10/05 Bernie PMPS: 272

Bernie’s No Good, Very Bad Day

(05:57AM) AMPS: 163
Bernie is frisky as can be, loving the cooler weather. Test-shoot-feed. Bernie is a grazer. She sniffs her food, takes one lick, and walks off. This is nothing new. DH is getting ready for work, and Bernie (who is absolutely in love with him) is following him around, meowing, blocking doorways, trying to get him to stay. DH leaves, and Bernie is pouting at the front door.
When Bernie was on ProZinc, once she started seeing greens, she stopped being interested in food unless she was in the 70s-80s. I think to myself she’s probably not that hungry because she’s in the mid-blues, but she’ll surely get hungry in an hour or so. I didn’t pester her and checked her at +2.

+2 BG: 129
I began to worry that she was heading into an active cycle and still hadn’t eaten. I followed her around for 30 minutes and offered her her normal AM food combo in every location of the house. I remixed it, sprinkled FortiFlora on it, and held the bowl to her head, so she didn’t have to move from her lizard-watching perch on the cat tree, and finally got her to eat 0.7oz. She didn’t want any more, so I gave her a break.

+3.5 BG: 72 o_O
Uh oh. I think “well, at least she’ll be hungry now.” WRONG.
I tried to get her to eat more food - not interested. I offered her a different flavor of food, in a new bowl, with MC, because she loves it and I wanted to blunt the drop - minimally interested. She picked at it, slowly, for 20 minutes.
Bernie’s grompiness rating: 3/10

+4 BG: 62
Bernie is done with me. :arghh: She wants nothing to do with any more of my nonsense BG checks. I can’t coax her over with forbidden goods, and she won’t come out from under the bed, not even for her very favorite brush, she is so upset. :(:(
I manage to reach her under the bed and pull my poor baby out. This did not help her grompiness. She is actively trying to run away, so I shut her in the bathroom with me. I try putting MC and HC wet next to her nose - not interested. I put a small glob of HC in her mouth - she spit it out. I’m pleading with her to eat, telling her I’m sorry she doesn’t feel good - she ain’t having’ it. She refused any more MC, HC wet, her old HC kibble, CatLax (it’s for hairballs, but it’s super high in sugar and she usually loves it), and karo voluntarily. At a loss for any other way to stop the drop, I decided to try rubbing a small amount karo on her gums and syringing some into her mouth. I know - she wasn’t under 50, but she was going down, fast, and I was trying to stop her drop by any means possible at that point.:(
Bernie’s grompiness: 7/10

+4.25 BG: 55 :oops:
On average, she’s been dropping 10 mg/dL every 15 minutes for the past 2.25 hours, despite food and karo. I’m home alone with her, her normal vet is 15 min away and is social distancing, so I cannot just jump out of my car and run into their office with her, I have to call and wait for them to come get her from my car, so I add another 10 minutes to my mental calculation. She’ll be in a carrier and I won’t be able to syringe karo to her during this time. This does not bode well for her BG, but it’s the only option left. I pick her up, put her in her carrier, and she BUSTS OUT. She bolts under the couch, but not the normal couch - no, no, this crafty lady bolts under the recliner couch and wraps herself around a beam so that I can’t pull her out and can’t tip the couch back, without risking hurting her. I lay on the floor, begging her to come out, and finally reach her and pull her out. By this time, I’m certain it’s time for another check and run back to the bathroom, Bernie tucked under my arm.
Bernie’s grompiness: 4,912/10

+4.33 BG: 64
Relieved, I check the time and realize it was not, in fact, time for another check, and had only been 5 minutes. Longest 5 minutes of my life :blackeye::p
Still refusing to eat anything, I opt for more karo. At this point, karo is everywhere - all over her mouth, her whiskers, her neck, the floor, the glucometer, the couch, my clothes. Bernie is absolutely miserable, continuously growling at me and occasionally trying pulling away. So, there we sit, on the bathroom floor, both crying - Bernie covered in karo, me covered in my kids’ Halloween candy, staring at the clock.
Bernie’s grompiness: 9/10

+4.5 BG: 83
Hallelujah! She seems way less agitated and is starting to get hungry. She refused all the wet but ate HC kibble, and at that point, I couldn’t have cared less. I was just thankful she was eating anything at all. “You want kibble, B? Here you go, eat as much as you want!” :cat:

+5 BG: 105
:):):)
She’s come up, and has eaten actual food. She’s purring and letting me snuggle her :cat:
Clearly, we’re out of the woods, right?

