10/06 Jerry AMPS 211 +2 93 +3 68 +4 72 +5 85 +7 155 PMPS 391 + 3 260 +5 179

Jerry dutchboy

Member Since 2019
yesterday

So Jerry had a good run of green BG's during his AM cycle. I fed 5% friskies at +3 which helped his BG.

As usual he's bouncing this PM.

Hope everyone had a wonderful day today.:bighug:
 
Ok....so here’s the goal....flatten out these cycles. It takes a bit more work at the beginning and a bit more testing but it can work.

First thing is, for a temporary time, it’s important to get a +1 as much as you can. If he’s the same or lower at +1 than he is at PS, you know he’s going to dive and he might already be starting. You want to slow it down.

There are a couple ways to do this.

  • Since Jerry usually eats 3% food, you can start feeding 5-6% food which, if he’s very carb sensitive, will raise the BG and, hopefully, keep him from diving. Or
  • As soon as you see that his +1 is the same as or lower than his PS, start feeding the higher LC food. In this instance, you could see if 6% slows the drop; if it doesn’t, try 8% next time. It’s an experiment to see which works.
The goal is:

manage the curve with food ——> flatten the curve——-> adjust the dose (if necessary)

If we flatten the curve in high blue or yellow, don’t panic. That will allow us to raise the dose and, paws crossed, get it to stay flattened as it comes down.

I had this issue with Gracie where she would hum along just fine in nice, flat numbers and then, out of nowhere, start ridiculous diving which would start the bouncing. I tested early and intervened and would be able, in several cycles, to get her flat again.

Up for it? Let me know your questions.
 
Ok....so here’s the goal....flatten out these cycles. It takes a bit more work at the beginning and a bit more testing but it can work.

First thing is, for a temporary time, it’s important to get a +1 as much as you can. If he’s the same or lower at +1 than he is at PS, you know he’s going to dive and he might already be starting. You want to slow it down.

There are a couple ways to do this.

  • Since Jerry usually eats 3% food, you can start feeding 5-6% food which, if he’s very carb sensitive, will raise the BG and, hopefully, keep him from diving. Or
  • As soon as you see that his +1 is the same as or lower than his PS, start feeding the higher LC food. In this instance, you could see if 6% slows the drop; if it doesn’t, try 8% next time. It’s an experiment to see which works.
The goal is:

manage the curve with food ——> flatten the curve——-> adjust the dose (if necessary)

If we flatten the curve in high blue or yellow, don’t panic. That will allow us to raise the dose and, paws crossed, get it to stay flattened as it comes down.

I had this issue with Gracie where she would hum along just fine in nice, flat numbers and then, out of nowhere, start ridiculous diving which would start the bouncing. I tested early and intervened and would be able, in several cycles, to get her flat again.

Up for it? Let me know your questions.
I'm definitely up for it. I'll have to get some 8% carb food. I currently only have 3% and 5% in house right now. I'm usually around until at least +2 but a couple of days a week I'm not here all morning to test. Just wondering how that will work. DH is normally here but he doesn't test but can feed if needed.
 
Last edited:
Absolutely. I'm nearly always here for +1 and +2. A few

I'm definitely up for it. I'll have to get some 8% carb food. I currently only have 3% and 5% in house right now. I'm usually around until at least +2 but a couple of days a week I'm not here all morning to test. Just wondering how that will work. DH is normally here but he doesn't test but can feed if needed.
Don’t get a lot of the 8%....if he’s carb sensitive, he might respond fine to 5%.

Which way do you prefer to do it? And when do you want to start? Keep in mind that you are three hours ahead of me right now and I’m not up at your AMPS or probably even +1 and maybe +2. I’m West Coast and not usually up until 8. Ahhh..retirement.
 
Don’t get a lot of the 8%....if he’s carb sensitive, he might respond fine to 5%.

Which way do you prefer to do it?
Don’t get a lot of the 8%....if he’s carb sensitive, he might respond fine to 5%.

Which way do you prefer to do it? And when do you want to start? Keep in mind that you are three hours ahead of me right now and I’m not up at your AMPS or probably even +1 and maybe +2. I’m West Coast and not usually up until 8. Ahhh..retirement.
I'll start with feeding the 5% tomorrow morning and see what that does for him. He is pretty carb sensitive so the 5% will definitely up his BG's I think ( hope he's not reading my mind). Ah I know retirement is wonderful however I've never been busier, and now with the furbabies its 6am for me. I'm usually an early riser but there are some mornings....
I'll start tomorrow and see how it goes. I'll feed the 5% and take a +1 and +2. We'll see how this works for him.
 
Last edited:
I'll start with feeding the 5% tomorrow morning and see what that does for him. He is pretty carb sensitive so the 5% will definitely up his BG's I think ( hope he's not reading my mind). Ah I know retirement is wonderful however I've never been busier, and now with the furbabies its 6am for me. I'm usually an early riser but there are some mornings....
I'll start tomorrow and see how it goes. I'll feed the 5% and take a +1 and +2. We'll see how this works for him.
Ok....and I will pop on as soon as I am up. Do not be shocked if he goes up. Remember we are experimenting....collecting data on how carb sensitive he is.
Have a great night and I hope your back allows you to rest.
 
Back
Top