No tests after PMPS as I did about 6 yesterday and more the day before.Did you get any tests after PMPS last night? Did you feed while you stalled? Is 137 after 2 hours of no food?
Did you test again? Next time, do not feed when you stall. We need to know if the number is rising without food.Shoot or no?
I will remember that for next time. But what do I do nowDid you test again? Next time, do not feed when you stall. We need to know if the number is rising without food.
I tested again after eating and it’s now 207.I will remember that for next time. But what do I do now
Then it's best to skip. You haven't shot a blue AMPS yet from what I could see on the SS. Tonight, be sure to test at least one more after PMPS.No I can’t monitor.
Thank you for your help. I will do as you recommend. Thank you.Then it's best to skip. You haven't shot a blue AMPS yet from what I could see on the SS. Tonight, be sure to test at least one more after PMPS.

No DKA before, thank God.Pretty Girl hasn't had DKA before, correct?
Thank you both very much.Chances are she would be OK if you shot, that said you have never shot a blue before and 137 would be the lowest you have ever shot, since you have always skipped before, so you have no way of knowing how the cycle migh pan out. In and ideal world you want to shoot a low blue and monitor the cycle.
It would have been really good to have had just one test in the PM cycle, (as you can see from your own ss one cycle can be very different to the next) that might have given us some indication if she was rising at amps, or if she was dropping into AMPS, and that can help with your decision to shoot or not. Shooting a dropping number can often lead to a much more active than usual cycle. So advice would be different than if we saw a number that was looking flat or rising. If you are up early in the mornings and are able to catch a +11 then that would help you decide what to do with a lower PS.
Because you fed this morning while you were stalling we don't know what the BG was doing since the second BG you got was food influenced and we don't know how much of that was food or insulin wearing off. So next time, if you have a low number and don't know whether you should shoot or not, don't feed and stall, check again in 30min, that will (hopefully) tell you which way numbers are heading.
I agree with Mandy this morning is best to skip as long as there is no history of DKA
Thank you.Grabbing a pm test say just before you go to bed can give you an idea if you are missing any lows, or if she is just running high and flat. It helps build a much better picture of her BG, this can help when it comes to making dosing decisions or indeed help you to make a more informed choice in the morning if you are faced with a lower than usual amps.
Some cats get hungry and look for food when they drop lower than they are used too. Given this morning's amps it's possible she might have got lower than you think, and her snacking hungrily at +9 was her waywof self regulating. Isshe on just a wet LC diet, I'm not familiar with all the foods you use, I'm in Europe.it's what she ate at PMPS +9 which was this morning at 3 am
Yes LC wet canned food. It is Nature's Variety Instinct Original Chicken and - per Dr. Lisa's chart - 7% carbs and has lots of moisture in it.Some cats get hungry and look for food when they drop lower than they are used too. Given this morning's amps it's possible she might have got lower than you think, and her snacking hungrily at +9 was her waywof self regulating. Isshe on just a wet LC diet, I'm not familiar with all the foods you use, I'm in Europe.
I'm not sure what makes you say that. I don't see anything scary low, on slgs you're looking for numbers 140-90 The blues are good you want to see her in those numbers as most kitties will be under the renal threshold when in blue(varies from cat to cat) and puts less stress on them so it's healthier.. I'm thinking maybe she's one of those kitties that needs just a bit more carbs
Sorry. What I was trying to say is that she seems to be getting lower numbers (blue numbers) from the Nature's Instinct vs the Nature's Logic but maybe that's not true. More testing and trying the food = necessary to really know. Agree that we want the blue numbers. Hard to put in words what I'm trying to say.I'm not sure what makes you say that. I don't see anything scary low, on slgs you're looking for numbers 140-90 The blues are good you want to see her in those numbers as most kitties will be under the renal threshold when in blue(varies from cat to cat) and puts less stress on them so it's healthier.



I'm as sure about the carb content as I can be. Yes, the info is from Dr. Lisa's recent list. And I confirmed the numbers with the manufacturer on the Nature's Logic - have not done that with the Nature's Variety.Sorry I didn't understand. Might be coincide, as you say further testing should confirm.
Are you sure about the carb content? Is the info from Dr Lisa's most recent list? When we say kitties do better with more carb, what often folk are referring to is that it helps keep them flatter. For example some kitties, particularly those prone to fast drops do better with slightly higher low carb at shot time and early in the cycle as they can slow the fast drops and mitigate the bounces.
That said I did notice with George that one particular flavour of LC food from same manufacturer, and in same carb range, caused his BG to spike and he would run higher, I don't know why, perhaps it just didn't agree with him, or maybe he was just being a cat.![]()
I know what you mean about just being a catIt's good to make note of these idiosyncrasies, it will help you manage her fd.
Since you skipped, I would get a test as soon as you finish work if that's before PMPS. When Rex was on insulin, I'd do a +10 when I get off work.How closely do I need to check her during the day today?
I can get a +10 late this afternoon and will do that. Do I need to run home and check her before that?Since you skipped, I would get a test as soon as you finish work if that's before PMPS. When Rex was on insulin, I'd do a +10 when I get off work.
No need for that. You can focus on your work until you are done.Do I need to run home and check her before that?
Thank you! Such a relief.No need for that. You can focus on your work until you are done.
@Mandy & Rex, am I looking for anything in particular with the +10 test?Since you skipped, I would get a test as soon as you finish work if that's before PMPS. When Rex was on insulin, I'd do a +10 when I get off work.
Thank you thank you for the info.Hey, there Jean. The +10 is a good test to get so that when you get the Pre shot test of the next cycle, ( in this case your PMPS) you will know if the PMPS is rising or falling. That knowledge makes it easier to shoot a lower number if you know that she is on the rise.


So unless there's a big change in 2 hours I won't have to worry about shooting. She does sometimes drop into her PMPS. Do we know why that happens?
I told her straight out that I wasn't doing that. Then she also gave a recommended dosing - that I haven't yet followed - based on Pretty Girl's very very high very very stressed out BG reading at the animal hospital. . She does sometimes drop into her PMPS. Do we know why that happens?
Thank you. That is so helpful. Is it possible that she nadirs twice? That's what it often seems like - like maybe at +3.5 and +8.5/9.It looks like to me that sometimes she nadirs late at the pre shot time. But, not always. Remember, these cats have their own rule books.Bubba was a late nadir cat on one of his previous rodeos with insulin ( he is more early now) It made shooting lower numbers easier.
So, for now the more data you can get for strategic times, like the +2 and the +10 will really help you at dose time. But, post if you need help. It all takes times gathering data and examining it and seeing trends and patterns.
They can do what we call double dipping where they nadir and then around +10 they drop again and then go back up.Thank you. That is so helpful. Is it possible that she nadirs twice? That'swhat it often seems like - like maybe at +3.5 and +8.5/9.
The reminder about their own rule books is helpful also. Of course we all know this - but it helps to hear it again.![]()
This is what I've thought happens sometimes - usually ? - with Pretty Girl. But I didn't have a name for it.They can do what we call double dipping where they nadir and then around +10 they drop again and then go back up.


@Mandy & Rex I really don't know the answer to this and need help. If I'm going to work or sleeping and unable to monitor, then probably not too low. It truly terrifiesThat's too bad she went so high, but now you can shoot and get a test or two in before going to bed. Right now, what's the lowest you're comfortable shooting? The more blues you shoot, the more level Pretty Girl will get.