10/04 J.D. PMPS 268 - Dental?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
199 PMPS
238 +2.75
141 +5.25
108 +8.75
184 +11

J.D. ate most of his 1st Breffis, once I added topping.

On Monday, when I went to the new vet to get J.D.'s blood pressure checked, we talked about getting him a dental, and I got a tour of the hospital. I called yesterday afternoon, because I thought they were going to send me a quote and I remember discussing whether I wanted it mailed or emailed, and I think I said I wanted it called in to me. I did not receive anything, so called yesterday and it was the doctor's day off, so she should be calling me today.
In the mean time, yesterday morning, I had emailed Red Bank Veterinary Hospital and inquired about a dental there. A vet tech called me back and I said I wanted the best vet, and she said that they have a vet that comes down from Canada once a month
Dr. James Anthony and he has an opening next Tuesday! nailbite_smile I told her I would think about it. It is an hour and a half drive, at least, during cummute hour and of course they want me to admit him at 8:30am and pick him up at 5:00pm, so if I go, I will wait in the waiting room all that time, I guess. In November, the Dr. will be available on 11/14 and we are leaving for California in the wee hours of 11/18, so that is out. I emailed them again last night to see what they have open in December and January, in case I chicken out on Tuesday. If I go Tuesday, then I'll take Tuesday and Wednesday off.
Do you think that will be long enough?
 
Re: 10/04 J.D. AMPS 198 - Dental?

Wow, Tuesday, that's right around the corner! But probably best to get it done and have it behind you, right? What do you mean by asking if "that will be long enough"? You mean, taking 2 days off, and whether that's long enough for J.D. to recover from everything while you're home to watch him? If that's what you meant - I think it might depend on how the dental would go, right? If they have to do extractions or not, and so on.

Myself, I probably always try to go sooner rather than later - then at least it's behind you :smile:

Did the kitties get their morning walk today?
How are you today?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/04 J.D. AMPS 198, +1 173 - Dental?

Yes, that's what I meant. I'm pretty sure he's going to have extractions.
I, am tired. Never enough sleep. I wonder if they give me until Monday to decide :-D I really can't wait that long, as I have to give my boss the time schedule for my department for next week, today.
And, J.D. doesn't feel like eating much this morning. I gave him some cypro about 5 minutes ago.
Yes, they got a brief walk.

Okay, gotta get ready for work.. Thanks for replying.
Have a Great Day!
 
Re: 10/04 J.D. AMPS 198, +1 173 - Dental?

Hmm. Well, when Maggie had her extraction (that broken tooth from someone kicking her in the face... Bastard, whoever it was! I wish them luck in their next life as a toilet brush...), she was a bit sore the day she had the procedure and the next, so about 36 hours. After that, she was okay, she ate her normal food again (well, ok, she ate the soft soft FF, not the chunks in her raw food, but still, she ate).

You have seen Sienne's post on Dentals, right? Just in case :smile:

I'm sure J.D. will come through it all just fine. You'll make the right decision about when to do it.

Have a great day, as well :mrgreen:
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/04 J.D. AMPS 198, +1 173 - Dental?

Hi guys .. nice numbers today! Good luck with the dental when you do decide to do it .. we drove two hours one way for mocha to have her one and only dental at a cat dental specialist .. it was $$$$$ .. she had 9 teeth extracted .. we waited in the general area the whole time, and then drove her back home the same night .. Peter went to work the next day, but I was here with her and she showed no signs of distress at all .. She was eating just fine the night she came home .. have a great day!
 
Re: 10/04 J.D. AMPS 198, +1 173 - Dental?

I agree -- it's 24 - 36 hours for Gabby to get back to normal. My only concern is that if there is any sort of problem, would you have to drive back to the clinic where the dental was done for treatment? Are you any closer to U of Penn?
 
Re: 10/04 J.D. AMPS 198, +1 173 - Dental?