WRONG, AGAIN.

+6 BG: 67 :banghead:
No longer hungry. Back to being very agitated. Back to refusing all forms of food.
Karo-crying-Halloween candy, rinse-wash-repeat.

+6.25 BG: 65
:banghead::banghead::banghead:

+6.5 BG: 83
Less angry, and hungry again. This time, she snuffs the HC kibble, but willingly accepted Dr. Elsey’s kibble, and ate a good portion of it. :cat:

+7 BG: 130
Lots of napping, and even got some purrs. This has to be the end of the roller coaster, right?

+8 BG: 182
I think we’re finally in the clear.


That was exhausting. I’ve never been so scared in my life, and Bernie was miserable. I’m seriously considering taking a break from TR for a while and switching back to SLGS. All I can think is, what if I hadn’t been home? What if I had been home, but was in the middle of a Zoom call and couldn’t check her in time? What if this had happened overnight and I slept through an alarm? I’m almost certain I’ve made up my mind. I’ll continue mulling it over tonight.

Hope everyone is having a good day, so far!
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I had been thinking the same terrifying thoughts back when Butters was in all those greens. I felt like TR wasn't going to be sustainable for me and her for a long period of time.:eek::nailbiting: I was using it because she seemed to maybe indicate there could be a very small chance for remission. But that's the only reason I personally continued TR for as long as I did.
If you feel like you need a break and want to do SLGS for a while, then why not! The important thing is that Bernie is safe and you shouldn't have to worry and stress all of the time. If you wanted to switch to SLGS and then go back to TR later, you can always do that too. You aren't committed to either one for forever!:bighug:
 
Wow, Megan, I'm sorry you and Bernie endured that today :bighug: You can always switch to SLGS...and technically speaking I think if Bernie will only eat kibble when she's low then you should (I think actual TR protocol says no dry food...). I'd get some more input here on this point.

On a lighter note, you are a wonderful story teller :cat: Hang in there :bighug:

ETA - you could also ask more experienced folks about a modified SLGS (i.e. one with a lower reduction point).
 
That was quite the roller coaster day :nailbiting:. I'm glad Bernie is doing well now. It's very stressful when their numbers start dropping and you can't trust that they'll be ok through it all.
Do you usually shoot and then feed? Or was that out of the ordinary for you?
Also, on a side note, that was very descriptive. I could just see how it all played out. :p
Bernie, don't stress your mom out like that!! :bighug:
 
Okay so, horrible day (even if you do manage to make it sound hilarious, you certainly have a way with words!) :bighug: but I think this is where your helicopter rotors in super overdrive may have got you into a bit of trouble. Yes it would have been nice to be able to curtail the drop, especially given that she just got a reduction so had nothing to prove by dropping under 50 again so soon but it wasn’t essential she eat and, cats being cats, the more you try and force something the more they object :rolleyes:

99.99% of kitties will eat in response to low numbers 99.9% of the time - Vyktor was also a grazer and was free fed, a couple of time he alerted me to low numbers (30s and low 40s) by clearing his bowl - and if they refuse to eat (which did happen once for us after a longer period under 50 when he just wasn’t hungry anymore) you still have the syrup option. I think, chances are if you weren’t both so upset by the time she got a bit further down she would have eaten just fine - but you know Bernie best so if you think I’m wrong about that then I might be. This is not in any way, shape or form a judgment on you or your reactions, I do understand why you reacted the way that you did and it’s a very human response from someone that loves their cat dearly, I’m just trying to help you to perhaps think a little differently next time.

Because of the way her dose has been raised and because there aren’t any other issues in play (that I’m aware of) we know that she’s not been heavily overdosed with lantus so the chances of a symptomatic hypo requiring vet intervention are extremely low.


Bernie, what can I say, some days it’s just lucky you’re so darn cute! Please take it a bit easier on your mom.
 
