10/05 Mačka AMPS 415, +6 82, +7.5 86, +8 114, +11 348 - Greens today!

Penelope and Mačka

Member Since 2019
Hi all,

it happened, Macka is in the greens... I'm panicking.
I came back from work and found that he plunged from 415 to 82 @+6.
I gave him 2 spoons of MC 12% and 1/2 can of 5.5oz recovery (3%), and one and a half hour later, he is at 86 (+7.5), meaning that he was on a mission to go further down. I just gave him 1 more spoon of MC 15%.

I am not used to this and very scared. Should I test again in 1/2 hour?

Also, I'm back on SLGS because I started working again (yes!!!!) this week and it's just too much. So he's getting a reduction tonight.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...rays-update-hepatomegaly.219936/#post-2453462
 
Last edited:
This is great news! it's exciting to see Macka in greens, it looks like he is breaking through his glucose toxicity.

I think testing in another half hour is a good idea (10 mins from now?)
 
oh good, I would grab another test at +8.5 and if he is still coming up I would stop with MC and start with LC if youre worried. On SLGS that is a reduction.

Congrats on going back to work Btw! that is great news :D:D
 
This is great news! it's exciting to see Macka in greens, it looks like he is breaking through his glucose toxicity.

I think testing in another half hour is a good idea (10 mins from now?)
Thanks! yes, looks like it! I wonder how tonight's gonna look like.... :eek: I just tested (could not wait), 114 :)
 
oh good, I would grab another test at +8.5 and if he is still coming up I would stop with MC and start with LC if youre worried. On SLGS that is a reduction.

Congrats on going back to work Btw! that is great news :D:D
I am stopping MC yes! It looks like he was going to go lower without it!
Funny thing is, I had a feeling today it would happen. I asked my husband to leave food out for me this AM, which he forgot, and when I rushed home, here I find my cat in the greens...
 
Guys, my heart is pounding really hard. I can't believe I am getting there (maybe?), at least we are getting somewhere that is not flat pinks.
What is the lowest I should shoot at tonight, imagining he does not go back to the pinks?
 
Guys, my heart is pounding really hard. I can't believe I am getting there (maybe?), at least we are getting somewhere that is not flat pinks.
What is the lowest I should shoot at tonight, imagining he does not go back to the pinks?
I don’t think I have enough experience to advise. Jackson is really flat so I have a number in my mind for him only. The official rules say at 150 you could skip, at 200 you could reduce, depending on your cat’s response to insulin.
 
Jackson is really flat so I have a number in my mind for him only.
Yes, that's a blessing to not have rollercoaster cycles! I don't think I can skip with a DKA, that's the thing. And also, I am not sure how he responds to insulin, since he was not really responding until this afternoon.... well, we'll have to learn along the way!
 
Looking at your spreadsheet, you've shot a couple yellows, but they were a long time ago on a much lower dose. I'd say, if he's yellow or lower, do a stall (don't feed, test again in 30mins) and post here for help. If he is indeed breaking through some glucose toxicity, you'll want someone with experience with that process to advise.

That said, I'm betting that he will almost certainly go into a champion bounce tonight and it will be moot, but these kitties do like to surprise us!
 
Penelope, maybe grab a +11 tonight and post then, that way we will have a little idea on where Macka is going before anyone gives advice. In your post make sure to mention if you can monitor or not, and that you think Macka is breaking through some Glucose toxicity :)
 
Yeah! Finally a breakthrough from all those high numbers! Congratulations on that! Yes, I know the first time you see green numbers it's almost unbelievable isn't it!! But very exciting. So good that he's finally hit those healing numbers and spent a little time in the lagoon.

Keep up the good work :)
 
meaning that he was on a mission to go further down.
You have no way of knowing that. It’s unfortunate you gave higher carb, cause now we don’t know what he would have done on his own. Normally we give low carb when they first see greens to help them surf those healing numbers. Higher carbs after nadir also shortens insulin duration, resulting in higher preshots.
Weird thing is, he was hungry, but would not go to his food by himself.
He wasn’t in the danger zone, maybe he didn’t feel the need to eat at those safe numbers.
The official rules say at 150 you could skip, at 200 you could reduce, depending on your cat’s response to insulin.
No, it says that for newbies, which Penelope no longer is. For experienced caregivers with data, no shooting under 90. Obviously you gradually lower the no shoot number to get there. As I expected, he will bounce. I think you could shoot anything over 150 in a similar situation, given the data you have, and if you can monitor.

Green is good. Even better Macka was in no danger today. Congrats on the reduction, and the new job.
 
Back
Top