10/04 Cooper PMPS 83/stall: 85 +2 65 +3 57 +4 61 +5 58 +6 62

Gabrielle17

Member Since 2023
Good morning :coffee:

Cooper ate this morning, hooray! And last night too. Still had to coax him a bit, and it took him forever to finish, but I'm just happy he ate! Yesterday I was all upset because I convinced myself that something is wrong with him, and I'll get bad news at the vet...lol.

Anyway, I really hope this was his last day being pink! I wonder if the sudden spikes that he has been having at +2 are because he's eating his meals so slowly? They have still been LC so far, so I don't know.


Yesterday's thread:
https://orders.entinuum.com/Orders/FulfilmentCore.aspx?OrderID=5644876
 
Hi Gabrielle, yay for Cooper eating well. That’s always welcome news. I hope he slides down soon with no drama. Be good, Cooper! Have a great day :bighug::bighug:
 
So happy to hear that Cooper's appetite is coming back! You must feel so relieved!
As long as our kitties eat, play, sleep and generally being happy, we are doing something right for them, regardless of the preshot numbers!
At least, that's what I am telling myself everyday :p
Have a wonderful day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Gabrielle, yay for Cooper eating well. That’s always welcome news. I hope he slides down soon with no drama. Be good, Cooper! Have a great day :bighug::bighug:

Thank you! We will see what he is feeling like today lol! I hope you have a great day as well!
 
Read this at post #6 it's great at giving courage shooting a low number :cat:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...combining-merging-protocols-good-idea.111088/

Thank you, that was really helpful! :)

I gave him the shot awhile ago. He ate a few good spoonfuls of his food, but I have noticed that—like you said Cleo does—these days he likes to go back to it a little later. He's been a grazer.

That being said, it's made his snacks get a little off track. He didn't really want either snack today because he finished his breakfast around +3. Maybe that's why he stayed green so long.
 
That being said, it's made his snacks get a little off track. He didn't really want either snack today because he finished his breakfast around +3. Maybe that's why he stayed green so long.
Interesting...make a note of it somewhere - I'd put it in the comments section so you'll have a reference if/when it happens again. See you at +2!

ETA - is he getting enough calories for his ideal weight?
Typically, when a cat gets used to normal BGs they're not as ravenous.
 
This is your first :D PS
You've earned these:

upload_2023-10-4_18-3-49.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-10-4_18-3-49.png
    upload_2023-10-4_18-3-49.png
    245.3 KB · Views: 372
ETA - is he getting enough calories for his ideal weight?
Typically, when a cat gets used to normal BGs they're not as ravenous.

I was actually going to ask the vet if there was any way I could get more calories into him without messing up his BG. I don't think he is getting enough because he really never put on much weight, and now it really looks as if he lost any progress he made. Hip bones are still extremely prominent. :(
 
Food composition is typically protein, fat, carb, and some fiber as the major ingredients. If you want a lower carb food, and higher fat, it's likely lower in protein.
 
Food composition is typically protein, fat, carb, and some fiber as the major ingredients. If you want a lower carb food, and higher fat, it's likely lower in protein.

Ah, gotcha. I think I remember learning that at some point in life actually, now that you've said it, hah!
 
What % carb is it? It's a little early in the cycle so I would encourage him to eat even if it's slightly higher end LC.

It was a mix of 2 and 3%, so pretty low, but he finished it! The bugger wanted it hand-fed. :facepalm: Do I need to do anything else for him right now as far as a little bit higher carb snack?
 
Okay, 61 now. He actually ended up eating the tsp of LC that was in his auto feeder, he was eating that when I came in to test him just now (it was set for +3, but he didn't want it at the time). Go figure. Maybe I was too hasty with the mix anyway, perhaps I should save that?
 
He's still just chilling, flaaat! I gave another tsp of LC. Thankfully he actually really wanted that snack lol.

Edited to add: if he is still flat around +7, should I give another snack, or let him be since it's later in the cycle?
 
Hi Gabrielle :) Congrats on the balls of steel :joyful::joyful::joyful: I have fallen out of following you past couple of day. So I'm happy Cooper is eating well for you. I'm familiar with the anxiety it brings and how the imagination brings up the worst case scenario so promptly :banghead:


it's a real joy to see the little ones breaking through glucose toxicity. I'm celebrating with you both wholeheartedly :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top