Thanks for your kindness, everyone! I love this forum so much - it’s everything that’s right with the world :):bighug:

Bernie is currently splooted in the middle of the living room, enjoying her carb coma. Her PMPS was up to 272, and I’ve never been happier to see yellows LOL ;):p

I tried giving her wet food, and she was mildly interested - I think she ate about 0.4oz? I caved and gave her Dr. Elsey’s. She was elated to have kibble. I was elated she ate it :cat:

I considered skipping her shot entirely tonight, but didn’t want her to skyrocket over night. I gave her a BCS of 2u (her half-dose would’ve been 1.875u), in case she gets fussy with eating her usual snacks later in the cycle and to give her a break tonight. Now to figure out tomorrow’s dosing...

The important thing is that Bernie is safe and you shouldn't have to worry and stress all of the time. If you wanted to switch to SLGS and then go back to TR later, you can always do that too.
So true! I feel guilty switching her off TR, but you’re so right, I can always switching back later :)

On a lighter note, you are a wonderful story teller :cat: Hang in there :bighug:
Aw, thanks! This poor cat must’ve thought I had lost my marbles LOLOL

I think if Bernie will only eat kibble when she's low then you should (I think actual TR protocol says no dry food...)
Oh, that’s true, I forgot about that, thank you for reminding me! I’ve had good luck with the MC and HC wet with her so far and haven’t had to use kibble to boost her since switching to TR, but she likes keepin’ me on my toes, so another box checked for SLGS ;)

modified SLGS (i.e. one with a lower reduction point)
Ooo, I like this idea! I’m definitely going to look into this, thank you for the suggestion!

Do you usually shoot and then feed? Or was that out of the ordinary for you?
Also, on a side note, that was very descriptive. I could just see how it all played out. :p
Thank you! :) And yes, she’s a professional grazer and runs away from her shots (she doesn’t mind the ears so much, but she is not a fan of her insulin shots), so I started shooting her right after her BGL and then plopping her down immediately in front of food. When I started, I was test-feed-shooting, but some days, she took 4 hours to finish “breakfast,” or she’d take a few nibbles, see the insulin syringe, and then bolt. She’s usually good with grazing, as long as she eats 0.5oz-1oz off the bat, but, even then, it’s hard to tell what she’s gonna do. Most mornings, she’s usually super hungry and wakes me up early to eat, but by PMPS, she sometimes won’t start eating until 1.5-2hr after her shot. On those days, she usually wolfs it down if I sprinkle FortiFlora on it or switch up the flavors for her, but she wasn’t having it today hah :p Maybe her tummy was upset from the HC food I gave her yesterday? It was the first time I’d tried that brand and it was for sensitive stomachs, but this afternoon, she had crazy diarrhea (granted, it may also have been from the excessive amount of karo she got LOL).
Poor Bernie can’t catch a break today :oops:

So, with SLGS, what dose would I start her at tomorrow? She just got a reduction yesterday from 4u to 3.75u, so do I keep her at 3.75u, and count today as depot overlap, knowing it’ll be less dramatic tomorrow (with the BCS I gave her tonight)? Or does today qualify as another reduction and I go to 3.5u?
 
I think this is where your helicopter rotors in super overdrive may have got you into a bit of trouble.
Hah, so true!! It definitely threw me for a loop that she was refusing everything - she’s never refused kibble or CatLax, so when she wouldn’t take either, my mind immediately went to not being able to stop her drop if she kept going down, and I 100% pushed trying to get her to eat harder (probably more like 500% LOL). DH said basically the same thing when he got home - he laughed and was like, “she was probably just freaked out by how freaked out you were.” Guiltyyy ;)
She’s woken me up a couple times to let me know she needed food when her BG was in the 50-60s overnight too, so that definitely added fuel to the fire when she still wouldn’t eat and she was in those numbers. But, then again, yesterday, she got to 44 and was fast asleep; I caught it by dumb luck and would’ve never known - this silly kitty keeps throwing me curveballs :p

cats being cats, the more you try and force something the more they object :rolleyes:
LOL! How do they always know?! The little stinkers :p
 
So, with SLGS, what dose would I start her at tomorrow? She just got a reduction yesterday from 4u to 3.75u, so do I keep her at 3.75u, and count today as depot overlap, knowing it’ll be less dramatic tomorrow (with the BCS I gave her tonight)? Or does today qualify as another reduction and I go to 3.5u?
If you want dosing advice, you might want to throw up the ? in your title and add a few words like "Dosing Advice needed". If it were my cat, I'd officially start SLGS in the morning at your 3.75u dose butttt get advice from the more experienced folks :bighug:
 
Back
Top