Looking good JD!
Dentals are always scary, especially when it's their first time. But getting it done sooner than later will only help JD.
All my kitties did well after their dentals. Always groggy when they get home but by the next day they were well on their way to being their normal selves, so yes, two day should be good enough...unless there are complications (God forbid those) and you may need longer.

I also am going to echo what Sienna said about the fact that if anything goes wrong you would have that long drive back to the hospital. That is something to consider. The new vet...how many dentals does he have under his belt?
 
Re: 10/04 J.D. AMPS 198, +1 173 - Dental?

I know that's been weighing heavily on your mind and a hard decision.
I am likely to face it again myself.
Have to weigh the quality of life issue of how much it helps them overall vs not doing it and always the sooner the better as they don't get younger.
Prayers for no complications and fast recovery for J.D.
It's so very hard to do with underlying fears. :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 10/04 J.D. AMPS 198, +1 173 - Dental?

just wanted to add.
I have always stayed with shadow until the very moment they are going to start the procedure.
I hold her and let her hide under my shirt while the pre-anesthesia takes effect. They just leave us in one of the waiting rooms and then I carry her to the table when they
are ready to start. I stay with her until the very last second that I can.
They know how stressed she gets and want to keep her as calm as we can. ( and me too. )

I always do that to minimize her time in a cage waiting for them to be ready to start....
I think that really spikes her fears....
 
Re: 10/04 J.D. AMPS 198, +1 173 - Dental?

Sienne and Gabby said:
I agree -- it's 24 - 36 hours for Gabby to get back to normal. My only concern is that if there is any sort of problem, would you have to drive back to the clinic where the dental was done for treatment? Are you any closer to U of Penn?
U of Penn is slightly closer. I have not asked them if they do dentals. Should I?
The big Red Bank Veterinary Hospital in Red Bank NJ has like satelite locations and one is right around the corner (25 minutes) from me Red Bank Hillsborough that does not list dentals on their seperate websites. Maybe, I could go there if there was a need? I'll ask.
 
Re: 10/04 J.D. AMPS 198, +1 173 - Dental?

Hi Dyana, I just looked at the Red Bank site that you linked to and the site looks amazing, I was impressed! If it was me I`d definitely call and see about doing it there. So close, and they look worth checking out to me. Just my 2 cents.. And also, thank you so much for the heads up on our bg's yesterday, you helped avoid a potentially dramatic situation! Good luck with the dental :razz:
 
Re: 10/04 J.D. AMPS 198, +1 173 - Dental?

Thank you. I am heavily leaning toward going on Tuesday.
I got most of questions answered today. I asked about insulin dose the day of, and the girl said that the Dr. may be calling me back himself.

Last time J.D. had a dental I gave him half his dose in the morning, but that was 04/09. I don't know the way he dives now, if I should give him any insulin.
 
Good luck on deciding when to do the dental for J.D. When Furball had her dental, I skipped her shot because she was too low for me to be comfortable with giving the shot and her not eating. She did go pretty high that evening, but she came back down the next day. The vet told me I could give half her usual dose the morning of the dental, but I was glad I skipped. It gave me peace of mind.
 
Good luck with making the decision about dental Dyana. When Ella got her full mouth extractions, I didn't take any time off but I sure wanted to. Two days sounds like ample time to make sure he eats and is comfortable etc.
 
Hi Dyana,

Rusty had a tooth extracted this spring. All went fine and he was eating normally that night. I was told not to give insulin on the morning of the procedure, and not to feed him. His bgs went up, of course, but they went back down the next day.

Good luck. It sounds like a good dental program there. I wish we had access to a real feline dentist, a facility with a dental x-ray machine, etc. etc.. But our vet did a good job.

Will be sending good dental vines your way on Tuesday,

Ella & Rusty
 
As long as you have a plan in of off chance that J.D. needs follow-up. If you want to take the 2 hr. trek, that's fine. I would make sure to get a copy of his records before you leave so if you do need to use a local vet, they will have the information they need.

BTW: I'm certain that Penn does dentals. It's a vet school.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top