Butters & Lyla
Member Since 2020
Yesterday was day 7 / cycle 14 @1.125u. During this time, Butters got into the 50s but never signaled to me that she was looking for a reduction. She also spent some time in the 90s and low 100s.
I need some guidance, please. I'm trying to decide what to do:
1) Hold the dose: Butters is not a steroid or diet induced diabetic. I assume her pancreas is quite damaged but I will never know why. She came to me as a 4 y/o with a sad backstory and no known relatives. Maybe this is where the train stops for her and I keep her on this dose?
2) decrease (I would do a shave)? Per TR: Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
Define "regularly has its lowest BGs"? I assume this is different from nadir. But I don't understand how to interpret it. She has stayed under 100mg/dl overall for the week. But five of her cycles averaged over 80.
3) do a fat increase, to 1.25u perhaps, and see if that kickstarts her pancreas a little more. Per TR: when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
My cat's happy place is in the lower range of normal for a non-diabetic healthy cat. I believe I have some room to do a fat increase here and see if I can help Butters back on the train that @Wendy&Neko said would be hard to stop. It seems it has stalled.
If any of the dosing experts have time to look at my spreadsheet and offer some advice, I'd be so appreciative. For what its worth, I'm thinking I should give #3 a shot.
Thank you.
I need some guidance, please. I'm trying to decide what to do:
1) Hold the dose: Butters is not a steroid or diet induced diabetic. I assume her pancreas is quite damaged but I will never know why. She came to me as a 4 y/o with a sad backstory and no known relatives. Maybe this is where the train stops for her and I keep her on this dose?
2) decrease (I would do a shave)? Per TR: Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
Define "regularly has its lowest BGs"? I assume this is different from nadir. But I don't understand how to interpret it. She has stayed under 100mg/dl overall for the week. But five of her cycles averaged over 80.
3) do a fat increase, to 1.25u perhaps, and see if that kickstarts her pancreas a little more. Per TR: when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
My cat's happy place is in the lower range of normal for a non-diabetic healthy cat. I believe I have some room to do a fat increase here and see if I can help Butters back on the train that @Wendy&Neko said would be hard to stop. It seems it has stalled.
If any of the dosing experts have time to look at my spreadsheet and offer some advice, I'd be so appreciative. For what its worth, I'm thinking I should give #3 a shot.
Thank you.


