10/05 Nelli +9.5 139 PMPS 176

Luci was supposed to be left at the vet in the morning - so no shot/food in the a.m. - I was able to take her home after 5 and she got her p.m. shot with food at home (after testing)...I'll look at my SS to see the exact date and notes...
Thanks... when you have a chance...
I have to run out for about 30 minutes, back briefly and I will check in then out again for about an hour. Yes it’s been quite an unbelievable day- God knows… God does know how well I will sleep tonight! Now, Nelli, HeLlO Nelli?!? Are you going to head down into lagoon tonight, Nelli, pumpkin face... hello!?
Me up and going at 4:30a tomorrow morning... whew. Well worth, any and all:cat::bighug: :)!
 
I am so glad that you figured the high numbers out! Yes, peas and tapioca would = higher carbs.

I did the same thing as Chris, "forgot" my Lantus and told them not to worry, he would get it at PMPS time. If you don't do that they can screw up your shot times BIG time!
Exactly what I was thinking - Chris's comment above - they don't know what they're doing was on point - what are they thinking? Going to check. See high BG. Shoot insulin??? Seriously? The vet standard of 2 units? Oh boy .... :( Not on my cat...not over my dead body. Grrr:banghead:
 
vet standard of 2 units? Oh boy .... :(
Yep... not quite my original experience- Blue pearl ER prescribed one unit at inception.
48 hours later,d new vet told me to up dose, two units!?!
This is when I researched, researched... kept researching feline diabetes and continued to end up on FDMP :)!
When I first posted, I must say (because I’ve never forgotten-)... I posted, “started on one 1u according to ‘script. Two days later, new vet, first visit told me to up- 2u.
So, of course I did?
A senior member made the remark to me back then... well you didn’t have to do it. (???). My ego felt so stupid and my responsibility to Nelli care, so negligent :-(...
My experience with FDMB quickly rose to good then great :)!!
Fast forward to today :bighug:...
FDMB is a God send, lifesaver for Nelli and I. I can’t express enough appreciation, warm, warmie, warm feelings toward this group :).
You all are amazingly awesome :), and Nelli, we thank you ❤️:bighug:
 
Last edited:
Only if your vet knows that's what you're going to do and approves it......even though the newer protocol says to feed a small meal and give 1/2 dose, if your vet doesn't know how to handle it, it could risk Nelli's health
I will feed couple tablespoons at 11p night before and at 7a. No AM shoot.
My understanding is that Nelli will start going under between 10 (not before) and 10:30. 2 tablespoons of food at 7a and 11p I don’t think will be a problem?
 
Last edited:
I was going to suggest "forgetting" the insulin too. I had two different experiences with dental. Regular vet was no food after midnight, 1/2 dose in the AM before dropping her off and half dose in PM. Dental specialist was 1/3 of meal up to 6 AM, 1/2 dose in the AM, regular dose in the PM. I mostly followed that except when Neko looked like she was going low that day. I gave her a token 0.1 unit dose, and she still got to 72 on the AT at the clinic. :eek:

Differences are from? Different types of anesthesia induction drug, vet experience. Some drugs lower the BG, some don't. I started going to the dental specialist once Neko had a heart murmur, because they did extra operative monitoring,

Another couple things, being a used Tshirt of yours or a towel you have rubbed on for her kennel to have smell of home. Plus some of her own food so they don't feed her junk when they wake her up.

Sending good dental vines. :bighug:
 
Thank you so much @Wendy&Neko :). I appreciate your words of wisdom.
When you say Neko looked like she was going low that day do you mean based upon early PM test/numbers?

This is Nelli cardiologist notes from (May 3, 2018) last exam:
Anesthesia: There is a moderate increased risk for complications under anesthesia. Some precautions are recommended to minimize this risk. Premedication with a combination of an opioid and a benzodiazepine are recommended to minimize the doses of induction agent and inhalant needed. Standard induction with propofol or alfaxan just to effect should be tolerated. A reduced surgical rate of fluids of 5ml/kg/hr is recommended while monitoring blood pressure. If hypotensive, it is recommended to reduce the inhalant if possible. If not responsive a conservative fluid bolus can be administered and the rate increased. Atropine or glycopyrrolate may be used intra-operatively if needed to treat bradycardia but are not recommended as premedication.”

Would this be acceptable guidelines, to you?
 
Last edited:
a used Tshirt of yours or a towel you have rubbed hon for her kennel to have smell of home.
OMG... Nellie has, in her little (large and heavy for God Sakes... what am I thinking “little”?!), carrier my organic cotton Coyuchi Spa bathrobe, folded up in bumper style just perfectly, then sprayed with Feliway :).
 
When you say Neko looked like she was going low that day do you mean based upon early PM test/numbers?
After a while I got to know Neko's patterns and could almost guess where she was headed based on her numbers for the previous couple of cycles and the AMPS before we left. They tested her BG right before induction and after. Thankfully induction raised her BG's a little bit.

What your cardiologist suggests sounds a lot like what Neko's dental specialist did. He consulted with Neko's cardio vet before hand. Induction was with alfaxan with her regular buprenorphine before hand.
 
Back
Top