10/07 Booger +11 296 AMPS 232 PMPS 167

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
Welp.. She did what I expected her to do.. Bounced way way up.. Poor girl she didn't feel too good this morning at +11. At least she seems to be clearing it now. I know it's said that some kitties bounce all the way to otj.. but I'm wondering how those kitties get there? It seems like it's a never ending story for us and then soon after comes a dose INCREASE... never the other way around... no signs of a reduction.. just bouncing sky high as soon as we hit 70s, 60s.. . sigh.. Maybe we'll head towards the opposite of the insulin syringe one day. It just seemed like we had a good run of greens there for a little while and I was hopeful and then we just had to increase a few times. But.. she'll get there. Paws crossed.
 
try not to get discouraged! have you looked at many other spreadsheets? Booger looks pretty good, actually.

There's no pink in recent history.
She's had 2 green pmps since you went to 2.5u.
She didn't bounce very high - only to 200's - from the greens yesterday.

Those are all great signs.

The typical path is that you go up in dose until you hit that "sweet spot" in dosing that is just right for a kitty and begins to flatten them out. Even with green nadirs, you can increase the dose after you've given it long enough to see what it will do.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

I would say the part I highlighted in blue above is what is relevant to Booger right now. You've given this dose 14 cycles - i would increase by 0.25u when you are ready to monitor. It might move the whole ss into greens. I would also try to keep her from getting a reduction just for a couple of cycles on the new higher dose. Sometimes doing that for just a couple of cycles can provide enough insulin to bring down the higher numbers in the cycle.

That means if you see her heading below 50, you might carb her "preventatively" to keep her over 50. You don't want to do that more than a few cycles because you don't want her to be overdosed, but it's ok to do it a couple of times while you're trying to get the overall range down. I'll add that I'm suggesting that specifically for Booger, not for every lurker reading to do with their cat. You test plenty and I know you'll keep her safe in the process.

Does that make sense?
 
Yes. Thank you so much as always for your help. It is sooo appreciated and beneficial for someone like me who has never done this dance before to have someone with so much experience helping out. It looks like the advice is coming at a perfect time too... Booger is dropping quickly today for some reason even though we are "business as usual" and past the insulin peak. She just hit 69. I did give her 1Tsp LOW carb earlier but I may give her something a little higher to keep her above 50 before dinner time. I don't like shooting while she's dropping or feeding this close so I may ask for advice on this since we're an hour away from dinner now.. I was a little disheartened the other night. Thanks again for all your support!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top