home starting from 10/06 late PM. All results are updated in his sheet.
- How long do you think he needs to be tested every two hours? To be honest I have been exhausted and worried about him for a week now and testing both nadir and every two hours require me to stay awake for quite long...
- Why do you think he had high flat curves after switching to LC food? Shouldn't his glucose drop as a result? And I only began testing his curve 2 weeks after he is on his new food so bounces should no longer be an issue?
- I was really clumsy yesterday and gave him multiple bruise. Now I aim for the sweet spot and press his ear for 20 seconds afterwards. But there are still basically bruises all over his sweet spots on both ears. Can I still testing him? Will I give him hematoma?
- Given his current results, should I adjust his dosage or wait for one more day?
- And please let me know if you have any other thoughts or suggestions. After a year of getting no where, I am getting worried and frustrated. I really do hope the TR method will work.
Any help would be truly, and greatly appreciated! Thank you!
Hao