10/07 George AMPS 150 PMPS 270

George’s Mom

Member Since 2022
Prior Post

Just a quick update. George’s echocardiogram info is in prior post. Would love to hear what thoughts are about SRT. Thinking we stick to Cabergoline since it seems to be helping?

Numbers were a little higher today. We are at end of Cabergoline bottle. I wonder if it wasn’t mixed as good and not good Meds left in bottle bottom? That or dropping the .5U of Lantus made a big difference.

Anyway, he seems to be doing well. Has been low BG for a while and seems to have a little more of his spunk back. This sweet old man. He’ll be 18 in January. I can’t believe it. What a ride.
 
George’s echocardiogram info is in prior post. Would love to hear what thoughts are about SRT.
What did the cardio vet say about George and anaesthesia?

Here is a link to an article about caregivers thoughts on treatment for acromegaly. Paper on QOL and response to treatment for acros Cabergoline ranked about the same radiation therapy. The is only the link to abstract though. And given George's age and that SRT can take a while to take effect, I think cabergoline is a good answer for you.

As for George, he's likely bouncing from that 45 a couple days ago. And that 45 means you should be reducing the dose again. Unless you got a test from a human meter to compare and it was higher than 50.
 
What did the cardio vet say about George and anaesthesia?

Here is a link to an article about caregivers thoughts on treatment for acromegaly. Paper on QOL and response to treatment for acros Cabergoline ranked about the same radiation therapy. The is only the link to abstract though. And given George's age and that SRT can take a while to take effect, I think cabergoline is a good answer for you.

As for George, he's likely bouncing from that 45 a couple days ago. And that 45 means you should be reducing the dose again. Unless you got a test from a human meter to compare and it was higher than 50.
Yes I figured probably not SRT given his heart is enlarged, leaking valves, and thickened walls. So higher risk to go under anesthesia. If Cabergoline weren’t working, we’d prob consider, but it seems like it’s helping. So agree to stick with Cabergoline.

You think we should reduce again? That 45 was right when we reduced to 5L. So depot wasn’t quite drained. I’m open minded to doing so though if you think we should. He’s at 5L currently. So drop to 4.5 or 4.75 tomorrow morning?
 
The 45 was after a half dose depot drainer, and 3 cycles of 5 units. The larger depot takes 4-6 cycles to drain. Plus with cabergoline in the mix it's best to be cautious. I would go to 4.75 units in the AM.
 
Back
Top