10/03 J.D. AMPS 600

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
545 PMPS
174 +4.25
364 +6.75
598 +9.75

J.D. had another nice poo. Lets see what else. I am happy that his potassium is back within range and his Spec fPL is coming down, and so is his BUN and creatinine and phophorus. Still working on his RBC and HCT and Magnesium, and eating on his own.

Yesterday, I tried to write that I had talked to the Nutritionist Vet and the Internal Medicine Vet, but I guess I timed out and lost all the information. The Nutritionist Vet originally had her assistant call me and tell me that J.D. should not be free fed, but get his all his calories at AMPS and PMPS because he is diabetic. I told her that this did not make sense to me as it's at 12:00pm and 12:00am (or his nadirs) or earlier when he is diving that he needs to eat more and not at AMPS and PMPS when he is HI that he needs to eat. She said we were not on the same page and would have the Nutritionist Vet call me back, which she did. Dr. M called me that evening and agreed that every cat is different and that J.D. should be free fed, and that I could try giving him 80% of his syringes on a day when I am home to monitor him to see if he would eat more on his own. I had questioned and complained or wanted explanation on how when I feed him all his calories for the day between 6:00am 7:30am and then again between 6:00pm and 8:00pm that he is not hungry for hours then and doesn't eat while he's diving.

The Internal Medicine Vet Dr. B called a bit later and said not to worry about the Magnesium (just like the other Internal Medicine Vet Dr. Z said), and to watch the HCT and if he goes lower that we can try an Iron shot that would be good for 3 weeks, I think she said.

I think I remember J.D. crawling all over me in the middle of the night. I can't be sure. I was so tired. I got up at 4:00am to try to get started on a project that my boss wanted done by today, but today says I can have done by Monday :-|

Tomorrow, I sleep all day. And try to give J.D. less food, I guess. Wish us luck. We need it.
 
How frustrating when you get conflicting information from "experts" who actually know less than you do about FD! :roll:

I'm glad most of J.D.'s BW results are good. Now you know what you specifically need to work on.

Yay for nice poo! :-D

Sending lots of good appy vines, and some safe sliding vines to get that number down!
 
Yes, it is baffling when vets disagree especially when one seems text-book wedded without flexibility to consider each cat's unique situation. Thankfully, one took your info about J.D. and allowed it to guide his (her?) thoughts.

Now, J.D., I'm ever so happy to hear that you're a good poopy butt. That's important. Now, two things: eat your noms and bring those numbers down in a slow, steady slide. I'm not asking much. Give it a try.

As always, vines, lots of vines for J.D. You, too, Dyana.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Yay for the poo. I'm glad J.D.'s b/w is looking better. Good luck tomorrow seeing if J.D. will eat more while you're home. Sending good appy vines. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Hooray for the weekend! I hope J.D. comes down a bit for you. Good news on the poop. And it is great news that his labs are coming down to better values.

Yes, it is kind of disturbing that the specialists can't get on the same page with such basic things like nutrition. Especially since it is common knowledge that many smaller meals (or free feeding) are much better for FD kitties.

Get some rest this weekend, Dyana!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top