10/04/13 Jerry AMPS 114 +5 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

HappyCat

Member Since 2013
Jerry has been doing well lately I'm pleased with his progress. Doing great with his diet, coat is coming back to life, water consumption down, and I did notice the other day his urination has gone from around 30-40 seconds to about 7 seconds. Great improvement keep it up buddy! :mrgreen:
I do have a question if anyone is able to help with an answer. I've gotten into a batch of syringes that don't have the half unit markings, as a newbie it sure gets tricky eyeballing it so just for the record that's why there's the * next to his dosing it's an approximation I aim for lower rather than over his dose to be safe. It occurred to me that I should dig out one of his half unit marked syringes for a side by side comparison so I may try that later. I've seen examples online but it's a lot harder in person. Anyhow, my question is about these pain in the butt syringes. What's up with the air bubbles? They come slightly pulled out so there's already air in them, I push it in all the way then pull it back and push back in at least once if not twice and sometimes still get air bubbles. I don't understand why when the insulin doesn't have air in it and I've tried to expel it so where does it come from/how do I avoid this? I hate to have to waste insulin because of air bubbles in it. Thank you!
 
Hi, Sarah, what kind of syringes are you using? Some brands tend to get more air bubbles than others.
I'm so glad Jerry is doing well! :mrgreen:
 
Thank you for the response. The really tricky ones are vet one so I assume they're generic. I have some relion ones I can't wait to get into they can be tricky but not this tricky. I'm not sure if it's Relion or not but I had some ultra comfort syringes that I absolutely adored they had a dark orange/red cap never had issues with air with them they were nice and tight not all loosey goosey like these ones. I should've started with the ones 10 to a package before the good ones individually wrapped like the ultra comfort with the reddish cap then I'd have been a pro by now. Hindsight is 20/20 though of course.
 
U100 insulin syringes should have an orange cap.

When you unwrap the syringe, move the plunger up and down a couple of times to spread the lubricant. Then push the plunger in as hard as you can and insert the needle into the Lantus. When you are drawing up the insulin, do so as slowly as you can. That may help with the bubbles. Beyond that, you may need to flick the syringe to get the bubbles up to the top and centered. The bubbles should be right in the middle so when you expel the extra insulin, the air goes out first. I also twist the plunger in order to "dial in" the dose.

If you want to use the vet's syringes, you might want to invest in a digital caliper. They will help you to dose consistently.
 
Thank you very much for the advice. The air bubbles that did occur were much smaller when slowing it down. Good to know there is a digital caliper I truly learn more every day. I sorted through Jerry's syringes and it was just the ones received from my vet upon diagnosis the "Vet One" brand that doesn't have the half unit markings. Ruins our pleasant experience a bit but that's why we're grateful for you guys.
:-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top