10/07 Bailey PMPS 308

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo

Bailey seems like he is in a good mood but he is drinking a lot and the last 2 days I noticed he isnt quite as clean as normal. When he was first diagnosed and we got him he was pretty dirty but once he started the insulin he cleaned up and was pristine. Yesterday I noticed a spec of food on his foot and today he has a dirty nose ( bits of food). He is playing with Tiggy and was excited all night though so he has a lot of energy.

I am thinking we might need to move him back to 2 drops but the last time he was on that dose his BG dropped to below 31 one night so I dont know what to do. 1 drop doesnt seem to be enough and 2 is too much. And its such a small dose I cant dose 1.5. Any ideas? I am out today so cant do anything till tomorrow anyway. Maybe he is still bouncing from the low a week ago?

I am kinda inclined to do 2 drops in the morning when I can watch him and give HC if need be, and 1 drop at night since he eats less overnight but I dont know if that makes sense from a depot perspective. ALso I am going to have a fight with my DH if I want to change the dose, the 31 the other day really scared him and he doesnt want to "keep messing around" :(
 
Re: 10/07 Bailey AMPS 362 dose question

I don't think the dose reduction held -- certainly not with those pre-shot numbers and you're not seeing much green. You can either go back to your previous dose (2 drops) or try 1.5 drops. It's your call.

I would take the info that Bailey is drinking more as an indication that he needs more insulin.

As for your DH, please remind him that for longer term diabetics, like Gabby, she needs to drop below 40 for a dose reduction. That's why we test. It would be unsafe if a cat stayed in those numbers. We don't let that happen. While dropping into lower numbers can be a panic attack for caregivers, letting a cat sit in high numbers had a seriously negative impact on internal organs. Diabetes can effect kidneys, heart, circulation, and pretty much every organ and not in a good way. I'd rather deal with temporarily low numbers than subject my cat to a slow deterioration and poor quality of life.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top