10/03/11 Milo +10.5 99 PMPS 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

milo

Member Since 2011
Just checked Milo's BG and it was 59, never been that low before, I am worried it is going to continue to drop, I have read what to do and what signs to whatch for but what does this say about his dosing? Trying to find his does, is it too early to tell?>>>>>>Now it is 51 @+5 so it looks like he is still dropping, should I do anything, Im getting nervous, he seems fine, he ate ff turkey and giblet, and is acting normal, but I'm a little nervous!
 
Re: 10/3/11 MIlo AMPS 140 +.50 149 Threw up after shot!

Could be a bit of fur strands that needs to vacate the body. One of my civvies does that a lot. I hope that he feels better soon. Have a good day!
 
Re: 10/3/11 MIlo AMPS 140 +.50 149 Threw up after shot!

I was able to get him to eat some chicken breast, and he ahs held it down so far......thanks it just made me nervous because it's stressed that they need to eat when shot is given..
 
Re: 10/3/11 MIlo AMPS 140 +.50 149 Threw up after shot!

I hear that. Two of my civvies will eat too much, and throw it back up. One I've got a feeding amount, and other, for now, I have to watch that she doesn't eat too much. Needless to say, poor Blackie needs to stay in the room for about 15 minutes until I know its safe to let her out. :lol: Even after the door opens, she has radar eyes for any contraband that may be laying around. :lol:
 
Re: 10/3/11 MIlo AMPS 140 +.50 149 Threw up after shot!

With the shorter acting types of insulin, having food on board is critical. With Lantus, you have a longer window before insulin onset. As long as Milo eats within roughly 2 hours from when you shot, he should be fine.
 
Re: 10/3/11 MIlo AMPS 140 +.50 149 Threw up after shot!

I don't think we have stopped by to say hello and welcome. We have one kitty that will eat too fast if she is really hungry and then throw up. Hope it is just a one time thing for you!
 
Re: 10/3/11 MIlo AMPS 140 +.50 149 Threw up after shot!

Hi, glad Milo is eating. Sometimes Maggie eats too fast and throws up. I worry, too. I always keep some Stage 1 Beechnut Chicken & Broth baby food on hand which helps when they won't eat, if your kitty would eat it. Mags loves it. Have a nice day and hope Milo keeps his food down.
 
Re: 10/3/11 MILO +5-51 Worried number keeps dropping,what to

Hi there,

You are doing great.

Check him in 30 mins from that +5 to see if the food has bumped him up and post the number - easy on the food though.

Please don't modify the body of your first post - just the header. New info should be placed in a reply to your first post, that's where we look - thx!
 
Re: 10/3/11 MILO +5-51 Worried number keeps dropping,what to

Ok...I'm gong to confuse you more ;-)

It's most helpful for us to see his patterns if you leave his AMPS and just add the tests. So (sorry to ask) if you could please go back to the subject line on the first post and change to:
AMPS 140 +3 59 +4 54 +5 51

He's actually just surfing....I know it seems like he's continuing to drop. Just let us know what his +5.5 is...and breathe.

He's doing great...do you have some HC food with gravy around...just curious ;-)
 
Re: 10/3/11 MILO +5-51 Worried number keeps dropping,what to

I'm echoing what Marje said. Remember that meters are only required to be within 20% accurate +/- , so all those numbers in the 50s are really the same. That is a great number, you just don't want to go much further.
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo AMPS 140 +3 59 +4 54 +5 51

I do not have the gravey food, I had some but I my other cat got a "treat" instead of her reg meal (accident) I just did his +5.5 and its 53, what does this "surfing mean? Do I continue to take his blood all day? I'm trying to find the right dose for him, and I dont want to skip shots again out of fear, but these numbers do scare me quite a bit. I should mention before I joined the forum, he was on a much higher dose (end of May) but was eating the dry DM food recomended by my vet, when I learned on the forum to change his diet, and it has made a world of diffrence in his diet.
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo AMPS 140 +3 59 +4 54 +5 51 +5.5 53

Surfing means that he's staying right at a nice, healthy number without any food management. That is exactly what you want him to do. As Ann said, the 50s are great...that's what you want.

Don't be afraid.....you have testing on your side and you can feed to bring him up if need be. However, he's reaching mid cycle and he may start to slowly come up on his own.

I'd recheck in 30; in fact, I'd probably do that until you start to see a rise so you can figure out when his nadir might be. Keep in mind nadirs can change but some cats are very consistent with it. Nadir is the peak of the insulin action when numbers should be the lowest.

Here's what a typical lantus curve looks like and so far...he's got it!!

