10/05 Squamee Amps 258 .5, PMPS 373 .6

Status
Not open for further replies.

judy and squamee(GA)

Member Since 2009
Have not been doing any testing other than preshots, because I am preoccupied with her mouth problem and giving pills. But this increase tonight concerns me. For the first time I have increased her insulin a tiny bit. She ate a lot today, including a whole can of Nutro Max Cat Gourment Classic California Supreme Chicken. Much more food than usual. Don't know if that is because of the phenobarb, tho I believe that it sometimes a side effect. I don't usually give her the Nutro, I just happened to find a can. Perhaps the carbs are higher on that? I will have to check before I give it again. If that is not the case, I am wondering what happened and will try to do some more testing. (probably can't tomorrow, but Thursday and Friday are possible).
She is eating better since the Phenobarb, but still has some jaw symptoms. And when we first started it she seemed much more herself, but now there is something odd about her---I can't really put my finger on it. The house has gotten a little smelly and I don't know where it is coming from. I wonder if she has had any more seizures and urinated somewhere.

I just checked Janet's list and the food supposedly only has 9 carbs. Hmmmm?
 
well, you have done a fair amount of mid testing.. it looks like you never if once perhaps hit the greens thus upping the dose before tonights pink might have been ok. i suppose you could stick with this dose even if you get back to your yellow amps pmps.
so much of the begining and middle of your chart i could not understand. what am i missing?
 
Starting a new med is always an adjustment period. I'm glad she's eating better. Things will settle down, you may have to adjust the insulin around the new med.
 
ok, i think i get it a little better now. the whole section between 8/16 to 8/30 i did'nt know those #'s in 200's were hours since last shot! :lol:
but then from 8/31 for a week maybe 2 there were some pretty high numbers that apparently were not shot...i was wondering what happened during that time.
 
Her mouth symptoms that had disappeared a year ago, returned. Took her to a dental specialist, who extracted 2 teeth, but she was still having problems eating. Vet gave her a long lasting steroid shot (whichstopped the symptoms last year). She becomes diabetic on steroids, but the vet did not want to treat her until she stayed in the mid 300 range. So much has happened that at the moment, I don't remember his reasoning. She had a seizure and that made him more wary about any possible low BG levels. Anyhow, people here convinced me I ought to be treating her for the diabetes, so I convinced the vet to put her on ProZiinc.
 
ahh ok, that story is so familiar i think i read it here before. sorry if you have already posted about it. do you agree you could climb the dose by a hair even if you go back to the 200's.
i do remember...fear of seizures kept you from shooting any higher. gator was in on it?
 
hard to believe that raise of .1u could make a really significant difference but you never know. squamee is doing nicely.
 
Hey Judy,
Just dropping in. I'm on a extended trip right now and will not be around as much in October. So good to hear things are moving along and that you feel confident to adjust the insulin dose as needed. How do you feel about the choice of phenobarb over the gabapentin? I know nothing about the facial syndrome so only you know what's best there. Also have you tried/or even think necessary "titrating" - adjust from low to higher - the dose of the phenobarb? We're finding that with F that we've had to adjust some of the pain oriented meds down a little to not make him sleepy/narced etc.
 
I havent looked at his ss but if he is eating more (because his mouth feels better) he probably will need more insulin to keep the numbers down. So it probably has less to do with the 9 carb food, and more to do with quantity consumed.
IMO don't restrict food, just up the insulin carefully.
 
Gator,
The protocol I found to give my vet suggested using Phenobarb before trying Gabapentin (I am not sure why---maybe because Gabapentin is newer and less tested?), so although it is Gabapentin I am nost interested in, it seemed reasonable that the vet wanted to follow the protocol. At the moment, titrating would be a problem. THe pills are 15mg and very tiny. And I am already splitting them in half---so I would have to get them in some other form What did you use? ALso, at the moment we are not really concerned with her drowziness (unless it is extreme) as much as with its effectiveness in removing the mouth symptom. SO far the mouth problem is less, but not gone. Actually, I am hoping to get the vet to move on to gabapentin by pointing that out to him.
 
Thanks for the explanation.

If you felt you would want to try the smaller doses in a more manageable way you might be able to have a compounding pharmacy mix it up into a liquid. So it would be X mg/ml then you could give Y ml. For instance, 15 mg/ml at you current dose [7mg] would be .5ml. 10mg/ml might be a good concentration too since the math would be easy?? Anyway, you would need to find a compounding pharmacy that also carried the pet flavors [I imagine most do]. I had a heck of a time using google to find one near you but if you use the Professional Compounding Centers?? of America [PCCA] website finder tool it seems to have a better way of finding PCCA associated ones near you:
http://www.pccarx.com/CompounderSearch.aspx

F like the tuna flavor and most times laps up his meds - no need to shoot them into the kisser with the syringe.

This is all general FYI - if you are happy with the success you are having now then no reason to change that up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top