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

It's good to have your hypo kit ready with HC food with gravy and karo. Here is info on a hypo toolkit:
Hypo Toolkit
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo AMPS 140 +3 59 +4 54 +5 51 +5.5 53

Hi there,

Great job! Looks like surfs up. . .

I'm at lunch and now able to see Milos ss. Did you skip a shot 10/01/PM?
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo AMPS 140 +3 59 +4 54 +5 51 +5.5 53

Hey Milo's Bean! You're doing just fine - you're learning new dance steps today! Looked at his ssheet, he's actually doing very well.....next time you get to do this dance, the steps will be much easier and the nerves much calmer. We're new too - this is KT's third time down in those green numbers, today I'm not nervous about them, just watchful!

Milo - you sure are a pretty baby. Surf right there in those wonderful numbers!
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo AMPS 140 +3 59 +4 54 +5 51 +5.5 53

Yes I did skip the shot on 10/1, out of fear of course, I just added the info in on my ss. Well I'm excited that I got to see green, and thanks for the info on what the surf means, all the info I have been given is sooo helpful. So now if his numbers are say in the 100's PMPS, should I shoot full dose to keep it the same and see where it goes, or do I need to lower it, I read in "shooting low numbers" that there were certain guidlines to follow untill you see how your cat will react etc... any thoughts on that??
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo AMPS 140 +3 59 +4 54 +5 51 +5.5 53

If he stays above 50, he hasn't earned a dose reduction so I would not change his dose. As I suggested earlier, just continue to monitor him to be sure he is coming up. Once you get a couple rising numbers, you can test every hour.

I know this is hard but since we don't know where he'll go, we usually ask you to check him at +11 and post his number. If it's below 150, then put "need help" in the subject line. If it's above 150, you can probably go ahead and shoot his normal dose but if he is under 200 when you shoot, please be sure and get a +1 and +2 to see where he's going.
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo +10.5 99 Low readings all day - dosage hel

I am 1 1/2 huors away from Milo's evening shot, he has been slow to rise all day. When his numbers stay that low all day I guess its called surfing, and I dont shoot him tonight, will that mess uo his whole schedule?
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo +10.5 99 PMPS 72 Need help Please

OK so I couldnt get a +11.5 on Milo, he is pretty much sick of me at this point, my relion gave me a reading of 72, so I know that cant be right so I retested with the alphatrak and his reading is 101, I dont feel like I should shoot. I read the sticky etc.. and i realize he is rising, but I'm just not sure whats best to do at this point. Advise?
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo +10.5 99 PMPS 72 Need help Please

You have 3 options:

Stall for a substantial rise (in this case I'd like to see something in the mid blues). If you stall you don't feed. You can stall up to 2 hours. You will need to consider how this affects your schedule.

The second option is to skip it

The third option is to give a token dose, just to throw something in the shed.

You will have to do what you are comfortable with and prepared for.
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo +10.5 99 PMPS 72 Need help Please

I've decided to skip Milo's shot tonight, and see what his numbers throughout tonight (if he will let me ) thanks for all the advise, everyone was a big help to me today, you all are a great sense of support!
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo +10.5 99 PMPS 72 Need help Please

Hi Milo and Milo's bean,
Actually, his bg at PMPS is falling (101 on the AlphaTrak is like 71 on the Relion), so I think you made the right decision to skip tonight's shot. Sometimes in situations like this it is good to step back and see what happens. (Milo's shed will drain a little and you will certainly see higher numbers tomorrow. But you will have peace of mind tonight.) You did a good job today.

Welcome (a bit belatedly) to Lantus Land!

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Since you are not giving insulin tonight, you don't have to worry about Milo going too low. You can take the opportunity to rest his ears and to get some sleep!
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo +10.5 99 PMPS 72 Need help Please

Thank you, I did just for peace of mind do a +3 it was 178, so it is rising as you said, So we will start again tomorrow.
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo +10.5 99 PMPS 72 Need help Please

Good job - great run of numbers today for Milo! You two are making progress.

Just think of tonight as a fur shot. He'll get back on track.

You gained a good bit of valuable data and info on Milo today. Next time he throws a low PS it won't be quite as nerve jangling. :mrgreen:

eta- if you are still around please remove the 'Need Help Please' from your header.
 
Re: 10/03/11 Milo +10.5 99 PMPS 72 Need help Please

Good job today!!!

Also...when you take the "need help pls" off your subject line, could you also please change PMPS to PMBG? When we don't shoot, we just show the PM blood glucose. "PMPS" indicates you shot ;-) ;-) ;-)

Hope you get some rest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top